Petrol Price Movement in Singapore

Friendstar

5 hours ago, Stratovarius said:

tmd. Everytime i pump 50 bucks the price keep going up. so i pump full tank last week and price came down. knn. 

Me too. 😭

• Sad 1

4 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Of course we know that ...

Provided the infrastructure is ready to support full scale transformation.

3 slots per mscp. 😴 Half hearted attempt. 👎

7 minutes ago, darviathan said:

after latest parliament sitting on fuel issue, pump price drop by almost 7%.

hope the price will drop further.

Watched for almost 4 months liao.

Gao liao lo…

Edited by Fcw75

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/pump-prices-in-singapore-fall-for-all-grades-of-fuel-92-octane-now-closer-to-3

Pump prices in Singapore fall for all grades of fuel; 92-octane now closer to $3

image.png.453494828149da63c464a3f32b57722d.png

PUBLISHED 7 JUL 2022, 9:43 PM SGT

SINGAPORE - Posted prices for 92-octane petrol have eased closer to the $3 mark as at Thursday evening (July 7), with price cuts of between 12 cents and 29 cents a litre across the five brands.

According to Fuel Kaki, a pump price tracker initiated by the Consumers Association of Singapore, Caltex, Esso, Shell, Sinopec and SPC have adjusted prices since Wednesday.

Sinopec, which has the smallest network of stations in Singapore, slashed the price of its premium 98-octane petrol by 29 cents a litre.

Its 98-octane fuel, which is the next highest grade, is down 16 cents a litre. Both grades are now priced at $3.62 a litre.

Shell was the next biggest mover, lowering prices by 20 cents a litre across its range of petrol.

With the latest round of revisions, it costs $3.15 a litre for Shell's 95-octane petrol and $3.64 a litre for both its 98- and premium 98-octane fuels.

SPC reduced prices by 16 cents a litre across all three grades of petrol it offers.

Its posted petrol prices are now $3.10, $3.14 and $3.62 a litre for the 92-, 95- and 98-octane fuels.

Esso's posted prices match SPC's for the 92- and 98-octane petrol. But at $3.15 a litre, its 95-octane petrol is a pricier.

Caltex priced its petrol at $3.11, $3.19 and $3.83 per litre for the 92-, 95- and premium 98-octane fuels.

Diesel prices are more closely aligned with just 2 cents a litre separating the most expensive (Caltex and Shell at $3.02 a litre) and the cheapest (Sinopec and SPC at $3 a litre).

MPs had raised the issue of surging crude oil prices and the impact on drivers several times in recent Parliament sittings.

On Tuesday, Minister of State for Trade and Industry Low Yen Ling said the Government will not regulate or cap pump prices as doing so distorts the market.

But she added: "The Competition and Consumer Commission of Singapore monitors the fuel market closely and will not hesitate to investigate the practices of the retail operators.

"We will take firm enforcement actions against any anti-competitive behaviour."

While he is glad pump prices are down, Mr Gordon Tiang, 47, from the telecommunications industry, said they are still high.

"It is good that prices are coming down. But the drop does not feel very significant.

"It still costs too much to fill up my car," said Mr Tiang, who pays more than $100 each time he fills up his 1.6-litre family sedan with 95-octane petrol.

17 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Knn Shell and Caltex Knn…

B30F1588-330D-42E3-98CF-F95761573A12.jpeg

if everyone drop price together ...isn't it price collusion?😁

19 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

You tell me! 😅

Low IQ people like me also can see.

Maybe elite and peasant definition of same time is different.

Peasant - as long as same day it’s same time

Elite - MUST be down to the same hour, minute and second then it’s same time

🤣

Edited by Fcw75

43 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

You tell me! 😅

Low IQ people like me also can see.

Maybe elite and peasant definition of same time is different.

Peasant - as long as same day it’s same time

Elite - MUST be down to the same hour, minute and second then it’s same time

🤣

So the elite keep saying they monitor and monitor... Also dunnoe what they are monitoring for....

Maybe, just maybe, list out the criteria they are "monitoring" for so that we peasants can learn abit of their cheemology method of determining price collusion? 

Maybe they think we peasants are too underpaid and not up to their level of intelligence to comprehend the "criteria".. If any... 

Edited by Vratenza

47 minutes ago, Vratenza said:

Tacit collusion.

It is always easy to say we see price collusion.  The problem is how to prove it?

8 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Tacit collusion.

It is always easy to say we see price collusion.  The problem is how to prove it?

May be you infiltrate one of the oil companies. It's easier to get a high-level post as you drive an inline six engine car.😄

3 hours ago, darviathan said:

after latest parliament sitting on fuel issue, pump price drop by almost 7%.

hope the price will drop further.

856CAF97-B9F0-446A-A429-B596AA2710AE.jpeg

https://www.straitstimes.com/life/motoring/torque-shop-does-jacking-up-a-cars-rear-help-fill-the-fuel-tank-all-the-way-up?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&fbclid=IwAR0DaaQtLS2OIFGB6_APOYQtCuHJJ6CF8nhmQTQqC2gtwEScxYQqSY1ES9Q tilting the car? Don't waste time la...

The nozzles at petrol stations have an in-built mechanism that forces a trigger release when the tank is almost full. The fast-acting pneumatic release is activated the instant there is any splash of fuel at the mouth of the nozzle.

This is independent of the vehicle's attitude. If there is any vacant space left in the tank, the fuel will flow in rather slowly due to the frequent cut-off at the nozzle as explained above. This is because the filler neck's diameter is small and, as the tank fills, some splashback is inevitable.

The space in the tank will not increase, nor will a pocket of air be magically exposed by raising the corner where the fuel-filler is located.

As a simple analogy, if you take a jerry can and tilt it any which way you can, there will be no means to boost its capacity.

Often, persistent triggering after the automatic cut-off causes spillage, which is drained away through an overflow near the filler - or worse, down the side of your car's bodywork, which could be damaging. In either situation, there is just pure wastage.

All those precious few millilitres of extra fuel you may manage to eventually fill is easier to gain by driving the car economically in the first place.

19 hours ago, therock said:

To add on, I've seen several cars across the border spending a good 15-20 minutes trying to squeeze in as much as possible. Hence causing a jam at the petrol station.
Just to inject another 1L or less?

Come on ...
SG: Most popular choice of Petrol 95 costs about $3.15 before discount
MY: Petrol 97 costs about 4.84 ringgit (~$1.52)
All that 20 minutes just to save $1.50 at max

Doesn't make sense