Downgrading to a smaller house in a more central area

Mllcg

51 members have voted

1. 1. Which?

• Stay Put
    • Downgrade
    • See situation

Assuming u are currently staying at Jurong and you office is in CBD area.

your jurong is a 4 room flat.

would u downgrade to a 3 room at tiong bahru/toa payoh area(paying more coz of location)

If money is not an issue, just go for it. If u can save 1 hour on travelling everyday, one year u can have at least

extra 52weeks X 5 hours = 260hours. :D. U can make use of the extra free time to upgrade yrself to

earn more money or have more rest time. [cool]

Stay put lah. You never read the White Paper? Soon, when additional citizens comes in to 7mil, everything will be walking distance to your home; MRT stations, bus interchanges, shopping malls, CBDs, offices etc....This is just like when Mohamad dun go to the mountain, the mountain will go to Mohamad.

But what if you change job? Unless you are sure you will work at CBD for the considerable future. In any case, its still not too far. In most other countries, 20-40km will be considered sururban area.

i wont coz now i am opposite [laugh]

ask me go stay jurong? no way sia. the traffic jam from jurong to town is also one kind in the early morning. it works gd if yr wking place is against the 'normal' heavy traffic conditions.

however if u mentioned abt yr situation, i will stay put coz i think 3room flats r too small if u have family etc.

plus jurong opening up also, will have more job offers? can keep a lookout so u wk nearby

ask me go stay jurong? no way sia. the traffic jam from jurong to town is also one kind in the early morning. it works gd if yr wking place is against the 'normal' heavy traffic conditions.

however if u mentioned abt yr situation, i will stay put coz i think 3room flats r too small if u have family etc.

plus jurong opening up also, will have more job offers? can keep a lookout so u wk nearby

personally, i will still stay central. coz no matter where your office is, its still not that far to travel.

thought working outside CBD will earn less than in the CBD? except for some industries

Working in CBD area will have problem driving to work, expensive car parking, even if available.

Location is very important.

However do not overlook, actual site environment, and whether the reduction in living space is acceptable.