VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Dear Bros , few days back , seems like some kind soul hit my side mirror and fled.. I dont know who.. it was bent outwards.. Thinking it was normal , I just adjust it back to normal and drove.. But I realised after a while , seems like the main motor is gone.. The side mirror does not stop where it is supposed to stop. It opens too much everytime... Guess time to spend $ again.. So my Question is: 1) Do I have to replace the whole side mirror? It's the left side.. And if yes, rough costs please? I don't intend to go back to BM ( Black Toyota Camry , 2009 , Pre-FL) 2) I intend to install the autofold module also.. Where can I do it and how much damage? \ Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 Some pics.. http://www.flickr.com/photos/87993356@N08/...in/photostream/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/87993356@N08/...in/photostream/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/87993356@N08/...in/photostream/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 If the mirror always can rotate out, that means the motor is working well. I guessed it could be the gear/coupling inside that is out of position, if any. Just a guess, but let the workshop check it out before spending the $$$...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 If the mirror always can rotate out, that means the motor is working well. I guessed it could be the gear/coupling inside that is out of position, if any. Just a guess, but let the workshop check it out before spending the $$...... because I enquired with a few WS whom I never been to before.. they say must change the whole thing.. scary.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 because I enquired with a few WS whom I never been to before.. they say must change the whole thing.. scary.. oops........else just manually rotate to open position and don't fold it back loh....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 oops........else just manually rotate to open position and don't fold it back loh....... Haha.. I tried.. no use.. everytime I on the engine.. it automatically goes back to the position as shown in thepicture.. furthermore , my dad also sometimes drives it.. very pek chek., Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 I have same problem in my previous car....must change whole assembly...I left it alone and don't bother to close it again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 not a good time to fix car around CNY weeks. its gonna be very expensive.leave it at opened position, and switch off auto fold.after all auto fold is more of nice to have, or cosmetic feature. if you really want to repair, do it after CNY weeks. you save some money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 not a good time to fix car around CNY weeks. its gonna be very expensive.leave it at opened position, and switch off auto fold.after all auto fold is more of nice to have, or cosmetic feature. if you really want to repair, do it after CNY weeks. you save some money. Boss.. you see.. my mirrors automatically go into the position as shown in the pic above.. everytime I on the engine. mine does not have autofold installed yet..\After CNY eh.. Well.. Sigh.. have to see if I can tahan that long.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 not a good time to fix car around CNY weeks. its gonna be very expensive.leave it at opened position, and switch off auto fold.after all auto fold is more of nice to have, or cosmetic feature. if you really want to repair, do it after CNY weeks. you save some money. Yep, especially many car mechs are from the north and they'll be rushing all the remaining jobs before CNY..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Haha.. I tried.. no use.. everytime I on the engine.. it automatically goes back to the position as shown in thepicture.. furthermore , my dad also sometimes drives it.. very pek chek., Sorry to hear that, my Altis not so high-tech. It either stay at open or closed if I pressed the switch that controls it. I had a couple of times kena knock on my side mirrors and though it went out just like yours, it was able to recover after I closed and opened it again........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 Sorry to hear that, my Altis not so high-tech. It either stay at open or closed if I pressed the switch that controls it. I had a couple of times kena knock on my side mirrors and though it went out just like yours, it was able to recover after I closed and opened it again........ haha.. Altis Camry all sama-sama la.. lols.. I tried close and open again.. cannot.. the force confirm a lot.. because I got kena by normal people before.. it went out of place.. then I open and close.. okay liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Several times when I collect my car, my mirrors also like that. The good thing is, I always fold it back manually as it doesnt comes with a motor so wouldnt spoilt so easily. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 haha.. Altis Camry all sama-sama la.. lols.. I tried close and open again.. cannot.. the force confirm a lot.. because I got kena by normal people before.. it went out of place.. then I open and close.. okay liao.. That's why normally I have the habit of closing the side mirrors though my friend warned me about motor failure. I just doesn't want to be like another friend who lost his side mirror completely just under 1 week of collecting his new car..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Author Share February 3, 2013 That's why normally I have the habit of closing the side mirrors though my friend warned me about motor failure. I just doesn't want to be like another friend who lost his side mirror completely just under 1 week of collecting his new car..... Haha.. Sigh.. I usually do.. but sometimes I dont.. seems like that day was really unlucky.. WOW.. 1 week? Aiyoh.. heart pain le.. seems like I must install the autofold already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Haha.. Sigh.. I usually do.. but sometimes I dont.. seems like that day was really unlucky.. WOW.. 1 week? Aiyoh.. heart pain le.. seems like I must install the autofold already.. Actually can't blame him, 'cos just collect car not long and didn't have much time to play with his new toy.......and so soon go into 'hospital liao'........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 for my case, i manually push it back into position, or to complete close position (both mirrors) then test it again with the switch. so far it worked for me, including mirrors being flipped forward by bikers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear February 3, 2013 Share February 3, 2013 Dear Bros , few days back , seems like some kind soul hit my side mirror and fled.. I dont know who.. it was bent outwards.. Thinking it was normal , I just adjust it back to normal and drove.. But I realised after a while , seems like the main motor is gone.. The side mirror does not stop where it is supposed to stop. It opens too much everytime... Guess time to spend $ again.. So my Question is: 1) Do I have to replace the whole side mirror? It's the left side.. And if yes, rough costs please? I don't intend to go back to BM ( Black Toyota Camry , 2009 , Pre-FL) 2) I intend to install the autofold module also.. Where can I do it and how much damage? \ Thanks Yr description seemed to be pushed to an angle that you cant turn it back as the mechanism has been twisted.just imagine ball and socket being tightened by bolt n nut unless open up you may see to reverse back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...