How low will COE go?

Darryn

some say luxury cars affected means more go to japanese/korea cars. Will this mean higher COE for CAT A? since CAT B shouldnt be that much affected?

not sure of how many pay with a 10yrs loan before this.

Only those people cannot really afford are forced to go down one category.

People who can afford, can afford, can afford.

According to ST, Tan Chong says at least 50% of their buyers borrow 60% of car loan

I think I saw someone post the article from the Chinese papers. It was a high number that took 100% loan and 10 year tenure as well - something like 4 out of 10 customers ( i cant find that post...sorry)

So, new rules could take out a large chunk of demand who cannot afford

on supply side, current quota remains low.

but supply side should start to increase H2 2013

then floodgates open in 2015-2016 - i am sure alot of MCF bros already know this

but just in case, anyone missed it

refer to link http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2669019

http://motoring.asiaone.com/print/Motoring...914-299419.html

maybe there could be $1 COE in the next 1-2 years

esp if you factor all the Euro risk

Singapore GDP growth was only 1.2% last year

I hear alot of people kenna chop in the banks as well

anybody want to try for $1 COE in the 1st bidding after the measures?

maybe all the last minute registrations last night will provide some support

maybe $1COE in the 2nd bidding in march

haha.... if everybody try then it will not be S$1 COE...

will u benefit if u get a $1 COE car? how much will the car dealers refund u?

bought a 2011 2nd hand car, can afford to pay like new policy requirements and if COE drop to 60k is so sad for me sia :wacko:

heng is never buy low COE cars

Edited by Jano

I think you have misunderstood me.

Sigh, and after so long, i thought you'd know me better....

I guess i wont reall bother to explain anymore lah......hai...

No lah I took offence at that bugger trying to jam his own definition of success down the throats of others.

Different definitions for different people. I thought Singaporeans should be civilized and educated enough to see that.

So i suppose EZ128 is a very successful individual (by his own definition) huh?

Success doesn't mean the 5Cs, I can tell ya that.

If it does, we won't be seeing musicians, artists, scientists, academics, etc.

Many of them can quit and join the commercial life, making even more $$$ than those basic Biz Ad, Arts and Science grads. But they chose to do what they love. And to be good at what they love, world class standard, is success in their book. If big money happens to come into their careers somewhere along the way, that's a bonus.

And these people make the world a better place.

No I am not one of those sour grapes who cannot attain the 5 Cs. I am speaking from personal experience, having known professional musicians, artists, academics in my life and close to some of them.

It will be good if Singaporeans in general are not so damn narrow-minded about what success really means.

Those professional u have listed can earn a respectable sum as well

Tell me, which artist or musician or whatever profession that not earning reasonable money can be termed as successful in its profession?

If these people have a choice to make more money but choose to pursue their dream then it's either they cannot take the pressure in the commercial world or they already well to be

I have a cousin who do nothing but study study study until not much more for her to explore. She's already in her late 30s and her hobby is study or read whatever u call it and she has never ever work before except during her internship. She was offered a very well paid job because of her cert but she turn it down as that was not she love to do. But she can do that simply because her parents are well off with a few houses for her to choose which to stay and the rest as her rental income. My point is simple, she can choose what she like because no financial burden. Your friends belong to this category?

The world can only be a better place if and only if everyone every country has no worry about their essential needs and everyone has a fair share of the wealth otherwise there will be protests and wars. Most, if not all decision are based on economic benefits aren't we? Example go green campaign. It is the savings that a hotel can achieve from lesser water used that prompt it to keep promoting to its guests to be environmental conscious etc

It will be good if people can stop be so damn naive

I read this post with a grin on my face, another c--k talker

If success don't necessary mean having 5C then mean what?? Earn and save and donate to charity or everyday go update bank book count how many zero or ??

If one is rich enough to live in high end property and drive luxury car then why would one give up such comfort? When I say rich enough means literally cash rich even after buying such high value items.

It is those who are half bake where their 'rich' can only afford one but not the other then they will act act say stay hdb better than staying in condo or landed because hdb got government subsidies, drive Camry say bmw and merc high FC blar blar blar...

I have met enough such people to tell u this and I will always hint to them 'can't afford say can't afford don't talk c--k sing song'

Having no motivation no dream no desire then really a society is not going to move forward

China is a typical example, why do you think they move away from communist rule?

Sorry, can't fully agree with your statements.

Not saying all you said are wrong, but something there is just not right. Hopefully one day, after you consider the comments made by some bros here in response to what uou said, you may see it also.

Nevermind, the world is large enough to contain different views.

Have a good week [:)]

Those professional u have listed can earn a respectable sum as well

Tell me, which artist or musician or whatever profession that not earning reasonable money can be termed as successful in its profession?

If these people have a choice to make more money but choose to pursue their dream then it's either they cannot take the pressure in the commercial world or they already well to be

I have a cousin who do nothing but study study study until not much more for her to explore. She's already in her late 30s and her hobby is study or read whatever u call it and she has never ever work before except during her internship. She was offered a very well paid job because of her cert but she turn it down as that was not she love to do. But she can do that simply because her parents are well off with a few houses for her to choose which to stay and the rest as her rental income. My point is simple, she can choose what she like because no financial burden. Your friends belong to this category?

The world can only be a better place if and only if everyone every country has no worry about their essential needs and everyone has a fair share of the wealth otherwise there will be protests and wars. Most, if not all decision are based on economic benefits aren't we? Example go green campaign. It is the savings that a hotel can achieve from lesser water used that prompt it to keep promoting to its guests to be environmental conscious etc

It will be good if people can stop be so damn naive

May I know, out of curiosity, which age group you are in?

If life is measured only in monetary terms, the difference between animals and men is just one is unable to count it, the other is able.

Have a good night [:)]

No lah I took offence at that bugger trying to jam his own definition of success down the throats of others.

Different definitions for different people. I thought Singaporeans should be civilized and educated enough to see that.

So i suppose EZ128 is a very successful individual (by his own definition) huh?

Bugger what I say u must listen and adopt? Different definition for different people so must I be the same opinion as you then? U can disagree but if u say jam means u die die must follow?

When u cannot accept other people's view means the other party is not'civilized and educated? So a country go war with another means the leader is not civilize and not educated?

If I successful will not come in here kpkb about high Coe, high arf, lower ltv Liao. One thing for sure I no 5C

Btw we have a lot of non Singaporean here as well

Sorry, can't fully agree with your statements.

Not saying all you said are wrong, but something there is just not right. Hopefully one day, after you consider the comments made by some bros here in response to what uou said, you may see it also.

Nevermind, the world is large enough to contain different views.

Have a good week [:)]

Thanks for being objective

Yes we are all bound to have different view otherwise why you think there's such a thing call GAMBLE? Human gamble because we all have different opinion about what is going to happen.

got money? Just buy.

dun have so much money? buy cheaper car.

no money? then take public transport and level up after a few years lor....

the rule is here to stay. LLST and adapt to it.

I do feel its a good move. Teach some ppl about financial planning. Especially for the younger adults.

i see those mid and late 20s chiong $140k cars with 10 years loan i also sweat for them.

You want to buy something, you save for it. Not borrow money to buy it. (the only thing not applicable is housing)

May I know, out of curiosity, which age group you are in?

If life is measured only in monetary terms, the difference between animals and men is just one is unable to count it, the other is able.

Have a good night [:)]

If life is not about money essentially then I trust a lot of people can just work 2 days a week to survive and not slog till the cow comes home. When we first started we just want 3 meals a day, after we have 3 meals we want a house, after we have a house we want a car and the list goes on. Again if one can afford something better it will not settle for something less inferior right?

Just to side track a bit

Between a piece of meat and a piece of bone which will a carnivor choose first assuming it has not eaten for days? I will reckon that it will go for the meat first before settling on the bone later as snack maybe. What I'm trying to illustrate is that an animal will also know what is best for it given the situation to choose.

If someone has the chance to become monetary fulfilling will one give up? Yes only if that someone has already got the basic.

Therefore it is basic instinct that we will choose what is best with due consideration to at least fill the minimum requirement. Human are no different from animal in this aspect.

Gd night

Quick sell off your car now while it is still high and buy back when it gets low.... i guess next coe bidding can see another drastic drop...

The latest measures to cool car purchase using cost of buying only punishes new entrants.

How about varying cost of using the major expressways , car-park charges, road tax, petrol etc, regularly.

This method ensures all car owners ( whteher coe 16K or 78K) will have to pay proportional 'tax' once they own a car.

Edited by Camrysfa

You are right.

The problem is that these people are f--king pampered.

Must buy new cars?

Must buy conti?

yes, "these people" should continue to buy new cars and shun the used car market. This is because they need to show off and not lose face. Very siah suay to tell people u bought used car ok? Also, used cars very problematic u know?

most importantly, with less demand for used cars, prices will be depressed. Then it will be a buyers' market [cool]

did you read the news yesterday abt the guy that chiong to komoco on Mon night to buy his $150K veloster? [knife]

i hope got many people buy the new cayman S and shower it with TLC. Then hopefully i can take over from one of them in a few years time [inlove]

Quick sell off your car now while it is still high and buy back when it gets low.... i guess next coe bidding can see another drastic drop...

Ideally, drops below $15k ...... [sly]

[:p][:p]

eh u wait, me first......for cayman [laugh] [laugh]

u better buy new one lah.... pple see oso green-eye... got new car smell, got full AD warranty... and can specify the specs u want. Then gimme right of 1st refusal in 3 years time [laugh] [laugh]

eh... wait.... noooo.... can i tell u my prefered options list? then u buy accordingly :D