Live population debate on Channel 8 now

Scion

seriously I am not a financial analyst but I am trying to understand that bringing in more people will increase GDP, perhaps it does but what happens after 2030?

Still increase more to cater to GDP growth?

Not sure but speaking from average singaporean perspective, more people means more competition for jobs. More choices for employers mean lower or stagnant wages.

Means must save more for the future due to uncertainty of job and inflation. Like that can grow GDP?

So after 2030 must increase to 15mil as next target?

The poll itself is already too generalize, it says reduce but did not specific the number, so a 1% reduction is still a reduction... And it won't go against the people

seriously I am not a financial analyst but I am trying to understand that bringing in more people will increase GDP, perhaps it does but what happens after 2030?

Not sure but speaking from average singaporean perspective, more people means more competition for jobs. More choices for employers mean lower or stagnant wages.

Means must save more for the future due to uncertainty of job and inflation. Like that can grow GDP?

after 2030, those that proposed the plan already 1 leg in coffin liao...

leave the problem to the next generation bah....

secure bonuses base on GDP growth for the next 17 years first... other things talk later

This is the thing that i also don't understand. More ppl means more growth? Maybe my economics is bad, but i don't see the relations. How about other small countries that are enjoying strong growth with a small population?

India and China has the largest populations in the world.

They should have been economic power house long time ago.

And everyone should envy India and China standard of living.

And yet China try to "stifle" their own economic growth with one child policy. [laugh]

Edited by Kb27

India and China has the largest populations in the world.

They should have been economic power house long time ago.

And everyone should envy India and China standard of living.

And yet China try to "stifle" their own economic growth with one child policy. [laugh]

Yeah lor. KNN.

Warp logic

actually what is wanted is the good abled working adult who are able to catered to the growth and economy. Children and old people are prob excluded. Children has potential to contribute next time but the old are prob deem as liability to every gov...........

Quite right! There was a bloomberg article to quote ... http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-02-14/p...-crash-too.html

"The human-pyramid scheme works like this: Population growth, either through births or immigration, boosts demand for goods and services, increases borrowing, boosts tax revenue and adds to corporate profits. Everything seems grand and leaders take a bow. It

does population growth aka human-pyramid "appear" in other country to drive their gdp?

why dont usa and europe use this tool to drive up their gdp growth ... fast and furious?

after 2030, those that proposed the plan already 1 leg in coffin liao...

leave the problem to the next generation bah....

secure bonuses base on GDP growth for the next 17 years first... other things talk later

"More good years", for the coming 17 years, probably only for a selected group of people.

I am tired of reading on. Tok until saliva dry. The is real issue and displeasure from the ground. Either you like it or don't, yu got to live with it. Come 2016, it's your final decision. Enough is enough & time for a change.

More truth cannot be said, particularly the "Enough is enough".

Talk so much also no use de.....

Case in point and something to ponder aobut. Think about it, one of the reasons for building this upcoming high speed rail has definitely gotta do with the effort/way to increase the work force. For the meat directly related to this construction, we do not benefit much, compared to our counterpart, Msia. Those on top also know that SG is getting expensive, especially the rental portion. So this is really a brilliant solution.

As to why those on top need to keep increasing the workforce. If you watched the live debate last Friday on channel 8, I heard that so called minster said need to support the aging population, take care the aged, etc. It is not entirely false. But I think more is for tax purposes and more importantly, to keep the biggest Ponzi, aka CPF, in Asia going.

Maybe I am thinking too much. But cant be helped when I have so much time on hand, only having to work 3 hours a day. :P

actually what is wanted is the good abled working adult who are able to catered to the growth and economy. Children and old people are prob excluded. Children has potential to contribute next time but the old are prob deem as liability to every gov...........

Right, discard the old folks when they outlive their usefulness.

Hopefully, we never grow old and become like them.

i'm not angry with 6.9 million.

I angry with the fact that they took the easy way out to achieving 6.9 million.

Minister1: "How can we achieve 6.9 population? We need to grow GDP."

Minister2: "Enhance pro family policies and lower cost of living to attract young adults to start family faster and give birth more?

Minister3: "errr... ask ICA to chop more passport and give out more pass? we can save money on not introducing pro family policies. Only ICA need to work harder."

Minister1: " Great! We will go with option 2"

"More good years", for the coming 17 years, probably only for a selected group of people.

they keep saying its for the good of singapore.

so what defines singapore? pappies? FW+FT+PR+singaporean? or just singaporeans only?