Viceroymenthol 6th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 http://www.business-standard.com/article/e...21700123_1.html Nayanima Basu | New Delhi February 17, 2013 Last Updated at 12:17 IST Govt decries CECA violation by Singapore The country has imposed restrictions on inflow of foreign workers, which is going to affect Indians working there Those of you planning to make it big in Singapore might be in for a setback. Singapore recently made certain changes to its Employment Pass Framework law to reduce inflow of foreign workers significantly to create more job opportunities for local professionals. The move is expected to impact even those Indians working there at present across various sectors. The amendments, made on a proposal by its Ministry of Manpower, has armed the Singapore government to bring down the foreign share of the total workforce to around one-third while encouraging employers to invest in productivity in return for incentives in the form of tax breaks. The move came as a recent Singapore's policy paper predicted that its population would grow by 30 per cent to 6.9 million by 2030, with immigrants making up nearly half that figure. The paper led to demonstrations in Singapore yesterday, a rare happening in the country, in protest against rise in immigrants. The step has irked India as the new law does not give India a preferential treatment incorporated in the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CECA) between the two countries, operational since 2005. This stance by the Singapore Government is expected to affect Indians working as middle-level managers, executives and technicians. Speculations are rife that India might take up the issue with World Trade Organization ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 2,00,000 non-resident Indians , 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 2,00,000 non-resident Indians , 2mil? maybe 200k i can believe .. but 2mil?? zhun bo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 In the first place who was the smart alec from our side who opted to elect a clause in the CECA that gives India preferential treatment when it comes to hiring foreigners? And even so, how on earth does giving preferential treatment becomes synonymous with owing them a livelihood? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 2mil? maybe 200k i can believe .. but 2mil?? zhun bo he put an extra comma but forget to put a 0 lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 he put an extra comma but forget to put a 0 lah alamak ya hor. i also c--k eye. lolz! paisehhhhh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 Har? ello.. why the hell should i give you preferential treatment??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 he put an extra comma but forget to put a 0 lah That makes is 2mil... where got so high? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 卖国求荣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 this one may alleviate the jam along serangoon road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 Pai seh, my maths no good. So 2,00,000 is how many ar?! Sillypore really cannot make it, the number of different foreigners from different countries really a lot!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 That makes is 2mil... where got so high? yahor, shld be extra comma only, the 0 is correct [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 Pai seh, my maths no good. So 2,00,000 is how many ar?! Sillypore really cannot make it, the number of different foreigners from different countries really a lot!!! That's 2 lakh. If you don't know how much is 1 lakh, look here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lakh And you will know why they put the comma this way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaka 1st Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 Why can't they just behaves in others country? Or just STFU ... They r trouble lot wherever they go!! More here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drin...ns-4108070.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 This prove that you all did no deal with India... (though I only deal business with them only once.. hehe) they like to use Lakh... and the way of written is also different. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lakh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 CECA notes can be found here. http://www.fta.gov.sg/ceca/ceca_india_infokit.pdf It stated movement of natural persons, faciliating business persons moving into Singapore for work purposes. It didn't say anything about giving them unlimited quota of people coming in to work in Singaporean companies. They can come into Singapore to work, if they get accepted to work here with the valid passes. These fellas should find a different tree to bark up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 I hope this will mean I get to see more local fresh grads in my bank then the usual indians and pinoys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear February 18, 2013 Share February 18, 2013 last time we take pink IC also no ceremony leh.. NS for stinkies.. jobs for pinoys~! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...