Australia: Car Rental in Melbourne

Tjkbeluga

On 9/26/2024 at 10:45 AM, Lala81 said:

I agree. But I'm more of a regular short breaks person. My profession seldom can be away for long, so we are all liddat. 

2 week holiday is long long already. 

Aiyah... different SES lor... got time but no money... actually 2 weeks already very long holiday lar... I don't always go for such long breaks... no money...

On 9/26/2024 at 10:48 AM, Tohto said:

No different.

My trip is relax, no rush. 

Just GOR route I will be staying 3 nights. 

Not those hotel hopping every night tour.

This time my younger daughter will fly all the way from NYC to Brisbane to join us there attending elder daughter graduation, so is a full family gathering after 3 yrs. Must make full use of the trip.

Not easy for me as like my all holiday trip, at night back to accommodation, my working laptop will be On.

Aiyoh... cannot cut the cord meh?

By the way, for renting the booster seat, we can do it on the spot when we collect the car right? I don't see any option to click in Vroomx3 website.

And also the insurance for the excess. i saw that they do not have the 0 excess option, instead they have the option to purchase a 10k insurance at a fraction cost. Or should i rent it directly from the company website?

Edited by L23

On 9/30/2024 at 2:42 PM, L23 said:

By the way, for renting the booster seat, we can do it on the spot when we collect the car right? I don't see any option to click in Vroomx3 website.

And also the insurance for the excess. i saw that they do not have the 0 excess option, instead they have the option to purchase a 10k insurance at a fraction cost. Or should i rent it directly from the company website?

A bit risky if they run out of such seats then how? I think direct rental is best cos safety cannot compromise... or bring yours along lor... child seat doesn't count to your baggage allowance mah... just ensure that your rental car has ISOFIX if that's important, otherwise a seatbelt will be enough to secure the child seat securely... just need to practise a bit in Singapore before going over and have the child seat manual handy in your phone...

On 9/30/2024 at 2:42 PM, L23 said:

Vroomx3 is an aggregator website

to get booster seat and $0 excess, you can book direct with rental car website

the good thing about booking with Vroomx3 is no need to pay (is it still the same?)

last time i book with Vroomx3, then when i reach Perth, Europcar offer even better deals at counter.

i walk to Europcar and forget about Vroomx3 since only have my email and actually they also don't bother ... LOL

On 10/5/2024 at 5:37 AM, Volvobrick said:

Beautiful morning.... 

Screenshot_20241005_073637.thumb.jpg.7642a244a77e13ba0c7031e64c4b0109.jpg

I didn't know it would fly over the city, if need an emergency landing how?

On 10/7/2024 at 6:41 PM, Tohto said:

I didn't know it would fly over the city, if need an emergency landing how?

I also didn't know. In emergency maybe can land on rooftop and take elevator down for breakfast! 

Can I ride on this topic to ask if an international driving permit is required to drive around in Tasmania or our physical copy will do. Renting a car from Budget.

On 10/22/2024 at 5:55 PM, Ray7456 said:

Can I ride on this topic to ask if an international driving permit is required to drive around in Tasmania or our physical copy will do. Renting a car from Budget.

I didn't get one and they didn't ask for it, not sure about now.

On 10/22/2024 at 6:03 PM, Jman888 said:

I didn't get one and they didn't ask for it, not sure about now.

Our driving licence very powerful. No need to get international permit. 

@Ray7456 I think to save the $20 is definitely not worth it. Boh tachi probably the IDP is macam redundant but understand it may be useful or necessary in case (touch wood) of any incident/accident when overseas esp in non english speaking countries. Just for peace of mind....

Edited by Hardcore
error

On 10/22/2024 at 6:06 PM, Volvobrick said:

Our driving licence very powerful. No need to get international permit. 

Just like our passport...haha....But to Aussie still need visa...

https://www.australia.com/en-gb/facts-and-planning/getting-around/driving-in-australia.html

You can drive using your foreign drivers licence for up to three months, as long as it is in English. If it doesn’t have a photo you should always carry your passport with you when you drive. If your licence is not in English you’ll need an International Driving Permit (IDP), which you can get from your local automobile association before you leave home. 

On 10/22/2024 at 5:55 PM, Ray7456 said:

I don't have one when I drive in Australia. 

But had one when driving in Sth Korea 

On 10/22/2024 at 7:40 PM, Atonchia said:

I don't have one when I drive in Australia. 

But had one when driving in Sth Korea 

Japan also need one.