Dating Fest 2013 - Masquerade Ball

Icebrush79

The largest scale matchmaking session is coming up this Sat...

General comments about these singles session, the "candidates" are very average people at best, and quite a handful of them can be very weird and desperate.

So for those who are going (but won't admit it openly anyway), pls manage your expectations, you won't see snow whites or prince charmings here. Go with an open mind.

Enjoy the read.... :D

speed_dating.pdf

The largest scale matchmaking session is coming up this Sat...

General comments about these singles session, the "candidates" are very average people at best, and quite a handful of them can be very weird and desperate.

So for those who are going (but won't admit it openly anyway), pls manage your expectations, you won't see snow whites or prince charmings here. Go with an open mind.

Enjoy the read.... :D

I am sure you have your reasons to say that bro, [:p][sly]

Have you guys done any mystery shopper exercises on such events before

Edited by Icebrush79

Can't answer your question of the "mystery shopper"... haha... as someone discerning, i'm sure you know where I'm coming from and thus the answer.

Entertainment!! ah yes.... You get weird stuffs like

1) Weird ugly woman approaches man

Woman: What's your purpose here

Man: Err.... to widen my social circle

Woman: Huh... not to get married arr!! err... okok, I'll go talk to others first.. but stay around.. I'll be back !!! blah blah blah...

2) Asked to introduce himself, ugly man with no conversational skills goes

Ok.. my name is so and so

Ok... I'm an engineer (example)

Ok... I like to blah blah blah

Ok.. I am this and that

OK we all know, can you start your conversation with something else!!! - you get the picture

3) During a sit down speed dating, weird man starts playing with Wasabi and trying to "stand" a wooden chopstick using wasabi as glue.... as the women watched in horror.

(man got offended by what woman said and decided to just switch off like a big kid... he was 45, mind you) [knife]

4) Setting: restaurant. Wait staff takes orders from a table where 2 sets of males and females are seated. After taking the drink order, (coincidentally green tea), the wait staff left... Man number 1 shouts across the restaurant to the wait staff... "The gree tea.. I want cold one arr... cold one arr"

Come on!! its not a bloody coffee shop...!! [rolleyes]

5) At the end of one session, a list (like a primary school kid's torn out exercise book) is passed around from someone to garner everyone's name, email and contact details... When asked who's paper is that.. the guy (looks old although he's only 35 (as if 48) and odd, ugly, funny looking) sheepishly puts up his hand like a lost kid and smile the Tiko smile.

Come on... if you want someone's contacts, its common courtesy to ASK !! :angry:

The list goes on

Hahaha

Edited by IDrago

Well, take a look at the document I attached in my first post. Most of the men look like those featured in the article. These are your "OK" looking folks I reckon?? Mostly mediocre looking with humble backgrounds and financial status.

This is a practical world and there's a reason why singles are pretty much single.

Surely there must be some better ones right?

i mean guys....

like some professionals who r curious and wanting to go?

hahahaha my Gal frd is gg and this feedback i read here and giving her is making her thinking of backing out now...

hahahahahahaha

Surely there must be some better ones right?

i mean guys....

like some professionals who r curious and wanting to go?

hahahaha my Gal frd is gg and this feedback i read here and giving her is making her thinking of backing out now...

hahahahahahaha

Generally yes and no.

For such low budget mass event, the chances of meeting an average one is like hoping to strike 4D. Noticed I meant average, not prince charming. Most are below average.

Pay peanuts and you get monkeys, that's a fact of life.

Then you have your upmarket packages catered for PMEBs... yes for those you have professionals and better quality ones of course. But generally, singles are singles for a reason.

Best case, that's because they are too busy to date... so you get normal people here

Worse case, they have issues

eg : Guy that's doing pretty well, looks pretty decent...

Went on date with Gal... and ends up telling her how she should live her life, what kind of movies suit her, what kind of clothes she should wear, you get the picture

OR

You get those that can't talk or carry out a conversation -> painfully shy and READ: BORING -> just like dating a wall.

OR

Those that tends to dominate the conversation

People with qualities have others going after them.. yes, even girls going after guys, that's pretty common. OR, they have a wide enough social circle which then enables them to find potentials without resorting to this.

People with no other choices will either sit in forum(s) surfing all day, or try their luck at these events lor...

Is your friend average looking (or below) ?? Chances are, (no offense) yes... else there will be guys, like bees, sticking to her... we all see this too often dun we.

And if its the case where she's just below average, I dun see why she should freak out... afterall, below averages match up with below averages... isn't it...

Tell her to go with an open heart laa... who knows, she might find the guy trying to balance chopsticks on wasabi cute?? Just saying....

Edited by Icebrush79

Well, take a look at the document I attached in my first post. Most of the men look like those featured in the article. These are your "OK" looking folks I reckon?? Mostly mediocre looking with humble backgrounds and financial status.

This is a practical world and there's a reason why singles are pretty much single.

haha bro, I was actually referring to these "OK men"

Ok.. I am this and that

Yeah, but back to those mediocre looking with humble backgrounds and financial status.... Sad to say, but there are just so many of these 5 point clones around, sometimes it

haha bro, I was actually referring to these "OK men"

Ok.. I am this and that

Yeah, but back to those mediocre looking with humble backgrounds and financial status.... Sad to say, but there are just so many of these 5 point clones around, sometimes it

Ooh I see haha...

Yes, boorish.... talks loudly (like most SAF specs and WOs) without the slightest clue how to behave in front of the opposite gender.... [knife]

It's hilarious! [laugh]

It reminds me of when I was watching this Channel 8 show, where they matchmake 3 men versus 3 women, and the highest ranking person gets to choose his/her ideal partner.

I ever saw a 45 year old CFO that was like...he treat matchmaking like working, and was literally pushing ard his weight.

OMG! He'll never find his dream lady like that [laugh]

It's hilarious! [laugh]

It reminds me of when I was watching this Channel 8 show, where they matchmake 3 men versus 3 women, and the highest ranking person gets to choose his/her ideal partner.

I ever saw a 45 year old CFO that was like...he treat matchmaking like working, and was literally pushing ard his weight.

OMG! He'll never find his dream lady like that [laugh]

Mate... it is even more sidesplitting to catch this action "life" ....

Just to add on, many of these singles have been to almost all these events.... To the extent they can be heard whispering among themselves (ooh.. that man, he was here the last 5 times) or (oooh than woman... wasn't she here a few times already)...

These are so called dating event regulars.... READ: the desperados [laugh]

the fastest dating will be....

man: hello, i am RNCW

lady: hello, i am ATB

man: ai sio gan mai

lady: ok, lets go

Meaning of Masquarade?

= a disguise or false outward show: a pretense.

= an involved scheme; a charade.

The title already tell the attendees what to expect already.

So long don't befriend and fell for a Transformer good enough.

the fastest dating will be....

man: hello, i am RNCW

lady: hello, i am ATB

man: ai sio gan mai

lady: ok, lets go

Which scenario is this? [laugh]

Meaning of Masquarade?

= a disguise or false outward show: a pretense.

= an involved scheme; a charade.

The title already tell the attendees what to expect already.

So long don't befriend and fell for a Transformer good enough.

Typical case of... You've been warned !!