Vulcann

:o :o :o

From AsiaOne:

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...227-405125.html

Incendiary Beijing restaurant sign triggers online fury

20130227.221220_tuoitre.jpg

AFP

Wednesday, Feb 27, 2013

HANOI - A sign at a Beijing restaurant barring citizens of nations involved in maritime disputes with China - along with dogs - has triggered a wave of online outrage among Vietnamese and Filipinos.

The Beijing Snacks restaurant near the Forbidden City, a popular tourist spot, has posted a sign on its door reading "This shop does not receive the Japanese, the Philippines, the Vietnamese and dog(s)."

Photographs of the controversial sign have gone viral in Vietnamese-language forums and featured heavily in Philippine newspapers and websites on Wednesday.

Vietnam's state-run Tuoi Tre newspaper ran a story saying the sign had "ignited online fury". It claimed many Vietnamese feel this is another example of Chinese "extreme nationalism that deserves to be condemned".

"It's not patriotism, it's stupid extremism," Sy Van wrote in Vietnamese in a comment under the story, published on the paper's website.

The sign provoked tens of thousands of posts on Vietnamese social networking sites and newspaper comment threads.

Filipinos greeted the photo with a mixture of fury and amusement.

"Blatant racism at Beijing Restaurant," journalist Veronica Pedrosa wrote in one widely-shared tweet, while Facebook user Rey Garcia used a comment thread on a news site to retort: "Who cares, they almost cook everything, even foetus and fingernails."

Vietnam and the Philippines are locked in a longstanding territorial row with China over islands in the South China Sea. China and Japan have a separate acrimonious dispute over islands in the East China Sea.

Philippine Foreign Department spokesman Raul Hernandez told reporters in Manila Wednesday that the Beijing restaurant sign was simply one "private view" about the maritime dispute.

The photos were originally posted on Facebook.

The sign's wording is particularly inflammatory as it recalls China's colonial era, when British-owned establishments barred Chinese from entering.

A sign supposedly reading "No Dogs and Chinese allowed" became part of Communist propaganda after it was said to have hung outside a park in Shanghai when Western powers controlled parts of China.

It has become part of Chinese folklore and featured in the 1972 Bruce Lee film "Fists of Fury" - but many historical experts say no such sign ever existed.

The controversial Beijing sign was still in place Wednesday, according to the restaurant owner who gave only his surname of Wang. "No officials have contacted me about it. This is my own conduct," Wang told AFP.

. - See more at: http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...h.gelT1fKI.dpuf

Thought maybe only the US can tolerate these type of nuts with their Constitution's freedom of speech thingy but this actually happens in PRC.

[shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

No supporter of any of the claimants over all the islands but this is taking the matter a bit too far...

Not our dai ji as long as the 1m PRC here dun bring their problems here or expect we stand on their side just because we are Chinese too

Btw I recall not long ago, a restaurant named itself diaoyu island and tio complained?

in recent years, PRC in mainland (own turf) had indeed turn very lan si in view of their economic power (u dun like, don't come in china market)

On 2/27/2013 at 11:50 PM, Scion said:

Not our dai ji as long as the 1m PRC here dun bring their problems here or expect we stand on their side just because we are Chinese too

Btw I recall not long ago, a restaurant named itself diaoyu island and tio complained?

Yep this one: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...2683962&hl=

Not that bad for this one as it was not insulting like the Beijing restaurant concerned.

In the event of any regional conflict though unlikely, we will suffer as well as vessels will siam the area taking a longer shipping route thereby incurring higher charges for our imports & exports. Security and insurance charges will shoot up as well. Investors may also hold their horses in FDIs in the region.

So not really a case of bo our dai ji.

On 2/28/2013 at 12:02 AM, Wt_know said:

in recent years, PRC in mainland (own turf) had indeed turn very lan si in view of their economic power (u dun like, don't come in china market)

Growing nationalism (patriotism to them) for a big country is never a good thing for the neighbours... [shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

think spring rolls is Chinese food, it should be 'Goi cuon' for the Viets or maybe 'pho' would be more appropriate......... [laugh]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:12 AM, WTF said:

think spring rolls is Chinese food, it should be 'Goi cuon' for the Viets or maybe 'pho' would be more appropriate......... [laugh]

+1 exactly

I hope no chinese from other countries kena mistaken for a Chinese national and beaten up for nothing while in the countries mentioned........... [sweatdrop]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:12 AM, WTF said:

Paiseh [blush] not very good in Vietnamese (as if I know the other foreign languages [laugh] [laugh] )

In PRC, their govt got no choice but to allow such displays, albeit in a controlled way - as a way for their locals to let off some steam. After all, without extreme nationalism and focus on foreigners..... their people's attentions will turn inwards to focus on the many cases of corruption, and abuse of power of their own leadership.

But if I recall correctly, of all the nations named on the signboard, only the viets managed to whack PRC during their border conflict in the late 70s.

Edited by Sosaria

perhaps during my next trip to these countries I should wear those t-shirts sold by Hang-Ten or similar retailers during the National Days with the word 'Singapore' seen from far away............. [:p][laugh]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:31 AM, Watwheels said:

I thought those PRC like to eat dog meat? :D

Not just PRC, but I think some other asian countries also consider dog meat as a kind of seasonal delicacy.

Anyway, better not bring your pet dogs then... good advice from the restaurant! [laugh]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:34 AM, WTF said:

I hope no chinese from other countries kena mistaken for a Chinese national and beaten up for nothing while in the countries mentioned........... [sweatdrop]

There are more extreme examples like this:

http://theweek.com/article/index/231564/th...uslim-terrorism

Just hope we ourselves are not caught at a wrong place at a wrong time [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:36 AM, Sosaria said:

In PRC, their govt got no choice but to allow such displays, albeit in a controlled way - as a way for their locals to let off some steam. After all, without extreme nationalism and focus on foreigners..... their people's attentions will turn inwards to focus on the many cases of corruption, and abuse of power of their own leadership.

But if I recall correctly, of all the nations named on the signboard, only the viets managed to whack PRC during their border conflict in the late 70s.

Bro you missed the 500lb gorilla in the room.

WWII? Japan? China? [rolleyes]

On 2/28/2013 at 12:41 AM, Vulcann said:

Bro you missed the 500lb gorilla in the room.

WWII? Japan? China? [rolleyes]

think all these are due to the recent squabbles about some islands' ownership.......not really related to WW2 bah imho......... [laugh]