The Grandmaster

Jman888

Anyone watched this?

pc_189x272.jpg

If you are expecting Donnie Yen style of Ip man, you can forget about watching this. Donnie Yen kungfu background is the extreme opposite of Wing Chun.

The fighting scene probably only about 15% of the whole movie, and it is not all about Ip man, and it is also a love/romance story....

and for those who know Wong Kar Wai's movie, you are allow to sleep in the cinema in between the show but please dun snore [laugh] [laugh]

Wong Kar Wai movies always got Tony Leung as lead... and can be very draggy..

i doze off for 10 min, dun think i missed anything.

i was surprise to see malay kakis watching the show, but when they went to toilet after the show, all curse like crazy [laugh]

verdict - 8 out of 10 were cursing [:(] the other 2 were probably having a good sleep [laugh]

Wong Kar Wai movies always got Tony Leung as lead... and can be very draggy..

but if you tell ppl you go watch his movie.. ppl place you in high regards.

not i say one. Wong Jin in one of his movie say one [laugh]

Dont know leh. For me, Donnie Yen's face has been ingrained as Ip Man.

Tony Leung give me the broody thinker moody feel. So not sure if it will be weird watching him as a martial arts expert.

Anyone watched this?

If you are expecting Donnie Yen style of Ip man, you can forget about watching this. Donnie Yen kungfu background is the extreme opposite of Wing Chun.

The fighting scene probably only about 15% of the whole movie, and it is not all about Ip man, and it is also a love/romance story....

and for those who know Wong Kar Wai's movie, you are allow to sleep in the cinema in between the show but please dun snore [laugh] [laugh]

No wonder Tony Leung says he doesnt want to do Grandmaster 2....

he probably fell asleep too acting in it...

Plan to watch during the CNY week, but fighting scene probably only about 15% of the whole movie ar? Looks like i can give it a missed liao. Dont want to fall asleep in the cinema. [:p]

No wonder Tony Leung says he doesnt want to do Grandmaster 2....

he probably fell asleep too acting in it...

the 3 main actors/actress were trained in their respective martial art for 2-3 years, zhang zheng even went for competition. The movie took 8 years from research to complete.

Tony Leung part think less than 50% of the movie.

what kinda martial arts film only has 15% of fight scenes...

This the one that tony leung was badly injured and so exhausted that he has to take a long break from filming? If so, then really wasted his efforts with such poor review of the show..

what kinda martial arts film only has 15% of fight scenes... Wong Kar Wai :D :D

This the one that tony leung was badly injured and so exhausted that he has to take a long break from filming? If so, then really wasted his efforts with such poor review of the show..

Will still watch, but on media player friendly version.

respect a bit, it took 8 years to produce and the actors trained very hard hor [:p]

what kinda martial arts film only has 15% of fight scenes...

So it's more of an Arty Farty movie lah.

I prefer Tony Leung in Infernal Affairs and Lust Caution. The latter really bring out the beast in him!

respect a bit, it took 8 years to produce and the actors trained very hard hor [:p]

I show respect by staying awake throughout the show..

Hope I don't commit too much...

Dont know leh. For me, Donnie Yen's face has been ingrained as Ip Man.

Tony Leung give me the broody thinker moody feel. So not sure if it will be weird watching him as a martial arts expert.

the story of ip man in this movie is a bit different from the Donnie Yen ip man, cos it shows that the wife never go to HK with him. We are not sure which version is correct. This one also show that his 2nd child was a girl who died of starvation during the war.