Vulcann 6th Gear February 28, 2013 Author Share February 28, 2013 perhaps during my next trip to these countries I should wear those t-shirts sold by Hang-Ten or similar retailers during the National Days with the word 'Singapore' seen from far away............. Bro to ang mos, we Chinese look like Koreans, Japanese, Vietnamese, Mongolian, Thai, etc just as we cannot find the difference in terms of looks between the Yankees, Brits, Aussies, Kiwis, etc Best way is to cling on to your red passport for dear life especially in 3rd world countries... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 28, 2013 Author Share February 28, 2013 (edited) think all these are due to the recent squabbles about some islands' ownership.......not really related to WW2 bah imho......... Wrong bro. The anti-Japanese sentiment presently in PRC is still primarily due to historical baggage. All you need is a trigger point and the anger pours out instantly over their bitter experience under the Japanese invasion and cruel treatment in WWII. Some older Singaporean generation have still not forgiven what they did to us back then. But of course everyone nowadays is saying can-forgive-but-cannot-forget thingy nowadays in view of trade, foreign policy, etc Edited February 28, 2013 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 do sinkies need to be more distinct .. ? even the identity is yet to be established.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Wrong bro. The anti-Japanese sentiment presently in PRC is still primarily due to historical baggage. All you need is a trigger point and the anger pours out instantly over their bitter experience under the Japanese invasion and cruel treatment in WWII. Some older Singaporean generation have still not forgiven what they did to us back then. But of course everyone nowadays is saying can-forgive-but-cannot-forget thingy nowadays in view of trade, foreign policy, etc Yep, my friend's father will still talk to us about eating of tree barks during those days......... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 I hope no chinese from other countries kena mistaken for a Chinese national and beaten up for nothing while in the countries mentioned........... show passpork before entry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 heard my fren said when she shop inside Korea shop, the staff charge japanese a higher price than chinese. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Bro you missed the 500lb gorilla in the room. WWII? Japan? China? I guess you mean that japan defeated china in the 30s and years leading up to WW2. But I was referring to the PRC, "modern" china. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Wrong bro. The anti-Japanese sentiment presently in PRC is still primarily due to historical baggage. All you need is a trigger point and the anger pours out instantly over their bitter experience under the Japanese invasion and cruel treatment in WWII. Some older Singaporean generation have still not forgiven what they did to us back then. But of course everyone nowadays is saying can-forgive-but-cannot-forget thingy nowadays in view of trade, foreign policy, etc i'm not old but i dun like Japan either my grandfather was killed by them when they invaded Singapore apparently just after the Japanese soldiers marched into Singapore, he and many other Chinese were lured to attend a public speech... then they were rounded up and ferried off in trucks, never to come back again but i still drive Japanese cars and use Japanese electrical appliances lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 I guess you mean that japan defeated china in the 30s and years leading up to WW2. But I was referring to the PRC, "modern" china. the jap never defeat china.....only some states being taken only...even at that time china have got more ppl than jap bullets... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 can we have a no PRC allowed sign in MRT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 can we have a no PRC allowed sign in MRT? like that Chinatown MRT station will be beri quiet........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Wrong bro. The anti-Japanese sentiment presently in PRC is still primarily due to historical baggage. All you need is a trigger point and the anger pours out instantly over their bitter experience under the Japanese invasion and cruel treatment in WWII. Some older Singaporean generation have still not forgiven what they did to us back then. But of course everyone nowadays is saying can-forgive-but-cannot-forget thingy nowadays in view of trade, foreign policy, etc While the Europeans have already settled with the Germans for their deeds during WW2, the Chinese n Jap still carry the baggage till today, maybe even forever. What caused the difference betwwen Europe vs china/jap in dealing with history? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 can we have a no PRC allowed sign in MRT? [/] You say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 in recent years, PRC in mainland (own turf) had indeed turn very lan si in view of their economic power (u dun like, don't come in china market) TBF, this is the same mentally of what we singaporean have. although we dont have their economic power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 can we have a no PRC allowed sign in MRT? or have a sign to say all pretty ATBs in MRT got to sit on unkers' lap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Can the "dog" be a subtle hint at Singaporeans? :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Tis a job for knnsan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 28, 2013 Author Share February 28, 2013 Can the "dog" be a subtle hint at Singaporeans? :angry: No la bro I don't think we are targeted. My guess is just a reference to past history according to the commies that back then there were humiliating signboards declaring both Chinese & dogs were no allowed in some premises in Shanghai. The sign's wording is particularly inflammatory as it recalls China's colonial era, when British-owned establishments barred Chinese from entering. A sign supposedly reading "No Dogs and Chinese allowed" became part of Communist propaganda after it was said to have hung outside a park in Shanghai when Western powers controlled parts of China. It has become part of Chinese folklore and featured in the 1972 Bruce Lee film "Fists of Fury" - but many historical experts say no such sign ever existed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...