MAS Imposes Financing Restrictions on Motor Vehicle Loans

Fabiaman

This guy isn't rich. Probably only making not more than 6k a month.

He was planning to take 0% dp 10yr loan which works out around 3k+.

What a pussy, because cannot get the car he wants then migrate? Childish behaviour

At least with that pay, he still can buy another smaller car which others cannot now.

And there are many more of such pussies, in the form of B&B car buyers.

Now they are screaming murder just like this lame ass.

Only difference is they cant leave the country even...

Such people is exactly what this new rule will weed out.

In the course of doing so something must give.

Life is always a trade off

Migrate? Yeah go. You can get M3 in the US for US$60K (http://www.truecar.com/prices-new/bmw/m3-pricing/)

Just dont forget... Go to US and pay 45% income tax. Go to Australia and pay 50% income tax.

Just how green is that grass?

Where you do people get your tax figures ah?

I just tried the US and Aussie income tax calculators for 2013 and the figures are nowhere near that leh. Aussie more than US though.

i dunno the percentages. but even winning lottery there is taxed. it isnt here

The last car I had OMV I think around 46k....so meidum only...haha. Anyway, sadly a lot of people are happy when they know people richer than them had to pay more for something, or have to buy something a little cheaper..maybe, does not matter, that they cannot afford them in the first place. I do not know what is wrong with our society, & these people are normally the loudest.

See the trend.

Complain not eniugh night parking....increase night parking charges

Complain Jam.....Increase ERP

Complain car expensive, & only for the rich.......increase car prices!

Dude, at least you are away from all this , for now......

Haha, yes complaining property expensive, they up stamp, lower LTV, muayhahaha

Migrate? Yeah go. You can get M3 in the US for US$60K (http://www.truecar.com/prices-new/bmw/m3-pricing/)

Just dont forget... Go to US and pay 45% income tax. Go to Australia and pay 50% income tax.

Just how green is that grass?

After he realizes he has to pay that much of an income tax, he regretted not going to Switzerland instead where its a tax exile there. :D Correct me if i'm wrong, the tax rates in Swiss is kinda low right?

Edited by Ev0lutionz

I cannot tahan all these migration talks. One simple meal cost you $5 euro easily anywhere in europe. $5 here we can have decent hawker fare. I once took a taxi in Canberra and paid $A20 plus for a distance of about 6 km. Personal income tax are all sky high in these well developed western countries and these are recurring tax year after year. Vehicle expensive here is expected because we are a small DOT only, people seem to forget. I rather pay high vehicle tax than high recurring income tax as I only pay once when I buy car, road tax notwithstanding. Unreasonable and unrealistic personal expection not met only want to migrate? Go ahead lah and don't kpkb in the Internet. Like a 6 year old got scolded buy parents only cried and said 'I don't like daddy and mummy, I want to go po po house'!

Hahah, singaporeans damn funny.

Car cheap, they say rich people buy up all the cars.

So benefit rich.

Cars expensive, they say poor people cannot buy.

So benefit rich.

To me thats just jealousy or discontent base on personal selfish reasons

The rich will be the rich. They will be able to buy whether it benefits them ir not. Period.

People love complaining. If now they remove COE everyone will complain no where to park and jam everywhere.

Why is it that so many people think they are entitled to own a car? Seems like many forgot that Singapore is small and also densely populated. You do not really need a car to travel from one end of sg to the other. Its supposed to be a luxury. So its correct that only the rich should be buying cars.

Hope you did not only use one calculator because there are also state taxes, not administered by the feds.

Depends where ah, some states no tax, some cities have their own taxes also. Cali has highest state taxes for top bracket income earners, 10%ish for people earning over 1 million. If you take this plus the federal taxes then can hit 50%. But if you calculate based on 120,000 annual income it's actually not bad ah, especially if you factor against the cost of living and latent taxation here. I only normal person, don't want to dream about earning millions a year.

As for the fellow complaining about the 5 EUR meals there or AUD 20 cab rides, how to compare earning in SGD and travel there spend in local currency.

But all this is moot lah, if i go anywhere it'll probably be Canada since i've lived there before and i like the cold. Sure high taxes, but healthcare covered also. But all these are just plans for now, see how singapore goes in the next few years. Maybe i'll end up selling everything here and retiring in Indonesia and go diving everyday.

I cannot tahan all these migration talks. One simple meal cost you $5 euro easily anywhere in europe. $5 here we can have decent hawker fare. I once took a taxi in Canberra and paid $A20 plus for a distance of about 6 km. Personal income tax are all sky high in these well developed western countries and these are recurring tax year after year. Vehicle expensive here is expected because we are a small DOT only, people seem to forget. I rather pay high vehicle tax than high recurring income tax as I only pay once when I buy car, road tax notwithstanding. Unreasonable and unrealistic personal expection not met only want to migrate? Go ahead lah and don't kpkb in the Internet. Like a 6 year old got scolded buy parents only cried and said 'I don't like daddy and mummy, I want to go po po house'!

As according to my friend in Aust, though income tax is high, they are allowed to invest in property to reduce income bracket. All they have to do is pay tax for profitable sale of their property invested. In such a way, their government is encouraging a Win-Win layout isn't it?

wow bro, pls offer some advice on how to afford all these... i'm already squeezed till the last drop trying to juggle all these expenses...

Btw my salary is also in the middle class range

Thought you just bought the watch in your avatar? Then you don't need any advice from me.

Sorry , may I ask how you estimated with abt 6K income for him?

just curious [:p]

I know a manager in my office recently bought a jaguar which is similar in price.

Based on his rank, should be making 6-7k pm.

Don't forget 3mths bonus. He's a single though with 1 gf.

I'm not saying this m3 guy is also making 6k. I'm just saying probably.

He could even be making 10k but still cannot afford to make 200k dp. It's too high.

For AUS, it's from my colleagues. For the US, most online calculators only do Federal Tax. there's also State Taxes. Depending on your income, federal tax can go as high as 40% (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Income_tax_in_the_United_States#Marginal_tax_rates_for_2013)

And as someone points out for the US, you have to pay tax on earnings from lottery, gambling, stock market gains, capital gains (like profit from selling your house).

today i took my folding bike for an mrt ride across d island earlier today.

5min ride to mrt station, wait for train another 5min, train ride took 25min, then rode to destination within 10min. if i drove, i thk i wld have maybe 10mins less?

Depending on nature of event at destination, many car trips can be substituted by public transport... assuming d public transport doesnt fail... lol

For AUS, it's from my colleagues. For the US, most online calculators only do Federal Tax. there's also State Taxes. Depending on your income, federal tax can go as high as 40% (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Income_tax_in_the_United_States#Marginal_tax_rates_for_2013)

And as someone points out for the US, you have to pay tax on earnings from lottery, gambling, stock market gains, capital gains (like profit from selling your house).

Ur colleague forget to tell u that Australia medical fee is 100% covered by their government whether private or gov hospital.. Yes I agree that their tax is very high but give and take..