Maseratigood 5th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Well some of the people here is well know for passing negative and hurting remarks , just ignore lo. Appreciate those who sincerely wanna to help . They are probably the righteous ones lah, always there to pass remarks. But since sometimes the original posters write something which the righteous ones see as easy targets, can't be helped also, they just too keen to whack. Yes, can be ignored. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 if he is jus concern abt the ins part jus ask for advice on the ins part simi self skid simi fren do 150 corner, self skid come on lar he is the one creating c--k for himself ya smart tio ho liao act smart is no no Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 (edited) Good driver = driver control car Lousy driver = car control driver i personally SELF skidded many times cos i always like to play corners but do it if u r confident n know ur car!!!! the car must be able to take that corner that u are doing For those idiots saying that gng 90 over puddle will be hard n skid? that means ur car is factory setting those that lowered their ride will get what im saying but cfm there will be some ignorant fools will come say those who chng their cars r bengs la li la hahahahaha Know urself know ur car dun act smart now face the consequences Actually some roads have very poor drainage and rain water ponds easily, stock or mod cars going thru the ponded patch can lose control unless the drivers pay attention and know how to recover safely. Edited March 2, 2013 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Hi fellow Bro and Sis, My car was involved in self skidded accident when my car lost control swaying from left and right intensely ,finally heads onto the railing along AYE. Front potion of my car looks CUI but engine is intact. I put up insurance claim and currently waiting for surveyor from CHARTIS to come down workshop to gauge the repair cost . Boss of workshop asked me to consider as insurance side may call it a total loss . My decision to them was to try their best to convince the insurance side to repair which I think scrapping my car is simply ridiculous . I am driving a Lancer Ex 2.0 2008 . Previously another friend of mine who self skidded having the front , back portion totaled , 4 wheels busted and engine flunked out of the car still manage to have the insurance company covered n fully repaired with only excess paid . Which is why I can't take total loss an option for my case . Based on the worse scenario , can anyone share with me their experience and options I can seek ???? Thanks in advance Seems nobody is giving you a proper answer to your basic question right? Firstly, calm down and dont worry. Total loss doesn't mean they pay you scrap price and scrap the car. Total Loss means the repair will take some time and the insurance company will arrange a workshop to buy over your car from them and the insurance company will pay you market price less excess. Give you an example : If your car is worth 50K in current market, the insurance company will pay you according to an agreed price for the car say $48K - 2K excess = $46K is what you will get. If you have loan outstanding, this $46K will go to bank/finance company to full settle the loan. Then the balance will go back to you. Easy to understanding. Tip : Do call your insurance company to speak to claims manager and they will advise you what to do. He will be on your side to help you. Try to avoid talking to workshop as they are on the other side to slaughter the insurance company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 bro thats the reason y i say do u know urself n ur car anot? if u know that route well u should be able to forsee whats gng on eg if u take sle daily to work u know whats to expect from it if u never been to eg tanah merah before should u do a 100 there on raining days??? my car had coilover on it before got lowering spring on it before got original setup on it before taking that same riute daily for 5 yrs u know what i mean there is diference with the diff set up else no one will pay for these itens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 bro thats the reason y i say do u know urself n ur car anot? if u know that route well u should be able to forsee whats gng on eg if u take sle daily to work u know whats to expect from it if u never been to eg tanah merah before should u do a 100 there on raining days??? my car had coilover on it before got lowering spring on it before got original setup on it before taking that same riute daily for 5 yrs u know what i mean there is diference with the diff set up else no one will pay for these itens An unsafe road, eg pondings etc is a threat to the driver even if he drives well within speed limits. No doubt mods can improve a car's handling and stability, safety etc, and familiarity with the road plus careful driving can help dealing with such a threat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 This is called self skid? I thot the car move by itself n skidded lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 It's funny, "self-skid" is a term more used by bikers. For bikers if they "self-skid" and TP gets involved, it's usually 6 demerit points for "Failing to maintain proper control or something-or-the-other". But i guess the mentality is the same, blame car/bike, blame road, blame weather, blame tire, blame brakes. When nothing else to blame, say the road "dirty". But never look at themselves. End result, nothing learnt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Is the driver control the car not car control driver. I see sometimes car is controlling driver. Hahaha i ever go advanced driving course i see so many drivers cannot control their car properly. Buang here buang there. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Funny to say bro , I actual said the same words . After having such incidents happened , I started to see things in another perspective . Sad to say , I learnt it the hard way . I hv skidded many many times already. Learn fm it. Sometimes road conditions or car not right n sometimes driver error. Unfortunately most accident cost me money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 That is why I always buy a car that has anti skid control or ESP. The system reacts within split second to keep the car on track and no human reaction can be so fast to do the same. My principle is, its better to drive a small car eqipped with ESP than driving a big car without it. Cheers Ya fully agree. ESP is e best option since seatbelts n airbags. If u can...always go fr it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Btw, is semi slick legal on public roads? Dangerous in the wet to use them. Very good question. Anybody know if ins co. wil take semislick or slick tires into account when deciding on compensation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-love-singapore March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Very good question. Anybody know if ins co. wil take semislick or slick tires into account when deciding on compensation? semi r illegal. re11 ad08 ku36 z1 star rs3 all these r legal highest performance street tyres but not consider semi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 semi r illegal. re11 ad08 ku36 z1 star rs3 all these r legal highest performance street tyres but not consider semi. Oh tks. So if use semis on road n accident....ins co can dun pay even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 (edited) Ya fully agree. ESP is e best option since seatbelts n airbags. If u can...always go fr it. My grandfather, my lau peh and myself drove cars without any electronics assist. Sometimes all these gismos kills the driver's handling skills moreover road conditions/technology is not as good then compare with now. One word, TS road awareness damm chui. Edited March 2, 2013 by KaKiLang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkscale Neutral Newbie March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Bro, sorry for the mishap happened.. My advise is. Talk to the insurance IO which handling your case. Don't leave it to the workshop. Try your best to convince them to repair your ride.. thereafter, I think it will be auction by workshop to repair.. The IO is the key person. my deepest regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 Since so many accidents every day Think Zheng hu should bring back all the MT cars Drivers can have better control n knowledge As well as can control them I feel that those who took the AT test Half the while Duno what they r driving Jus press n go Press to stop Duno wats car all about Should void the AT test man Only this way, those ignorant fools will be out of road AT cars can buy but after passing MT test Imo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 2, 2013 Share March 2, 2013 That is why I always buy a car that has anti skid control or ESP. The system reacts within split second to keep the car on track and no human reaction can be so fast to do the same. My principle is, its better to drive a small car eqipped with ESP than driving a big car without it. Cheers I kenna before. Took a turn too fast and oversteered. Tail felt like throwing out. Esp light blinked non-stop and felt some tok tok sound which should be the brakes. Recovered quickly. .sweat man.. Not fun. . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...