Petrol Price Movement in Singapore

Friendstar

On 1/23/2024 at 3:36 PM, ER-3682 said:

You go Malaysia,must pump V-Power Racing..that one is the same as Singapore's V-Power Nitro.

Not even RON97.  MAI LA.

Go Msia must pump RON100.

On 1/23/2024 at 1:38 PM, Nawoo said:

which credit card is best for shell? Shell always too ex for me. I go to JB and pump vpower 97, but then the last time i pumped last year, it felt super weak, as if it was diluted or something. Maybe the malaysian side tamper with their vpower 97 cuz they know many singaporeans pump it. 

Try pump singapore shell 95 and see lor. Its just one time pay abit more to try. See how it goes ba. 

We really wouldnt know if their petrol in M'sia and Singapore is different at chemical level.

For my ICE car, it is very different to drive when i pump SG SPC 95 (very shi*) vs SG Shell 95 (good).

UOB One will be best i think.

Edited by hansmith

been pumping SPC for the longest time lo ... dun feel any diff even as compared with Malaysia Petron 100 or what ... 

from 3 litres cars to 6.5 litres car , NA / Turbo / twin turbo , all feel the same lo ...  

So whichever brand is cheaper , near your home / office and those on your way kind , just pump lo .. 

Edited by Hubwee

On 1/23/2024 at 6:08 PM, Nawoo said:

@hansmith lol SPC is really jialat. Felt like water

Ok shall try shell 95. Currently using esso 95 or sinopec

Remember to almost empty your tank first before pumping lol

Yes, spc petrol is really not good. Yes the car will move. But my car really feel very lethargic with spc petrol. 

Honest opinion after trying all petrols in SG.

Edited by hansmith

On 1/23/2024 at 6:36 PM, hansmith said:

Yes, spc petrol is really not good. Yes the car will move. But my car really feel very lethargic with spc petrol. 

My Camry Hybrid feel the same for all 98 Petrol.

On 1/23/2024 at 6:36 PM, hansmith said:

basically i felt the same after pumping vpower 97 last year in JB. i wonder if they tampered with the fuel in some way over there. 

Had to pump one grade higher after that

but before Covid, I always pumped vpower 97 and never had such issues. Only after covid ended and the borders reopened did it feel that way. 

I havent been to JB since then, maybe its gotten better, but i dont intend to try again lol.

On 1/23/2024 at 6:34 PM, Hubwee said:

been pumping SPC for the longest time lo ... dun feel any diff even as compared with Malaysia Petron 100 or what ... 

from 3 litres cars to 6.5 litres car , NA / Turbo / twin turbo , all feel the same lo ...  

So whichever brand is cheaper , near your home / office and those on your way kind , just pump lo .. 

@Hubwee towkay... big cc cannot feel difference. 2.0 NA and below can feel some. 😁

anyway trying and experimenting with different petrol is the best "mod" you can do. the cost is but a few dollars between different octanes and brands.

On 1/23/2024 at 7:47 PM, ER-3682 said:

My Camry Hybrid feel the same for all 98 Petrol.

Higher octane fuel allows higher rev as compared to RON95.

If you don’t rev your car 3k - 4K RPM, of course no different.

My Mini lost its pop and bang with RON100

On 1/24/2024 at 8:55 AM, Nawoo said:

basically i felt the same after pumping vpower 97 last year in JB. i wonder if they tampered with the fuel in some way over there. 

Had to pump one grade higher after that

but before Covid, I always pumped vpower 97 and never had such issues. Only after covid ended and the borders reopened did it feel that way. 

I havent been to JB since then, maybe its gotten better, but i dont intend to try again lol.

Most likely it's due to your car's engine when you dont drive it so often during Covid. Parts like spark plugs are not at optimal when you dont drive your car daily. Carbon and fuel build up on the tips. 

Higher RON in petrol is just fuel stability. Preventing petrol from igniting itself(w/o spark from spark plug) under high heat and pressure conditions. What Shell put are likely fuel addictive. Making butt-feel like more power. Now Shell sg side is marketing "fuelsave", giving extra mileage. I can tell you it is added fuel addictive. M'sia side maybe put less since they are trying to recoup the losses made during Covid.

But i drove my car all the time during covid. Still had to go to office to work. Not work from home like other businesses. lol. Not just me, other people also felt like the vpower 97 totally felt like water after covid reopen borders. Even my malaysian colleague from JB also said it. He said maybe its just the petrol stations around central JB, once you go further out of JB, then back to normal. I did some digging on this forum and found this post as well. And this was in 2015, so i guess it happened even before covid. 

On 1/24/2024 at 9:17 AM, Watwheels said:

Most likely it's due to your car's engine when you dont drive it so often during Covid. Parts like spark plugs are not at optimal when you dont drive your car daily. Carbon and fuel build up on the tips. 

Higher RON in petrol is just fuel stability. Preventing petrol from igniting itself(w/o spark from spark plug) under high heat and pressure conditions. What Shell put are likely fuel addictive. Making butt-feel like more power. Now Shell sg side is marketing "fuelsave", giving extra mileage. I can tell you it is added fuel addictive. M'sia side maybe put less since they are trying to recoup the losses made during Covid.

Even Malaysians admit their fuel quality sucks

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3261860/all

Mercedes Benz Malaysia says Malaysia's fuel quality is Euro 2 standard. Singapore is Euro 4 standard

"As we’re all aware of, fuel from Malaysian pumps, both petrol and diesel, are of Euro 2 standards. That’s a few rungs lower than the standard of fuel in Europe, Japan and even our neigbouring ASEAN countries, so cars meant for those markets may not run smoothly with our fuel, and complications may arise."