Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 From the lowest 1.88% comparing with 3.875%. Loan $100K over 10 years = S$18,800. Loan $100K over 5 years = S$19,375. Huat Huat Huat! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Is there any notice on this? Because the rates has been 3% + on the bank websites since few years ago. They don't update their websites. I think u mixed up with the base i/r rate vs effective i/r When the base i/r was 1.88%, the effective i/r was between 3.5-4% depending on the tenor Now the base i/r is 3.25%, the effective i/r is between 6-7% depending on the tenor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighero Neutral Newbie February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 i remember enquring about this before. i was told that getting a car loan directly from a bank (DBS) is different from getting a car loan from a AD. the rates through AD is lower that is why the rates on bank websites are always higher anyone remembers this? i still think i am correct Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Before the increase, it was how many % wor ??? It was 1.88% for new cars and 2.28% for used cars. Now is 3.25% (new) and 3.875% (used) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Before the increase, it was how many % wor ??? I'm also interested in whats the rate for 26 Feb 2013, since it's the first day of the new ruling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 It was 1.88% for new cars and 2.28% for used cars. Now is 3.25% (new) and 3.875% (used) Yesterday's rate? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Loan $100K over 5 years = S$19,375. Suppose the new car price is still $100K, how can still can loan $100K over 5 years ??? I tot only 50/60% and the rest pay in cash... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kobey 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) I think u mixed up with the base i/r rate vs effective i/r When the base i/r was 1.88%, the effective i/r was between 3.5-4% depending on the tenor Now the base i/r is 3.25%, the effective i/r is between 6-7% depending on the tenor. What I meant was, where did TS get the info from? Because if it is from their website, it might not be updated. Their websites has been showing 3.25% or so for the past few years. Edited February 27, 2013 by Kobey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Then those who are currently servicing their loan, no change in their interest rate right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Then those who are currently servicing their loan, no change in their interest rate right? No lah! When you sign the dotted line, it's stated there fixed interest rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Suppose the new car price is still $100K, how can still can loan $100K over 5 years ??? I tot only 50/60% and the rest pay in cash... he didnt mention is the car price of 100k... it is an example of a loan sum of 100k dude... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Then those who are currently servicing their loan, no change in their interest rate right? of course no change... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 From the lowest 1.88% comparing with 3.875%. Loan $100K over 10 years = S$18,800. Loan $100K over 5 years = S$19,375. Huat Huat Huat! Could it be the interim rates until every thing stabilize... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 borrowing interest rate overnight go up.. but interest we getting same leh =/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfat Neutral Newbie February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 That is why all the full licence banks here earn record profits. Interbank 0.2 % and they lend you 6% (effective interest rate). Don't be a fool and let those banks rip you off. Credit card late charge or overdue you pay at least 8%. Their rate are not much different from loan shark. For me I never borrow unless it is to my advantage. In fact I lend the bank money by buying their bonds : DBS 4.7%, UOB and OCBC 5%. Don't use your CPF to pay for your property, loan from banks at 1% while CPF pay you 2.5%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hsiao 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 With the car loan interest rate increase, will it applies to mortage loan as well ????? This will sure affect a lot of Singaporean taking bank loans for their recent private properties purchase. God bless them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Van 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 New Passenger Vehicles Period of Financing Customer Interest Rate Effective Interest Rate (p.a.) 1 year 3.25% 7.043% 2 years 3.25% 6.666% 3 years 3.25% 6.505% 4 years 3.25% 6.396% 5 years 3.25% 6.309% Illustration 1 Suppose you take a loan of S$50,000.00 over 5 years at an interest rate of 3.25%. The computation would be as follows: Total interest payable over 5 years S$50,000 x 3.25% x 5 years = S$8,125.00 Monthly instalment (S$50,000.00 + S$8,125.00) / 60 months = S$968 Does this mean for 1.88% : 50,000 x 1.88% x 5 = 4,700 monthly installment 50,000 + 4,700 / 60 = 912 the diff is 968 - 912 = 56 monthly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged February 28, 2013 Share February 28, 2013 Seems like the posts here are citing bank website. Has anyone actually gone to a car showroom to ask about interest rate? Reason i am asking is (and I COULD BE WRONG) because prior to me receiving my current car last Oct, i was browsing DBS website (sometime between Jul and Aug) to see more details of their iHP car loan although my loan with iHP had already been approved at 1.88% (u can say i itchy backside wanted to read the fine details). So i went to the DBS website and the auto loans there were 3.5% as what was reported here. So as far as i know, the published interest rates on DBS website all the while like that and may not be a reaction to the latest MAS rules. Note that the auto loan is not stated as iHP. So maybe this is the "nominal rate" but when apply to iHP there is a "promotional" rate. Again, i could be wrong. Maybe this weekend i drop by showroom and ask. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...