Mustank Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 SMART move, they can look after your kids while both of you continue work ..... errrrrr....... what if your in-law has only one daughter ... ahhhhh....thats the trick my wife wanted kids, not me , so posed the challenge to my wife: who will take care of the kids? clearly my in laws could not for 3 reasons: 1) they quarrel every other day 2) they are not educated, cant teach shiit to the kids except for some cantonese expletives 3) they are physically not as ok as my parents for me, i dont care whether it is my parents or in laws who take care of kids but whoever who does so must: 1) Willing; and 2) Able ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 I'm married with child and the three of us are living with my parents in-law during weekdays. During weekends, we go back to my parents' place. BTO not ready, bo pian leh. Can't afford resale also. It's all the garment's fault!!!!! aiyah, before my bto came, i also do that what Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 aiyah, before my bto came, i also do that what me too..stayed with in laws before flat ready.. wah why so many stay with in laws and not own parents argh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 aiyah, before my bto came, i also do that what You know why? Because some ppl here kpkb mah. Their elite brains can't register the fact that a lot of married couples cannot afford to buy resale immediately after they get married. Aiya, it's all the garment's fault la. No wonder birth rate is going down. So stressed to live here. Have to bear with the nonsense from garment and struggle to make ends meet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 me too..stayed with in laws before flat ready.. wah why so many stay with in laws and not own parents argh? I stay with my in-laws because my mum is taking care of my nephew, she doesn't have the energy to look after one more. My in-laws are retired and have the time to look after my child, not to mention their place is less than 5km away from my office Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 your children must earn a lot or else rent a room from others. seriously, who has the $ starting out in working life to rent even a 3rm hdb flat (the lowest housing unit u can rent). Maybe 0.1% of new graduates. or even less than that. Bro, what i'm saying is as soon as they got married. But when they are still single, i don't mind them staying with me till they have enough savings to buy their own house. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 I stay with my in-laws because my mum is taking care of my nephew, she doesn't have the energy to look after one more. My in-laws are retired and have the time to look after my child, not to mention their place is less than 5km away from my office wah...so fast got baby liao?? I stayed because my in laws house bigger and have spare rooms..but not very long before i moved out.. that time wife did not want to wait for BTO..so bought a resale flat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 wah...so fast got baby liao?? I stayed because my in laws house bigger and have spare rooms..but not very long before i moved out.. that time wife did not want to wait for BTO..so bought a resale flat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 me too..stayed with in laws before flat ready.. wah why so many stay with in laws and not own parents argh? see where got space and see where more confortable mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 7, 2013 Author Share February 7, 2013 Bro, what i'm saying is as soon as they got married. But when they are still single, i don't mind them staying with me till they have enough savings to buy their own house. The way things are going, very hard to have enough savings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 (edited) No. I think marriage is something serious and I will never use it as a tool simply to get a house. That's the wrong way to go about things IMO. I know that land, and therefore housing, is scarce in Singapore, but I do wish it can be easier for young adults, regardless of marital status, to get a house of their own. Think of it this way. If a single has his own place, easier to bring people home, easier to piak piak, easier to start family. Tio bo? I see your point but like you say land is scarce is Singapore and especially now, everything is monetised and reduced to dollars and cents. Like it or not, getting your own flat has been coupled with marriage so when to move out really becomes a question of when you are going to settle down. Unless like i mention, you can go private or opt for renting then the regulation against buying new HDB flats is moot to you. Edited February 7, 2013 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear February 7, 2013 Share February 7, 2013 The way things are going, very hard to have enough savings. That i have to agree. Even with dual income already hard to save for a house, let alone single. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...