Myxilplix Turbocharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Have to see what kind bike tires and what kind of car tires lah. The main issue is the wear rate is much higher than car tires so your replacement intervals are much more often. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) but seriously as a ex biker whenever i see nice bike beside my car.....sometimes i just wish to trade place with ther rider Until e truck in front spews black fumes in yr face n e sun cooks u alive or e rain soaks yr underpants till even yr balls r shivering. Hahaha. But on e wide open road....nothing beats a good bike swishing round bends n hills with trees n nice scenery on both sides. And when u open up n overtake other vehicles at supersonic speed....thats biking. Edited February 27, 2013 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Yaya.. almost forget about VFR. No inverted fork, front and back also a bit diff from RVF. Some pic for you. Lolz.. Classic manz. New 2013 CBR400? Time to downgrade to bike? Sweet. But with all those fairings n windscreen.....i wonder how much to repair after u buang n all that plastic n fiberglass shatters into pieces? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 swee....everytime i see one of those bikes with thick tyres, drool man.... btw, those tyre profile thicker than some smal car profile right? Bike tires damm ex. Much more than good car tires even. Cos ty hv to grip better than car tires all round e sidewall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 600s usually run 180/55. 1000s and above normally run 190/50 or 190/55 although 200/55 also available for some track-biased tires. I've tried 200/55 but abit too heavy so switched back to 190/55. For those asking, 12-15k can get you a decent used 400-600cc road bike. For 400cc can look at the Suzuki GSR if you find super4s too common. 600cc gives you more options. If really wanna budget can find old bike for a few K and spend abit to overhaul. I had a gsx400 n this was abt 30 over yrs back. U mean this bike still around? That time was first 4valve per cylinder i think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Have to see what kind bike tires and what kind of car tires lah. The main issue is the wear rate is much higher than car tires so your replacement intervals are much more often. Bike tires need to grip well around e sidewall when u corner low. Much harder to design n make. Plus grip has to b good cos a skid usually means rider rolling along e road leaving bits of skin n flesh as u go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) Bike tires are not damn ex lah. I'm paying around 520-550 for a front/rear set of track biased Pirellis (Diablo Supercorsa SC2/SC3 compounds), depending on the promotion at the time, and these are pretty much at the top of the scale for bike tires already. That averages out to 260-275 per piece, so you can compare to car tires. It's not really that much more expensive than good 17 or 18" car tires. The problem is that i run through a set in 3-4 months, depending on how many trackdays i do. For road-only tires on a daily commute, a set of tires can last perhaps 9-12 months depending on mileage and rider preference regarding the change in the tire profile. But these tires also cost less than the sportier ones, perhaps 400-500 per set. Also i'm talking Class 2 1000cc sportbike ah, can scale down for road bike/smaller cc. Edited February 27, 2013 by Myxilplix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 I had a gsx400 n this was abt 30 over yrs back. U mean this bike still around? That time was first 4valve per cylinder i think. Suzuki launched the GSR 400/600 in the mid 00s as a competitor to the Super4, CB600, FZ6 etc. Road bike with nicer styling than super4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Sooner this MCF will become MBF.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 (edited) Suzuki launched the GSR 400/600 in the mid 00s as a competitor to the Super4, CB600, FZ6 etc. Road bike with nicer styling than super4. Cannot b. I was riding it in mid 70's. Just released. Got one time even tp stop me n ask me about my bike cos it just released n he curious abt it. Oh oh. I just see u say GSR. Mine GSX. Later ty come out GSX R model. Edited February 27, 2013 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Bike tires are not damn ex lah. I'm paying around 520-550 for a front/rear set of track biased Pirellis (Diablo Supercorsa SC2/SC3 compounds), depending on the promotion at the time, and these are pretty much at the top of the scale for bike tires already. That averages out to 260-275 per piece, so you can compare to car tires. It's not really that much more expensive than good 17 or 18" car tires. The problem is that i run through a set in 3-4 months, depending on how many trackdays i do. For road-only tires on a daily commute, a set of tires can last perhaps 9-12 months depending on mileage and rider preference regarding the change in the tire profile. But these tires also cost less than the sportier ones, perhaps 400-500 per set. Also i'm talking Class 2 1000cc sportbike ah, can scale down for road bike/smaller cc. Paying $200 plus a bike tire when car tires were under $100 that time i wud say damm ex. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 I feel, that the new measures would also have an impact on how people take care of their cars and as well as driving pattern. Here are some reasons: 1. Since most cannot fathom paying 50% dp for next car, they will now take care of their cars more prudently 2. With point 1 above, there should be more safe driving, lest one gets into an accident and then no car 3. Many will leave their cars home, scared of any incident, thus roads might be a little less congested??? 4. NO MORE OPCs on the downside, i feel this is gonna happen: 1. Scratching and vandalising of cars from those green eyed 2. Bigger gap among the Jap and Contis, with the face factor, leading to more snobbishness 3. Carparks gonna be full as ppl not gonna drive out more? Whatever the reason, drive safe all, as thie vehicle is gonna see and be with you for a long long time.....Have you hugged your car today? [laugh] i hug my car everyday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 I feel, that the new measures would also have an impact on how people take care of their cars and as well as driving pattern. Here are some reasons: 1. Since most cannot fathom paying 50% dp for next car, they will now take care of their cars more prudently 2. With point 1 above, there should be more safe driving, lest one gets into an accident and then no car 3. Many will leave their cars home, scared of any incident, thus roads might be a little less congested??? 4. NO MORE OPCs on the downside, i feel this is gonna happen: 1. Scratching and vandalising of cars from those green eyed 2. Bigger gap among the Jap and Contis, with the face factor, leading to more snobbishness 3. Carparks gonna be full as ppl not gonna drive out more? Whatever the reason, drive safe all, as thie vehicle is gonna see and be with you for a long long time.....Have you hugged your car today? [laugh] so emo for wat? not like as if car buyers hv to pay extra 50% for cars fr yesterday onwards. 50% dp oso cannot fork out better go public. gao elite bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 27, 2013 Author Share February 27, 2013 so emo for wat? not like as if car buyers hv to pay extra 50% for cars fr yesterday onwards. 50% dp oso cannot fork out better go public. gao elite bo? i sensation can anot [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighero Neutral Newbie February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 i hug my car everyday if i got gtr, i also hug it everyday. a volvo not very huggable leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 Bikes, just like cars - there's no need to buy brand new. Second hand super 4 VTEC3s are going for 8-10k for 2005-2008 models. Plus renewing a bike's COE is so much cheaper ~ $1.5K to $2k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear February 27, 2013 Share February 27, 2013 i talked to my car, told my car if let me kena 4D this weekend, i will wash it....if not i let it collect more dirt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 27, 2013 Author Share February 27, 2013 i talked to my car, told my car if let me kena 4D this weekend, i will wash it....if not i let it collect more dirt i report you to the SPCC [laugh] society of Prevention of Cruelty to Cars ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...