Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 The good doctor has got some vaild points on town councils (TC) here Have my fair share of [shakehead] experiences with mine and frankly I am not very impressed. Not sure if the TC estate officers conduct rounds during their daily work but the maintenance was rather sloppy or not at all. Constantly giving feedback on defects, some of which are valid concerns, and many times I have to copy my e-mail to the MP before they take notice. Following-up on my feedbacks is another matter altogether [:|] From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...idents-20130221 Town councils need to be more accountable to residents Published on Feb 21, 2013 RECENTLY, the Sembawang Town Council settled a lawsuit brought by a man who became paralysed after falling along a walkway ("Walkway suit 'resolved'"; Feb 1). The town council will also be fined by the National Environment Agency for having mosquito larvae in several water tanks in two Woodlands blocks ("Mosquitoes breeding in water tanks of 2 Woodlands blocks"; Feb 9). Who pays for the settlement and the fine? If they are paid from town council funds, which come mainly from service and conservancy charges, does this mean the residents have to pay the penalty for the town council's lapses? The current system is clearly not effective in keeping town councils accountable to residents. I have given feedback to the West Coast Town Council on pest-infested flower beds, smelly bin chutes, unswept walkways and the dumping of commercial trash in common areas, but have seen few results. There is no sign of a systemic resolution of the issues I raised. How can residents be assured that town councils are doing their job, especially in areas we cannot see, such as the washing of water tanks? There are few customer satisfaction surveys carried out to rate the performance of town councils. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's call to review town council governance is timely. Hopefully it will empower residents and make town councils more accountable. Seto Hann Hoi (Dr) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 the town council claim from the contractor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 i thought the running of town council is out sorced to private contractors right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 the town council claim from the contractor? Back-to-back arrangement? Worst is both client and the contractor also kena... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 i thought the running of town council is out sorced to private contractors right? Out-sourced yes but the principal party to answer is still the owner/developer who engaged these contractors. Cannot siam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 Town councils are only interested in investment and making profits. Buy bonds and making investments using the "sinking funds", like in 2008 invest in Lehman-linked products. All thanks to former head of MND. If ppl question TC I think their staff will react like a headless chicken , they will check their SOP booklets and tell you nothing in it says accountability to the residents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 Residents elect the town council they want to manage the estate for them...so must choose wisely who is best to manage, and who is most accountable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 Town councils are only interested in investment and making profits. Buy bonds and making investments using the "sinking funds", like in 2008 invest in Lehman-linked products. All thanks to former head of MND. If ppl question TC I think their staff will react like a headless chicken , they will check their SOP booklets and tell you nothing in it says accountability to the residents. Bascially we residents pay for the service in the form of conservancy charges and they as the service provider has to manage the estate well by regular maintenance of the facilities within their jurisdiction. If I am not wrong they also receive grants from the government. And if these two sources of funds is still insufficient and they have to resort to financial investments then something is not right. Worst if these investments went up in smoke like in your quoted case. What is the recourse for us residents? Sue them in court via a class action suit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 The town council will also be fined by the National Environment Agency for having mosquito larvae in several water tanks in two Woodlands blocks ("Mosquitoes breeding in water tanks of 2 Woodlands blocks"; Feb 9). actually come to think of it, it's really bo liao Singapore so small you still need so many bodies to take care of daily stuffs? why NEA cannot be solely in charge? next time, will TC given power to build roads within their estates, and fined by LTA if they fail to repair the potholes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 i know the bangala cleaner quite well around my block, they are very friendly and hardworking. Some time they also complaint not enough worker and they have to work non stop. I believe TC will claim the contractor if they kena sue. Bascially we residents pay for the service in the form of conservancy charges and they as the service provider has to manage the estate well by regular maintenance of the facilities within their jurisdiction. If I am not wrong they also receive grants from the government. And if these two sources of funds is still insufficient and they have to resort to financial investments then something is not right. Worst if these investments went up in smoke like in your quoted case. What is the recourse for us residents? Sue them in court via a class action suit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 (edited) Out-sourced yes but the principal party to answer is still the owner/developer who engaged these contractors. Cannot siam. I'm not too sure on Environmental Public Health Act... But i know in alot of legislations there's always a sub section mentioning that although government bodies are require to bind to the Act, they are not liable for prosecution for an offence.. in this case is TC consider government or government body? i don't know. Edited February 21, 2013 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 i know the bangala cleaner quite well around my block, they are very friendly and hardworking. Some time they also complaint not enough worker and they have to work non stop. I believe TC will claim the contractor if they kena sue. Mine best . My block's cleaner loves to mumble to himself and sing songs but greets us when he sees us. Quite a character but does his job well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 I'm not too sure on Environmental Public Health Act... But i know in alot of legislations there's always a sub section mentioning that although government bodies are require to bind to the Act, they are not liable for prosecution for an offence.. in this case is TC consider government or government body? i don't know. No they are not part of the government but have to comply with the Town Council Act administered by MND I think. They can be fined. IIRC one of a big GRC town council was recently fined by NEA for mosquito breeding in one of their water tanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 Mine best . My block's cleaner loves to mumble to himself and sing songs but greets us when he sees us. Quite a character but does his job well you have maid? i heard some house wife also fall for them [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 1 KPI for town councils is how fast they can chase down late conservancy charges. I leave you to read between the lines and draw your own conclusions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 No they are not part of the government but have to comply with the Town Council Act administered by MND I think. They can be fined. IIRC one of a big GRC town council was recently fined by NEA for mosquito breeding in one of their water tanks. Think that was Sembawang GRC....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 21, 2013 Author Share February 21, 2013 you have maid? i heard some house wife also fall for them [laugh] Heng no have if not have to install CCTV everywhere liao... [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 21, 2013 Share February 21, 2013 Bascially we residents pay for the service in the form of conservancy charges and they as the service provider has to manage the estate well by regular maintenance of the facilities within their jurisdiction. If I am not wrong they also receive grants from the government. And if these two sources of funds is still insufficient and they have to resort to financial investments then something is not right. Worst if these investments went up in smoke like in your quoted case. What is the recourse for us residents? Sue them in court via a class action suit? Grants & subsidies according to Low Thia Khiang is questionable. Whatever gahment charge lower dan market price...it becomes a subsidy. Those ppl on top think they are the best of the best. They won't care what residents think. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...