Civil Service Job Interview

Little_prince

jialat. then i hong gan liaoz. [laugh]

typically from interview to offer letter take how long?

within a week will call u to offer i think.

Why would anyone wanna be in civil service when the private sector beckons

it has got its merits..

for some, they just take it easy. No need promotion but got free time to moonlight or play forex etc. I know of a few. They may only make 5-8 K in their day job but side income can be another 5K. No stress and no worries. And every year still got at least 3 mths bonus (incl AWS). If GDP is good, bonus also more (even though they did nothing to contribute to GDP growth).

For others, they just love to be cheng hu lang. Can set policies, ppl have to suck up to u. Can talk big and no one will dare challenge u. But of course, these are also the ppl that will be very busy paw-ing their own boss too

civil service would be good for wives with children.

easy to get childcare and emergency leave.

in real world, depends on your company, esp SME can be very hard -_-

civil service would be good for wives with children.

easy to get childcare and emergency leave.

in real world, depends on your company, esp SME can be very hard -_-

Usually SME very limited manpower, and many times is one-man operation. So if they allow you to anytime take leave or take long leave, who is going to do the work? Unlike civic service sector, big organization with many many employees, surely they can allow you to take leave.

Ya........ the one assist only listen to phone calls and take down notes which in turn, left it in your in-tray. Once you come back from leave ... [dizzy]

I went before more than 10 years ago.

Memory a bit hazy

distinctly remember they put me in a room

asked me to write a compo on a given topic

then final interview by a kwai lan asst secretary

i was quite kwai lan in my answers to her also

got offered, but i rejected

jialat. then i hong gan liaoz. [laugh]

typically from interview to offer letter take how long?

why join CS? it's really a career limiting move unless u just want a slow pace life with no worries.

BTW, every dick or harry is called director. Simi assistant director, senior assistant director, senior deputy director....simi lan also director. Fresh grad with 1 year exp can also be manager.

why join CS? it's really a career limiting move unless u just want a slow pace life with no worries.

BTW, every dick or harry is called director. Simi assistant director, senior assistant director, senior deputy director....simi lan also director. Fresh grad with 1 year exp can also be manager.

CS meets the aspirations of the young singaporeans what... all want to be manager from day 1.. then wanna be director before 30 yr old. :D

actually the directors there all report to secretaries.

1st/2nd/3rd assistant secretaries (parliament and permanent)

LTK already said they read the road map upside down

so structure also upside down

Edited by Enye

Nevermind about the title, pay is more important.

hi guys.

anyone working in civil service/statboard?

can share some ideas on the working enviroment/culture? as well as the interview process/ commonly asked questions?

thanks!

working environment is: wo cho bo cho tan yit ho....

I sign on in SAF, only one guy interview me and got the job immediately. [laugh] Next thing he ask was got VCD to borrow........... [laugh]

your job prior to saf is VCD salesman? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

civil service got president and vice-president titles or not? if not can ask for it, stylo!

the other one with president title got few millions $ paycheck one leh, unless can get similar lah, else sure tio suan if kena compared ...

Their directors also act as secretaries......taking minutes of a minsiterial meeting too.

Some kena arrow go do vote counting during the recent 2011 elections.

hahahahaha.......... [laugh]

I was offered Senior Assistant Director with 2 yrs exp. Stylo or not?

But it is director with no one under me at all. [laugh]

stylo no use, must be good enough to justify hiring a chio mei mei work under u /work under your table or whatever ... [:p]

working environment is: wo cho bo cho tan yit ho....

cannot like that lah, very boring one .... die die must do some paper pushing lah, newspaper or toilet paper u ownself decide lor...

Ya......other than thier immediate boss, they report to this "PS" as well.

My wife always say PS this PS that. Like very scare like that.

I dont give a damn who the hell PS is...........tell me for what ? [laugh]