Rafa outburst: I'm leaving

Scion

it was a mistake at the beginning

never the manager Chelsea fans, and perhaps players, want

the fact that RDM was sacked unfairly and Rafa was once Liverpool's manager did not help

looks like the managerial merry go round will continue at the blues

Rafa Benitez has told the Chelsea hierarchy they made a "massive mistake" by making his job title interim manager and confirmed that he will leave Stamford Bridge at the end of the season.

Benitez, 52, hit out after travelling supporters at Middlesbrough's Riverside Stadium for Wednesday's FA Cup fifth round tie - won 2-0 by Chelsea - again chanted against him.

The Spaniard, who had made scathing comments about the Blues during his days as Liverpool manager, was an unpopular appointment when Roman Abramovich's club made him interim boss in November following the shock dismissal of Roberto Di Matteo.

He responded angrily to further chanting against him at Boro by accusing Chelsea fans of "not helping the team" and saying: "They don't have to worry about me - I leave at the end of the season."

And he suggested his job title had undermined him, telling BBC Radio Five Live: "They [Chelsea] gave me the title of interim manager. That was a massive mistake. Why did they need to do that?

"I am the manager, and I will manage the team until the end. I am a professional and I am doing my job. I want to win every game for Chelsea Football Club, but they [the fans] have to understand this.

"I have been a manager for 26 years. I have won the FIFA Club World Cup, the Champions League, the FA Cup - a lot of trophies.

"I really feel disappointed with a group of fans, because they don't do any favours to the team. They should support the players instead of wasting time preparing banners or singing songs [against him].

"What they have to do is support the team and create a good atmosphere at Stamford Bridge. If we cannot achieve the target that we are looking for - to be in the Champions League - they are not helping with their talking and talking."

Benitez accused some fans of having "an agenda" against him and said their behaviour was damaging Chelsea's image.

"They have to support the players, to support the team," he added. "I am an experienced manager. I will do my best until the last kick.

"If they [the fans] are going to carry on with an agenda, then they have to take responsibility. Stick together and we can achieve what we need to.

"If not, the next year, they can carry on singing - but they will be in the Europa League. So they have to appreciate that they are not doing any favours to the rest of the fans or to the players.

"They have to realise that the rest of the fans want to see the team in the Champions League next year."

Former Valencia manager Benitez insisted he did not have any problems with the Chelsea players, despite rumours during the week of rows with some senior figures at Stamford Bridge after the defeat at Manchester City.

"It is a top side, with top players who work hard," he said. "This is not a problem. The problem is people who think they can say what they want."

In Chelsea fans mind, they only want Jose M.

what ever manger throw to them they will also not be happy.

it was a mistake at the beginning

never the manager Chelsea fans, and perhaps players, want

the fact that RDM was sacked unfairly and Rafa was once Liverpool's manager did not help

looks like the managerial merry go round will continue at the blues

Rafa Benitez has told the Chelsea hierarchy they made a "massive mistake" by making his job title interim manager and confirmed that he will leave Stamford Bridge at the end of the season.

Benitez, 52, hit out after travelling supporters at Middlesbrough's Riverside Stadium for Wednesday's FA Cup fifth round tie - won 2-0 by Chelsea - again chanted against him.

The Spaniard, who had made scathing comments about the Blues during his days as Liverpool manager, was an unpopular appointment when Roman Abramovich's club made him interim boss in November following the shock dismissal of Roberto Di Matteo.

He responded angrily to further chanting against him at Boro by accusing Chelsea fans of "not helping the team" and saying: "They don't have to worry about me - I leave at the end of the season."

And he suggested his job title had undermined him, telling BBC Radio Five Live: "They [Chelsea] gave me the title of interim manager. That was a massive mistake. Why did they need to do that?

"I am the manager, and I will manage the team until the end. I am a professional and I am doing my job. I want to win every game for Chelsea Football Club, but they [the fans] have to understand this.

"I have been a manager for 26 years. I have won the FIFA Club World Cup, the Champions League, the FA Cup - a lot of trophies.

"I really feel disappointed with a group of fans, because they don't do any favours to the team. They should support the players instead of wasting time preparing banners or singing songs [against him].

"What they have to do is support the team and create a good atmosphere at Stamford Bridge. If we cannot achieve the target that we are looking for - to be in the Champions League - they are not helping with their talking and talking."

Benitez accused some fans of having "an agenda" against him and said their behaviour was damaging Chelsea's image.

"They have to support the players, to support the team," he added. "I am an experienced manager. I will do my best until the last kick.

"If they [the fans] are going to carry on with an agenda, then they have to take responsibility. Stick together and we can achieve what we need to.

"If not, the next year, they can carry on singing - but they will be in the Europa League. So they have to appreciate that they are not doing any favours to the rest of the fans or to the players.

"They have to realise that the rest of the fans want to see the team in the Champions League next year."

Former Valencia manager Benitez insisted he did not have any problems with the Chelsea players, despite rumours during the week of rows with some senior figures at Stamford Bridge after the defeat at Manchester City.

"It is a top side, with top players who work hard," he said. "This is not a problem. The problem is people who think they can say what they want."

charisma is an important attribute

even at his lowest point at chelsea, jose mourinho commanded respect from his players and was hugely popular among the fans

rafa, no matter how he tried, just cannot win over the fans.... now even worse, players and the board are angry with him liao

charisma is an important attribute

even at his lowest point at chelsea, jose mourinho commanded respect from his players and was hugely popular among the fans

rafa, no matter how he tried, just cannot win over the fans.... now even worse, players and the board are angry with him liao

why r players angry with him?

In Chelsea fans mind, they only want Jose M.

what ever manger throw to them they will also not be happy.

Not really leh..they were happy with Guus hiddink & di matteo

actually they are not happy with Di Matteo too. just that he won them champions league..

before that, they are lobbying for a new manager.

BTW, i think you place JM GH and DM in font.. no guessing which they will chose.

yeah. why?

because apart from tabloid. always see player supposingly angry with him one come out to show support. [confused]

read that rafa clashed with one or two players after the loss at man city

apparently the players reminded him they just won the CL last year

anyway chelsea may be like real madrid where player power is often too influential

also got rumours that the shock managerial choice for chelsea this summer is john terry (as player-captain-manager) [gossip]

read that rafa clashed with one or two players after the loss at man city

apparently the players reminded him they just won the CL last year

anyway chelsea may be like real madrid where player power is often too influential

also got rumours that the shock managerial choice for chelsea this summer is john terry (as player-captain-manager) [gossip]

wah as sad as us liverpool fans.. living in the past [laugh][laugh]

Rafa cannot work with RA... Rafa have always problems with meddling owners since Valencia, same @ Liverpool and Inter

wah as sad as us liverpool fans.. living in the past [laugh][laugh]

Theirs not past la...

they are still the defending champions (Though they are out)

cause no one this season won it yet...

hahahaha

actually they are not happy with Di Matteo too. just that he won them champions league..

before that, they are lobbying for a new manager.

BTW, i think you place JM GH and DM in font.. no guessing which they will chose.

its not the chelsea fans who were unhappy with RDM. it is Roman who is unhappy with him. Roman nvr trusted RDM as he is after a manager with a more impressive CV (he only wanted a big name and view RDM as nothing more than an interim manager until he land his coveted target) and he felt that RDM got the champs league trophy not really due to his credit. the chelsea fans liked RDM and have been singing his name at the stadium even till today, ie more than 3 months since he was removed.

Edited by Damienic

Happy for Rafa. This Mickey Mouse club don't deserve him.

I think is the opp. Chelsea deserve a better manager and Rafa is just not the one.

His outbursts that the interim manager title given to him is one of the reason that things dun work out. This is really baffling. All along the contract he was given was till end of the season with option to renew if results was satisfactory. A contract length like this is obviously that of an interim post. No one pointed a gun at him to sign. He knew what he is in it for and took the job. Now come and hit out this title given to him. Obviously is just looking for excuses for the poor results.

Edited by Damienic

not too many world class managers for Chelsea to choose

otherwise they will go for:

- Mourinho (but he may want to wait for Fergie to retire so he can take over Man Utd)

- Mancini (if Man City pok him)

- Landrup (poach from Swansea)

- Terry (player-manager)

Chelsea maciam Hogwarts, every year change manager.

Rafa knows he will be sacked anyway, that's why say he will quit, look better on resume. [laugh]