Wyfitms Twincharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 jialat. then i hong gan liaoz. typically from interview to offer letter take how long? within a week will call u to offer i think. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Why would anyone wanna be in civil service when the private sector beckons it has got its merits.. for some, they just take it easy. No need promotion but got free time to moonlight or play forex etc. I know of a few. They may only make 5-8 K in their day job but side income can be another 5K. No stress and no worries. And every year still got at least 3 mths bonus (incl AWS). If GDP is good, bonus also more (even though they did nothing to contribute to GDP growth). For others, they just love to be cheng hu lang. Can set policies, ppl have to suck up to u. Can talk big and no one will dare challenge u. But of course, these are also the ppl that will be very busy paw-ing their own boss too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 civil service would be good for wives with children. easy to get childcare and emergency leave. in real world, depends on your company, esp SME can be very hard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 civil service would be good for wives with children. easy to get childcare and emergency leave. in real world, depends on your company, esp SME can be very hard Usually SME very limited manpower, and many times is one-man operation. So if they allow you to anytime take leave or take long leave, who is going to do the work? Unlike civic service sector, big organization with many many employees, surely they can allow you to take leave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Usually SME very limited manpower, and many times is one-man operation. So if they allow you to anytime take leave or take long leave, who is going to do the work? Unlike civic service sector, big organization with many many employees, surely they can allow you to take leave. Ya........ the one assist only listen to phone calls and take down notes which in turn, left it in your in-tray. Once you come back from leave ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I went before more than 10 years ago. Memory a bit hazy distinctly remember they put me in a room asked me to write a compo on a given topic then final interview by a kwai lan asst secretary i was quite kwai lan in my answers to her also got offered, but i rejected Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 jialat. then i hong gan liaoz. typically from interview to offer letter take how long? why join CS? it's really a career limiting move unless u just want a slow pace life with no worries. BTW, every dick or harry is called director. Simi assistant director, senior assistant director, senior deputy director....simi lan also director. Fresh grad with 1 year exp can also be manager. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 why join CS? it's really a career limiting move unless u just want a slow pace life with no worries. BTW, every dick or harry is called director. Simi assistant director, senior assistant director, senior deputy director....simi lan also director. Fresh grad with 1 year exp can also be manager. CS meets the aspirations of the young singaporeans what... all want to be manager from day 1.. then wanna be director before 30 yr old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 (edited) actually the directors there all report to secretaries. 1st/2nd/3rd assistant secretaries (parliament and permanent) LTK already said they read the road map upside down so structure also upside down Edited February 8, 2013 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 why join CS? it's really a career limiting move unless u just want a slow pace life with no worries. BTW, every dick or harry is called director. Simi assistant director, senior assistant director, senior deputy director....simi lan also director. Fresh grad with 1 year exp can also be manager. Nevermind about the title, pay is more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 (edited) *deleted* Edited February 8, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 hi guys. anyone working in civil service/statboard? can share some ideas on the working enviroment/culture? as well as the interview process/ commonly asked questions? thanks! working environment is: wo cho bo cho tan yit ho.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I sign on in SAF, only one guy interview me and got the job immediately. Next thing he ask was got VCD to borrow........... your job prior to saf is VCD salesman? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 civil service got president and vice-president titles or not? if not can ask for it, stylo! the other one with president title got few millions $ paycheck one leh, unless can get similar lah, else sure tio suan if kena compared ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Their directors also act as secretaries......taking minutes of a minsiterial meeting too. Some kena arrow go do vote counting during the recent 2011 elections. hahahahaha.......... actually the directors there all report to secretaries. 1st/2nd/3rd assistant secretaries (parliament and permanent) LTK already said they read the road map upside down so structure also upside down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 I was offered Senior Assistant Director with 2 yrs exp. Stylo or not? But it is director with no one under me at all. stylo no use, must be good enough to justify hiring a chio mei mei work under u /work under your table or whatever ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 working environment is: wo cho bo cho tan yit ho.... cannot like that lah, very boring one .... die die must do some paper pushing lah, newspaper or toilet paper u ownself decide lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 8, 2013 Share February 8, 2013 Ya......other than thier immediate boss, they report to this "PS" as well. My wife always say PS this PS that. Like very scare like that. I dont give a damn who the hell PS is...........tell me for what ? actually the directors there all report to secretaries. 1st/2nd/3rd assistant secretaries (parliament and permanent) LTK already said they read the road map upside down so structure also upside down ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...