teomingern 6th Gear October 24 Share October 24 On 10/23/2024 at 4:38 PM, Tohto said: Japan also need one. Correct I had one the last time I drove in Hokkaido... but never had one in my various driving trips in Oz... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 24 Share October 24 IDP only valid for 2 years right. I was considering getting one for my trip but decided again since it would just have been a day trip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 24 Share October 24 On 10/24/2024 at 9:20 PM, Lala81 said: IDP only valid for 2 years right. I was considering getting one for my trip but decided again since it would just have been a day trip. 1 year only. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 1 Share November 1 Now in Tasmania. Confirm again no need IDP when collecting car. To share something that is dreaded by travellers - my night flight to Melbourne was cancelled on the same morning of departure day. But good thing my group of 5 were put on replacement flights a day after within short time. Travel insurance can recover hotel and car rental costs for first night, but gotten worried whether the rental company will hold the car to be collected a day after agreement date. I raised a query at economybookings.com website to be informed much later that I would need to arrange with rental company (Bargain) directly. But before I got the reply, I already kiasu kiasi corresponded with Bargain through its web-based chat function to inform about my situation and been reassured that my car would be ready on my day of arrival. Good thing all went well as planned. Managed to collect my months-old Kia Carnival rental car without hiccup. Decided not to take up the zero-liability fr Bargain costing AUD 40/ day as already taken up with economy bookings.com at cheaper rate, but need to pay upfront if got claims, and to claim back later on. Worth it as savings quite alot. Hopefully my trip will have no more surprises as this is already quite handful to manage. Luckily I have planned the first night to be near Airport to allow jet lag recovery so there is no impact on itinerary despite the 1day delay. Will be jialat if had planned to drive 200km per day as hard to recover like that. Something I hope to remember for future trips, especially if taking budget airlines. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 2 Share November 2 On 11/1/2024 at 11:45 AM, Heartlander said: Now in Tasmania. Confirm again no need IDP when collecting car. To share something that is dreaded by travellers - my night flight to Melbourne was cancelled on the same morning of departure day. But good thing my group of 5 were put on replacement flights a day after within short time. Travel insurance can recover hotel and car rental costs for first night, but gotten worried whether the rental company will hold the car to be collected a day after agreement date. I raised a query at economybookings.com website to be informed much later that I would need to arrange with rental company (Bargain) directly. But before I got the reply, I already kiasu kiasi corresponded with Bargain through its web-based chat function to inform about my situation and been reassured that my car would be ready on my day of arrival. Good thing all went well as planned. Managed to collect my months-old Kia Carnival rental car without hiccup. Decided not to take up the zero-liability fr Bargain costing AUD 40/ day as already taken up with economy bookings.com at cheaper rate, but need to pay upfront if got claims, and to claim back later on. Worth it as savings quite alot. Hopefully my trip will have no more surprises as this is already quite handful to manage. Luckily I have planned the first night to be near Airport to allow jet lag recovery so there is no impact on itinerary despite the 1day delay. Will be jialat if had planned to drive 200km per day as hard to recover like that. Something I hope to remember for future trips, especially if taking budget airlines. What airlines you fly from Melbourne? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 2 Share November 2 On 11/2/2024 at 1:17 PM, Tohto said: What airlines you fly from Melbourne? Jetstar. SG to Hobart and back, transiting through Melbourne. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 4 Share November 4 On 11/1/2024 at 11:45 AM, Heartlander said: Now in Tasmania. Confirm again no need IDP when collecting car. To share something that is dreaded by travellers - my night flight to Melbourne was cancelled on the same morning of departure day. But good thing my group of 5 were put on replacement flights a day after within short time. Travel insurance can recover hotel and car rental costs for first night, but gotten worried whether the rental company will hold the car to be collected a day after agreement date. I raised a query at economybookings.com website to be informed much later that I would need to arrange with rental company (Bargain) directly. But before I got the reply, I already kiasu kiasi corresponded with Bargain through its web-based chat function to inform about my situation and been reassured that my car would be ready on my day of arrival. Good thing all went well as planned. Managed to collect my months-old Kia Carnival rental car without hiccup. Decided not to take up the zero-liability fr Bargain costing AUD 40/ day as already taken up with economy bookings.com at cheaper rate, but need to pay upfront if got claims, and to claim back later on. Worth it as savings quite alot. Hopefully my trip will have no more surprises as this is already quite handful to manage. Luckily I have planned the first night to be near Airport to allow jet lag recovery so there is no impact on itinerary despite the 1day delay. Will be jialat if had planned to drive 200km per day as hard to recover like that. Something I hope to remember for future trips, especially if taking budget airlines. Eh? What airline did you take? Scoot is it? Why cancel leh? So weird... Erm.... fly to Australia got jetlag meh? It's like sleep through the night on the plane and get up early the next morning, no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 4 Share November 4 (edited) On 11/4/2024 at 1:11 PM, teomingern said: Eh? What airline did you take? Scoot is it? Why cancel leh? So weird... Erm.... fly to Australia got jetlag meh? It's like sleep through the night on the plane and get up early the next morning, no? Jetstar. If can sleep through then ok lah, some older people cannot sleep much and will complain here and there. So better to plan for first night near the airport to allow proper rest and for my kind of unforeseen situation. Anyway enjoying my time here so far, nice food nice weather nice scenery. Our motto is travelling must leave regrets so that we got excuse to come again. Like we really craving for the glass-bottom boat tour in Bicheno. This time is third time already, and still missed it. Managed to book for a slot and paid already, but alas it was still cancelled due to whatever reason and got refunded. Nevermind we will go again next time. And the drive to Jacob's Ladder was cancelled last minute due to slight drizzle in the morning and concerned about the gravel drive up. Suppose to be one of the highlight of this trip haha but there is always the next time. We can plan all we want, but life is like that. Edited November 4 by Heartlander 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 4 Share November 4 (edited) On 11/4/2024 at 1:11 PM, teomingern said: Eh? What airline did you take? Scoot is it? Why cancel leh? So weird... Erm.... fly to Australia got jetlag meh? It's like sleep through the night on the plane and get up early the next morning, no? Not everyone can sleep on a plane lah. I am one that has almost non sleep on a plane even cross-continental. That's why my last Hokkaido trip I rather take a day flight than a night flight. Same for my coming trip to Aussie next month. Edited November 4 by Tohto 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 4:21 PM, Heartlander said: Jetstar. If can sleep through then ok lah, some older people cannot sleep much and will complain here and there. So better to plan for first night near the airport to allow proper rest and for my kind of unforeseen situation. Anyway enjoying my time here so far, nice food nice weather nice scenery. Our motto is travelling must leave regrets so that we got excuse to come again. Like we really craving for the glass-bottom boat tour in Bicheno. This time is third time already, and still missed it. Managed to book for a slot and paid already, but alas it was still cancelled due to whatever reason and got refunded. Nevermind we will go again next time. And the drive to Jacob's Ladder was cancelled last minute due to slight drizzle in the morning and concerned about the gravel drive up. Suppose to be one of the highlight of this trip haha but there is always the next time. We can plan all we want, but life is like that. What car do you rent there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 4:41 PM, Tohto said: Not everyone can sleep on a plane lah. I am one that has almost non sleep on a plane even cross-continental. That's why my last Hokkaido trip I rather take a day flight than a night flight. Same for my coming trip to Aussie next month. same. even in my own bed, sometimes i don't sleep well. What more on a plane. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 7:06 PM, Lala81 said: same. even in my own bed, sometimes i don't sleep well. What more on a plane. That's why I never like take a night flight arriving morning and start driving rental car around. With lack of sleep, not familiar road and environment and driving a car that has yet to get use to. Is not good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 4:44 PM, Tohto said: What car do you rent there? Kia Carnival. Turned out very new only few months old. Diesel. Very powerful with 5 pax and many luggages. From Bargain through economy bookings.com. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 7:19 PM, Heartlander said: Kia Carnival. Turned out very new only few months old. Diesel. Very powerful with 5 pax and many luggages. From Bargain through economy bookings.com. If it is the 2.2L TDI, it will have more than 400Nm of torque. Definitely nice to drive. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic November 4 Share November 4 There is a nice Italian restaurant Da Angelo. Can try if you are in Hobart. First went during my honeymoon.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 7:10 PM, Tohto said: That's why I never like take a night flight arriving morning and start driving rental car around. With lack of sleep, not familiar road and environment and driving a car that has yet to get use to. Is not good. Yeah... if that's the issue then definitely not the best way to start a holiday... I don't sleep well sitting up on a plane but I do get enough rest to drive the next day... most of the time I have taken the car straight at the airport only in OZ and NZ... other places cos the airport is in the city, I just visit the city first and that means public transport... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear November 4 Share November 4 On 11/4/2024 at 7:19 PM, Heartlander said: Kia Carnival. Turned out very new only few months old. Diesel. Very powerful with 5 pax and many luggages. From Bargain through economy bookings.com. Very nice! Wish to drive this too... ha ha... but too big for my family of 4... a Corolla size car is good enough... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic November 5 Share November 5 On 11/5/2024 at 7:53 AM, teomingern said: Very nice! Wish to drive this too... ha ha... but too big for my family of 4... a Corolla size car is good enough... Renting a car in Australia is relatively cheap. Pamper yourself with a car you will never own or drive here. That's why on my coming trip to Melbourne I picked a BMW X3, I hope they give me this car. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...