Hdb flat renovation

Ysc3

On 11/11/2016 at 4:46 AM, Jamesc said:

Not only HDB, you live in private condos

also can get lousy neighbours.

Just richer lousy neighbours. 

Heard private condo neighbours usually are mostly foreigners de?!

On 11/11/2016 at 5:23 AM, 13177 said:

Heard private condo neighbours usually are mostly foreigners de?!

Unfortunately for me yes.

One from the land of no more 1000 rupees

and the other from the want to take over

the world country. Everyday I pray for the 

young ladies from Korea and Japan with

the too little clothes and borrow sugar and

honey but the terrible ladies never come.

Maybe my expectation of too little clothes

is just too high. So I lowered my expectation

no clothes also never mind. But still no luck.

On 11/10/2016 at 7:48 AM, SGCMmaomao said:

Nervous.. Next year taking keys liao.. Bought a 2-rm flat.. My brother told me not to look for ID, straight away go find carpenter.. cost cheaper..  

Getting more n more anxious, hope the renovation wont take all my saving away :ouch-it-hurts:

I'll start thinking of stupid stuff like " when to buy bed or fridge? what if cannot fit through the door how? alot of worries.. I think I'm just worrying for nothing...

For modern HDB, door widths are pretty standard. think around 1.2 to 1.5m wide. Just measure when you get your keys. Also, most furniture will fit through the doors. I think TV more than 70 inches cannot go into the lift or something like that. Fridge are alright since most is not deeper than 1.5m. Only thing to take note is if you are building a shoe rack in the living room, in front of the front door, make sure the gap is wide enough to move things through.

Kitchen appliances can buy just before the carpentry as they need to know the dimensions for your oven, sink, hob and hood or the fridge.

On 11/11/2016 at 5:17 AM, 13177 said:

If your block is ghetto and if your reno too stand out , you might attract unnecessary attention that all your neighbours think that you are very rich.

My unit already attracted attention before the reno (this is my second reno in three years) and it seems like the whole neighbourhood already knows my place was being renovated recently. Even the helper at the coffeeshop in the next block knows. No issues in the three years i've lived here as it's a pretty small neighbourhood and i'm one of the familiar faces.

On 11/11/2016 at 6:54 AM, Myxilplix said:

My unit already attracted attention before the reno (this is my second reno in three years) and it seems like the whole neighbourhood already knows my place was being renovated recently. Even the helper at the coffeeshop in the next block knows. No issues in the three years i've lived here as it's a pretty small neighbourhood and i'm one of the familiar faces.

Second reno in three years? Why so ah? Lol.

at first I wonder why maomao so stressed on the new BTO.

After people mentioned measure this and that, I remembered the corridor saga. :D

On 11/11/2016 at 6:58 AM, Jamesc said:

On 11/10/2016 at 9:28 AM, 13177 said:

You dont scare your neighbours. Lol. Nowadays where got such people go around introducing yourself to your neighbours de?!

Not really intro, say hi, i stay next to u.. pass them my homecook cook if i'm cooking etc~ It's easier for me to be nice rather than b nasty.. Cos b bad very taxing de, u will scare ppl do bad things back on u~~ hahaha.. be good no need to scare anything..  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 11/10/2016 at 2:40 PM, Kxbc said:

hope you don't get psycho neighbour. I used to have one psycho old spinster neighbour (imagine quite not good looking, frizzy hair, upside down smile 100% of the time, slam doors, unreasonable). all her immediate neighbours cannot tahan her. lucky i move away liao.

That's one of the patten I scare off.. tiam tiam slam door or curse n swear at ppl for no apparent reason [hur]

On 11/11/2016 at 2:50 AM, Sunny said:

no problem bro

once a while chia them eat fried carrot sticks...

[thumbsup]

Cannot praise u liao~ over quota [laugh]  Ya loh ya loh.. bake cake or fried stuff.. All can share~

On 11/11/2016 at 7:03 AM, 13177 said:

Second reno in three years? Why so ah? Lol.

One basic one when i moved in - Re-tiled toilet, repaint, replace wiring, new doors/gate.

Recently one major one changing the layout of the house - Wall hacking, new toilet again, full carpentry etc

On 11/11/2016 at 7:56 AM, SGCMmaomao said:

Not really intro, say hi, i stay next to u.. pass them my homecook cook if i'm cooking etc~ It's easier for me to be nice rather than b nasty.. Cos b bad very taxing de, u will scare ppl do bad things back on u~~ hahaha.. be good no need to scare anything..  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Wa, you so good even pass them your homecook food? I want a neighbour like you. Lol.

On 11/11/2016 at 8:12 AM, Myxilplix said:

One basic one when i moved in - Re-tiled toilet, repaint, replace wiring, new doors/gate.

Recently one major one changing the layout of the house - Wall hacking, new toilet again, full carpentry etc

You are simply rich sia. Lol. The first reno you have done not consider basic lo. Replace wiring and retiled toilet. But isnt it very troublesome to do a major reno at a short period of 3 years? Having to move your furniture away so troublesome.

Edited by 13177

On 11/11/2016 at 8:23 AM, 13177 said:

You are simply rich sia. Lol. The first reno you have done not consider basic lo. Replace wiring and retiled toilet. But isnt it very troublesome to do a major reno at a short period of 3 years? Having to move your furniture away so troublesome.

GF moving in so bo pian need to rework the house layout for more wardrobe/storage space and a larger kitchen. Most of the furniture and appliances were sold on carousell or given away to friends/family. I only kept my storage bed/mattress and some crockery/pots/pans temporarily at my parents' place during the reno.

I'm not rich, just a case where the latest reno and outfitting costs are being shared between two people instead of just me alone. We wanted to move in together and worked out that it would be cheaper to renovate/refit than rent an apartment for two years and let my place sit empty. Plus it will probably add some value to the flat.

On 11/11/2016 at 8:59 AM, Myxilplix said:

GF moving in so bo pian need to rework the house layout for more wardrobe/storage space and a larger kitchen. Most of the furniture and appliances were sold on carousell or given away to friends/family. I only kept my storage bed/mattress and some crockery/pots/pans temporarily at my parents' place during the reno.

I'm not rich, just a case where the latest reno and outfitting costs are being shared between two people instead of just me alone. We wanted to move in together and worked out that it would be cheaper to renovate/refit than rent an apartment for two years and let my place sit empty. Plus it will probably add some value to the flat.

If have the budget, it is better to reno your existing house, esp you like the place. Costs shared between two people indeed much more easier. Lol.

When I purchased my current place, I had the wall of the bed room hacked away to create a bigger space for the living room.

Now, I need a small study room so I decide to "reclaim" back part of the living room space by partitioning it with a sliding door.  The same type which you would use for a HDB balcony, but smaller in total width.  The width of this room is only about 3 metres.

Does anyone know who much would it cost to install such a sliding door (and frame)?

The top of the sliding door would probably not be able to reach the ceiling.  Some minor work may need to be done to cover the top of the door frame to the ceiling.

Edited by Albeniz

  On 6/11/2020 at 12:19 AM, Jtb said:

abt $1500 for 4 glass doors & $1000 for acrylic 4 panel

Expand  

Thanks for the great info!

My children have been running around in the house and I am hoping to install a partition so that I can sit in a quieter area to do my work.