Columbian78 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 2:37 AM, RadX said: Offer COE rebates to families with special-needs members As a mother of an autistic child, taking my son for long rides on MRT trains or public buses is a challenge due to his heightened sensory sensitivity to noise and crowds. On long rides, he will often fuss or, worse, suffer a full meltdown to the annoyance of other commuters. I am sorry that her child is autistic. However, i would like to ask if it is safe for herself, her child and other road users if she is driving alone with her child, and no one is helping to take care of her child when he has a full meltdown in the car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 (edited) come 2030 ... got car also no road for you to drive ... top speed 40kmph taxi got taxi problem car got car problem bus got bus problem mrt got mrt problem walking & cycling also got problem lolz On 2/7/2013 at 3:13 AM, Beehive3783 said: The only advantage that car gives over taxi is the ability to go out at any time of the day, and go anywhere that roads can get you. You don't get that privilege with taxis. Edited February 7, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 I suggest the lady to take up taxi license, so she can have a car to drive around as well as to earn at the same time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 some people are real losers .... NO MONEY DON"T BUY CAR, simple logic also cannot get into their brains ... *sigh* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 all these farkers cannot buy used car ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 2:52 AM, 13177 said: How VW and BMW abused the CEVS? I got use " " hor, Because of CEVS, they are able to sell their car at a much lower price and in the end push the COE higher. What I think is what ever rebate given should not affect the COE. Else it really defeat the purpose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:15 AM, Wt_know said: come 2030 ... got car also no road for you to drive ... top speed 40kmph taxi got taxi problem car got car problem bus got bus problem mrt got mrt problem walking & cycling also got problem lolz I hope I can still drive without encountering jam in ulu areas when 2030 comes. Heck, maybe I won't even have a car by then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:10 AM, Wt_know said: wahahaha most car buyer you ask, the top reason/excuse/justification to buy a car is taking taxi is expensive "per trip" and hard to get ... LMAO as if car no need to pay petrol, parking, road tax, insurance, erp, maintenance, etc ... Reason for buying a car thought is because convenience and not due to taking taxi is expensive?! I agreed taking taxi is not cheap, but if compared with owning a car. Confirmed owning car is more expensive than taking taxi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:15 AM, Columbian78 said: I am sorry that her child is autistic. However, i would like to ask if it is safe for herself, her child and other road users if she is driving alone with her child, and no one is helping to take care of her child when he has a full meltdown in the car? I am sorry to hear her kid is autistic. Agree that if her kid is unpredictable, she should arrange for supervised conveyance of her kid. Otherwise the vehicle could become a projectile causing harm to road property or pededstrians. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:18 AM, Mockngbrd said: all these farkers cannot buy used car ar? Then they will start saying used car high maintenance, this that blah blah... Take cab still the best... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:20 AM, Deckbuild said: Then they will start saying used car high maintenance, this that blah blah... Take cab still the best... wait take cab they will say they get molested Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 (edited) ah q thinking ma to justify the purchase of a car taxi trip ... ie: $10-$15 per trip then got midnite charge ... got peak hour charge ... got traffic jam waiting charge ... then ah q calculated parking + petrol = $6 for the same trip ... it's cheaper then ask about car price leh? ah q said with car can go out more often ... more trips average down .. per trip still cheaper ... lolz say car can be used for 10 years ... but 3rd year backside itchy change car liao On 2/7/2013 at 3:19 AM, 13177 said: Reason for buying a car thought is because convenience and not due to taking taxi is expensive?! I agreed taking taxi is not cheap, but if compared with owning a car. Confirmed owning car is more expensive than taking taxi. Edited February 7, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:18 AM, Deckbuild said: I got use " " hor, Because of CEVS, they are able to sell their car at a much lower price and in the end push the COE higher. What I think is what ever rebate given should not affect the COE. Else it really defeat the purpose. Lower? Like i said before, not much difference to the net price. After the rebate the price still so expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 I live near to an MRT station. I take bus to Orchard road and drive to work (quite far and unpredictable hours) I have contemplated taking taxis and trains. I did that for a couple of years when working in the CBD. No car - no car lifestyle - shop at places near MRT etc. Got car - go a bit further, out of the way lifestyle. Can adjust one. Take bus, change bus, also can reach places - just need to come out earlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:20 AM, Mockngbrd said: wait take cab they will say they get molested Walk they say get harassed by bicycles? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 On 2/7/2013 at 3:21 AM, Wt_know said: ah q thinking ma to justify the purchase of a car taxi trip ... ie: $10-$15 per trip then got midnite charge ... got peak hour charge ... got traffic jam waiting charge ... then ah q calculated parking + petrol = $6 for the same trip ... it's cheaper then ask about car price leh? ah q said with car can go out more often ... more trips average down .. per trip still cheaper ... lolz say car can be used for 10 years ... but 3rd year backside itchy change car liao Lol, really ah q! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 One more thing - please bring back the closed bidding and make the bidders bid via atm/online transaction for the full COE amount. No money, borrow and put inside the bank account. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kreampuff 1st Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 I think she has a point. People with disabled members in their family are far more in need of private transport than families with multiple children. As I don't have either in my family, it doesn't affect me whether there is COE adjustment for either group, but if there are to be any concessions for certain groups of people, I would say help those with disabled before helping those with kids. Luckily for most of us, disabled people are already quite rare - any monetary impact or additional burden is likely to be minimal. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...