Char 5th Gear May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 exactly i find it fishy that they announced this without financial clarity. What is the profit margin? How much $ is required by SG? Nobody wants another SMRT Nobody want another KTM ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 The issue is what's the contribution rate from each side? Malaysia lorSingapore dont waste much, at most we waste land. The one that waste is malaysia side for building over 1k stretch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 The issue is what's the contribution rate from each side? Come to this, SG definitely won't lose out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 The issue is what's the contribution rate from each side? Why contribute? Its malaysia want this project. Its really a fool thing to do by gahmen if they decide to have a stake in this project other than the jurong east station itself. This project is bound to make loss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Sign another waste $$$$$$ project. How much are they going to charge? If too ex, rather take plane. Who is the main stake holder? going by the MRT/LRT vs bus history, they may reduce the airlines' frequency for this sector. Either directly (by way of rights) or indirectly (ground fees). am sure the private investors (If any) in the HSR will put some pressure on the two govts to weaken the competition. Those bus companies will take another hit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 And you expect anyone who made that estimate actually takes the MRT regularly? They also said the delays are only a few mins. No i mean that 30 mins is referring to by taxi through AYE MRT from JE to changi would require 50 mins at least and provided that the train dont go for a break haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 on another note, wouldn't it be nice if we can load our cars on the HSR (or KTM currently) and travel up north together, then disembark, and carry on to drive our car? Rather than taking a rental car. can arrive in KL well rested for the 2nd leg of the journey and still have our own personal car to travel around in. cost wise will definitely cost more than petrol + toll, but it would be nice to have an option. i wouldn't mind if i can ship my car to Bangkok. Then fly there to pick it up and carry on the journey. Save two days on the road. From discussions with my friends, the sticky issue seems to be customs (both ends). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 on another note, wouldn't it be nice if we can load our cars on the HSR (or KTM currently) and travel up north together, then disembark, and carry on to drive our car? Rather than taking a rental car. can arrive in KL well rested for the 2nd leg of the journey and still have our own personal car to travel around in. cost wise will definitely cost more than petrol + toll, but it would be nice to have an option. i wouldn't mind if i can ship my car to Bangkok. Then fly there to pick it up and carry on the journey. Save two days on the road. From discussions with my friends, the sticky issue seems to be customs (both ends). I think the cost will be super wow cos basically ur car occupy one carriage. One carriage ticket could cost ten K. Better use trailer/container, cheaper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 I think the cost will be super wow cos basically ur car occupy one carriage. One carriage ticket could cost ten K. Better use trailer/container, cheaper according to F&F movie, one carriage can hold two cars LOL. yeah HSR will be super expensive (comparable to airfreight) but KTM will be more cost effective. trailer/container - car owner travelling together with cargo will be an issue. Unless several owners carpool while the "spare cars" go via trailer. Some do that for tracking in sepang. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 More than 90% office space occupation in Westgate http://www.cbre.com.sg/aboutus/mediacentre/mediaarchives/Pages/Office-development-Westgate-Tower-at-Jurong-East-achieves-occupancy-above-90-per-cent.aspx More huat liao jurong. Malaysia sure drool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 (edited) Some time back, it was planned that the rail will link from SG to China passing through MY, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and ended in Beijin. Then the '6.9 white' paper will comes true ... You can get 6.9 target without railway. We have the 2 causeways and Changi airport remember ? Anyway, KL-SG track is just part of the planned inter-Asia system the is driven by China. KL isn't the final stop. There will be more tracks lay in the coming years if the China-Thailand deal is signed and gets underway...Someday your child maybe able to make a trip all the way to Kunming by HSR. Edited May 8, 2015 by Wishcumstrue 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 Come to this, SG definitely won't lose out. hahahahahah .... so true! SG maybe will pay and charge Msia for every entry into singapore (like VEP) and that is long term income Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 (edited) Nobody want another KTM ! Which is why Najib deperately wants Singapore to be onboard. Ask any Malaysian would they spend an expensive HSR return ticket from KL to Johor or take their long-distance coach? And who are the target customers ? Existing budget airline segments or for average folks ? In certain finacial sense and to avoid another KTM story, Singapore and Singaporean ridership will be key for HSR long term viability. Edited May 8, 2015 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 (edited) You can get 6.9 target without railway. We have the 2 causeways and Changi airport remember ? Anyway, KL-SG track is just part of the planned inter-Asia system the is driven by China. KL isn't the final stop. There will be more tracks lay in the coming years if the China-Thailand deal is signed and gets underway...Someday your child maybe able to make a trip all the way to Kunming by HSR. It will be nice of all the way to Suchou or Chowchou ... Suchou/Chowchou teochew ah niah swee ..... Edited May 8, 2015 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 hahahahahah .... so true! SG maybe will pay and charge Msia for every entry into singapore (like VEP) and that is long term income The way I see, If SG can expand into Malaysia, why not? If I am a FT working in Iskandar, I may choose to stay in SG. Local talent also can work in Iskandar, so why not? HSR will become like the regular BMW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count_duku 4th Gear May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 HSR certainly won't be targeting only existing passengers. By then, it will be entirely possible to build a factory in the Klang Valley or Cyberjaya, tapping into the KL talent pool and have a corporate office in Singapore or vice versa. The managers can travel a few times a week to and fro, even daily. Similar models in Tokyo-Yokohama metropolis, Beijing and Tianjin TEDA, Shanghai and the Delta Economic Zone. US still relies on flights, wasting a lot of time in the security line. Though the SG-MY relationship needs more management, given we are after all two separate political entities. Not if it takes 2 hours to cross the causeway. On one hand they are building the HSR to move more people across the countries quickly. On the other hand, they only open a fraction of the customs booths so that you get to queue 2 hours to get to the other side. If both countries are sincere about this, they should spend the money now and open up all the customs booths, build more booths so that you can drive across the causeway in 30 mins no matter if it is weekday, or weekend or long weekend. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 The way I see, If SG can expand into Malaysia, why not? If I am a FT working in Iskandar, I may choose to stay in SG. Local talent also can work in Iskandar, so why not? HSR will become like the regular BMW. possible, look at europe where the bullet train ferries hundreds of workers from country to country to and fro work everyday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear May 8, 2015 Share May 8, 2015 possible, look at europe where the bullet train ferries hundreds of workers from country to country to and fro work everyday. More people take the HSR = Less jam at 2nd link = Better for drivers. :) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...