When to change battery

Dumb

My battery is about 50% health. Is it still safe to use? Thanks.

better to get it replaced. As mentioned earlier, you wont want to get your self in difficult situations during CNY right? Will likely spoil you whole day scheudle. Get it replace. But having said this, too late also for you to replace now as it is already CNY. Hope for the best it wont bring you situation where you enjoy and when want to go home cannot start the car.

Noted! Will get it changed within these few days. Thanks.

For me, I will change my battery whenever I change my tyres. Average about 2y-3yrs. With this, I dun have to worry so much on these 2 things which might screw up my schedule anytime.

I have an Amaron for 3 years and during these 3 years, it was connected to a nanopulser bought from ebay. Anyone has a battery with more than 3 years connected to a nanopulser?

For me, I will change my battery whenever I change my tyres. Average about 2y-3yrs. With this, I dun have to worry so much on these 2 things which might screw up my schedule anytime.

It depends and this is subjective.

For drivers like me who change tyres every year, it is otherwise advisable to monitor the battery and its condition separately.

I have an Amaron for 3 years and during these 3 years, it was connected to a nanopulser bought from ebay. Anyone has a battery with more than 3 years connected to a nanopulser?

my amaron battery also three years without any issue and without any nonopulser. ^_^

When you are unsure when to get your weak car battery change, just get to your regular workshop and ask the mechanics to check your battery power efficiency percentage. If your battery power storage is below 22%, then please get it replace as in anytime, if not it might fail to ignite your engine and you might be left stranded

In all professional workshop, they will have a battery meter gauge to check your battery power storage level.

971564_637601666251234_245424358_n.jpg

Edited by DMSG

Last time, I had a nanopulser in a getz. It didn't stop the motolite from going dead in 2 year.

I did a lot more testing later on and found that it does not help much.

Initially, it seemed to help a poorly maintained battery, but after that it still depends on the quality of the battery and how you use or "abused" it. But that's just my opinion.

Edited by Kb27

Last time, I had a nanopulser in a getz. It didn't stop the motolite from going dead in 2 year.

I did a lot more testing later on and found that it does not help much.

Initially, it seemed to help a poorly maintained battery, but after that it still depends on the quality of the battery and how you use or "abused" it. But that's just my opinion.

The nanopulser looks like another snake oil to me.

The claims they made really Wu Leng Wu Hor.

I change batteries every 2.5 years. I worked out that with a 10 year COE no point keeping a battery for 3

years as scrapping the car after 10 years the battery will be only 1 year old. A bit of a waste.

When you are unsure when to get your weak car battery change, just get to your regular workshop and ask the mechanics to check your battery power efficiency percentage. If your battery power storage is below 22%, then please get it replace as in anytime, if not it might fail to ignite your engine and you might be left stranded

In all professional workshop, they will have a battery meter gauge to check your battery power storage level.

971564_637601666251234_245424358_n.jpg

actually anyone can check their battery health on their own. just google for method

but basically, u use a volt meter, hook it on ur car battery after turn off ignition. Make sure u knows how to use a volt meter in the first place. If ur battery is in good health, the voltage be in between 12.4 to 12.7 volts. A reading lower than that means ur battery needs to be charged

To check if ur alternator is working, start the engine n take the reading again. A functional charging system should produce between 13.5 to 14.5 or more volts while engine is idling. Voltage less than 13.5 volts means u need a new alternator.

If still unsure, can PM me for more info. I can also share lobang to get Amaron batteries at reasonably low price with 1 year agent warranty.

Edited by Otacon

Talking about changing battery, I'll like to share my experience.

Can anyone accept a brand new car battery that spoilt in 6 months and 8 days. I got this battery Voltex from Hankook that their china sales lady said no complaint so far and it's selling well. Using my $55 voucher that I gotten from signing their membership, I replaced the battery as it is the last validity day of the voucher.

When the battery spoilt in 6 months and 8 days, I called Hankook and the reply from his boss is warranty over, TOO BAD. I swear I'll never go back to Hankook as long as I lives. Btw, my colleague replaced the Hankook battery and it died exactly a year without any symptom.

If anyone were to think that they got a good deal by signing up the membership when replacing Hankook tyres which gives u a $55 battery voucher, you are stepping into a trap.

I believe I'm not the only victim here also. Could others please come forward and tell us your bad experience with Hankook? Let's boycott such despicable supplier!

I always drive till my battery flat and then call AA to change. The last time I changed was 4 Mar 2010 when mileage was 116k. Had a 45ah battery for $133. Now mileage 205k and last servicing at 200k TCM said my battery ok. But I got a $10 battery voucher from AA that would expire end Jun. Should I change or wait till it is flat? Till now, there is still no sign that the battery would up lorry. How long more will it go?

As usual I would wait till it is flat. But recently, I have been frequenting JB at least once a month and I am concerned that I might be caught with a flat battery with no help from AA and I cant use the voucher.

Talking about changing battery, I'll like to share my experience.

Can anyone accept a brand new car battery that spoilt in 6 months and 8 days. I got this battery Voltex from Hankook that their china sales lady said no complaint so far and it's selling well. Using my $55 voucher that I gotten from signing their membership, I replaced the battery as it is the last validity day of the voucher.

When the battery spoilt in 6 months and 8 days, I called Hankook and the reply from his boss is warranty over, TOO BAD. I swear I'll never go back to Hankook as long as I lives. Btw, my colleague replaced the Hankook battery and it died exactly a year without any symptom.

If anyone were to think that they got a good deal by signing up the membership when replacing Hankook tyres which gives u a $55 battery voucher, you are stepping into a trap.

I believe I'm not the only victim here also. Could others please come forward and tell us your bad experience with Hankook? Let's boycott such despicable supplier!

Looks like another Sporean got conned by another PRC.

Its about time we wise up to them. I dun trust anything about them n so far I am safe.

Looks like another Sporean got conned by another PRC.

Its about time we wise up to them. I dun trust anything about them n so far I am safe.

i rather pay more than let the chao ah tiong earn my money.

when my fav stall in the hawker centre hired ah tiong take over, i choose to patronise other stalls

actually anyone can check their battery health on their own. just google for method

but basically, u use a volt meter, hook it on ur car battery after turn off ignition. Make sure u knows how to use a volt meter in the first place. If ur battery is in good health, the voltage be in between 12.4 to 12.7 volts. A reading lower than that means ur battery needs to be charged

To check if ur alternator is working, start the engine n take the reading again. A functional charging system should produce between 13.5 to 14.5 or more volts while engine is idling. Voltage less than 13.5 volts means u need a new alternator.

If still unsure, can PM me for more info. I can also share lobang to get Amaron batteries at reasonably low price with 1 year agent warranty.

A multi-meter or a battery checker/tester would be more accurate. I have used a volt meter previously.

Just to share, my Amaron suddenly died on me after idling over the wkend. No crank, no lights, not even cabin light.

No choice but to buy one at slightly more expensive $$$ from jump start helper.

Funny thing is one week later, I used my multimeter at home and measured the old battery. It showed 12.4V. New installed battery was 12.5V only, cannot understand why a slight drop in voltage cannot start car, even cabin light also cannot light up. ( Amaron battery indicator still showing green color,2 yrs old)

My friend told me it could simply be a case of loose battery connection. Thought was cheated by the battery man and Called up to ask. Was told its because old batt CCA super low, and got voltage does not equate battery still can use. (Is it Possible 12.4V all radio, cabin light will be turned off?)

Anyone can confirm?

A multi-meter or a battery checker/tester would be more accurate. I have used a volt meter previously.