Booked by LTA 3 times in 3 months

AlanZ

Quite unfair

I saw many Malaysian plate vehicle in Singapore with darken very very dark window on our spore roads

How come allowed when our own cars are not allowed

Sticker licence plate that comply to the lettering size and spacing, and White lettering on black background is 101% legal.

It those who purposely use a smaller sticker font size, or place the sticker off-center will get summon.

LTA do no restrict on the plate material....only restrict on the colour.

You sure sticker plate is approved, despite having correct font size and spacing?

if you realised that those whole piece acrylic licence plate are technically make from 'sticker cut-out' at the reverse surface of the acrylic plate.

To stretch the 'sticker' analogy further, the metal stamped licence plate, is technically a piece of laminated sticker sheet over the metal base plate.

Just visit the licence plate workshop, if you wish to clear your doubt.

Anyway, i am not the law nor LTA. But in my belief n experience, plain sticker number plate( without acrylic or metal baseplate) done accordingly to the lettering dimension are legal, provided its pasted at the assigned licence plate location on the car.

If I recalled correctly, a few hit and run drivers were caught when their licence plates fell off. There's a case that happened in chinatown which killed an old lady. The police tracked the driver down bcoz his licence plate were on the road.

So IMHO, I don't think sticker plates are allowed at all.

• Dislike 1

Sticker type definitely not approve, colours, fonts and size must compliance with guidelines, on metal or acrylic material bolted on by screws and nuts.

Lic plates are for them to spot u, not for us or other people to admire.

I'm on acrylic stick-on type, definitely illegal but convinient and easier to install, I got the numbers plot and cut out, with a few spare white/yellow acrylic boards. Thanks to ts for telling us got caught 3 times, this coming March inspection, I will have to revert back to stock plates. Was thinking of hionging, but on second thoughs they are on the ball, don't play play with $$$. Good luck ts.

Edited by KaKiLang

if you realised that those whole piece acrylic licence plate are technically make from 'sticker cut-out' at the reverse surface of the acrylic plate.

To stretch the 'sticker' analogy further, the metal stamped licence plate, is technically a piece of laminated sticker sheet over the metal base plate.

Anyway, i am not the law nor LTA. But in my belief n experience, plain sticker number plate( without acrylic or metal baseplate) done accordingly to the lettering dimension are legal, provided its pasted at the assigned licence plate location on the car.

Bro, definitely, chop and confirm must be bolts and screwed on, no compromising. Did asked tp before, I kenna 500bucks b4 for esos, whole line from extractor to tip. Escorted back to sin ming like vip. If i got caught again it will be court case donnu how much $$$. Ts small matter kpkb and need to clarify. I also diam diam to myself.

confirm fail

cause its 3D

go get a flat type with correct font type and size

should be ok

flat chrome also cannot le..

recently kena fined for it when i passed inspection in september 2012

Provided the numerals are not easily changed?

I started this thread simply to share my experience n to check with more experienced

bros here on things I am not clear.

E.g, will I receive another summon if I have just received 1? How long is the interval?

How fast do LTA normally send their summons out? Or they can do it as late as they want?

What are the different available options for legal number plates besides the original ones.

I did not start to thread to kpkb, as I pay my fines willingly. I have also reverted my number plate to the original type.

If that's your real intention and surely coming to this forum is not the solution. You are asking forummers for the procedures at LTA. Most would be able to share their personal experience and at best indicative. Your questions are BEST answered by LTA cos even if a bro were to say that "I have been fined and didn't receive... I kenna twice", that means nothing to your intended question (if the stated is so).

Coming into the forum and saying LTA not clear, LTA not giving leeway or inflexible AND then saying that you are not KPKB is a little rich of you. If you don't wanna be judged or feels aggrieved perhaps stop judging LTA by your own standards.

Hi Alanz surprised to see u post here.. Anyway I think is u quite suay keep kana caught.. Singapore is a biased country anyway.. U drive on the road everyday u notice.. U see those conti cars dark tinted window film until u can't even see inside and illegal number plates too.. How many times they get stop? So far never hear my friends get caught..

But better change ur number plate la think u kana marked already by LTA.. Ur luck not very good.. Anyway haha my tinted film and number plate also all failed.. Lol.. U post here sure kana bombard by the ppl here cause most of the ppl here follow the rules..

Hi Alanz surprised to see u post here.. Anyway I think is u quite suay keep kana caught.. Singapore is a biased country anyway.. U drive on the road everyday u notice.. U see those conti cars dark tinted window film until u can't even see inside and illegal number plates too.. How many times they get stop? So far never hear my friends get caught..

But better change ur number plate la think u kana marked already by LTA.. Ur luck not very good.. Anyway haha my tinted film and number plate also all failed.. Lol.. U post here sure kana bombard by the ppl here cause most of the ppl here follow the rules..

Those conti car always get caught. My area here got 2 bmw 5 series and a 7 series always get caught. Just that they keep installing again. Also got one honda accord keep installing after he get caught. You just have to persist. Sometimes they will just give up catching you.

confirm fail

cause its 3D

go get a flat type with correct font type and size

should be ok

3D plates are not illegal. Those old cars have black letters on a yellow or white background. Those for sure pass.

Yo JX,

Long time no see.. How's life?

Baby big big liao?

kum lan thread.. really.. self pawn + self bang wall + self shoot foot thread..

although others already summed up the thread, i feel i have to post to justify my time wasted reading this [laugh]

is it normal for people to tell us stories and to be run down by the forum bus here? Why would anyone else talk about themselves?

If the thread is not interesting, I would just move on to others that interest me.

Think of things this way - next time you want to do/say something, run it through the MyCarForum test - do you think you'd get flamed if you related what you did? If yes, don't even do it at all......