4 seater coupe

Bighero

Hi bros,

I want to ask those own a 4 seater coupes, how big is your family?

Do you think its pratical to have a family with 2 children (no maid) to own a 4 seater coupe?

Edited by Bighero

Hi bros,

Do you think its pratical to have a family with 2 children (no maid) to own a 4 seater coupe?

Not sure why you are asking this. Obviously your family can't have more than 4. So not just maid but must also not have parents/parent's in law around that need to sit often.

A lower limit does not apply as even a single person can buy a 4 seater coupe.

Lastly please do note if whether you mean 4 door coupe-look (like Passat CC) or you really meant 4 seater coupe which by definition has 2 door only (eg. Audi A5 non-sportback). Cos if only 2 door, it will be a biatch getting a child seat at the back.

Good eg, RX8..can die die only sit 4.

I think its not a good choice for those with 2children, ie family of 4.

Want to squeeze another (mother-in law, mother, grandfather, whoever) in also cannot.

Looking at the Evoque..such a beauty.

thanks...

i bought a SUV for the family but after driving for over a year, i find the drive very boring.

comtemplating a 4 seater coupe but i dont it wont be pratical...sigh

Edited by Bighero

thanks...

i bought a SUV for the family but after driving for over a year, i find the drive very boring.

comtemplating a 4 seater coupe but i dont it wont be pratical...sigh

How about an Odyssey? Low CG and probably handles better than a SUV.

i dont even have kids and i find it a pain to bring people around. my parents hate sitting in my car. its really not practical to get a coupe, esp so if you intend for it to be a family car. sometimes you want to let people down on the road site and they sitting behind you means you need to come out, open the door, lift the seat forward, let them come out, push back the seat and get in again.

on the flipside ... my friends never ask me for tompang anymore. all buay tahan sitting in the back seat

i dont even have kids and i find it a pain to bring people around. my parents hate sitting in my car. its really not practical to get a coupe, esp so if you intend for it to be a family car. sometimes you want to let people down on the road site and they sitting behind you means you need to come out, open the door, lift the seat forward, let them come out, push back the seat and get in again.

on the flipside ... my friends never ask me for tompang anymore. all buay tahan sitting in the back seat

to be honest, i was actually thinking of getting a used GTR.

i have been looking around

but my wife violently objects to it...sigh

Edited by Bighero

Hi bros,

My favourite.. 6 Seriec GC.. :wub::wub:

to be honest, i was actually thinking of getting a used GTR.

i have been looking around

but my wife violently objects to it...sigh

haha dont worry, my gf also complains abt my car all the time :D the worst was when i went to pick her and her mum up from holiday .. and the stupid luggage couldnt fit in the trunk (lol) .. so wind up .. mum sit in front with the bag on her lap ... (couldnt move the seat front in enough to shove the bag in the back either lol

i paiseh like anything sia ... ><

haha dont worry, my gf also complains abt my car all the time :D the worst was when i went to pick her and her mum up from holiday .. and the stupid luggage couldnt fit in the trunk (lol) .. so wind up .. mum sit in front with the bag on her lap ... (couldnt move the seat front in enough to shove the bag in the back either lol

i paiseh like anything sia ... ><

Hahaha..

you will feel worst if you need to fetch her grandparents if any occasion arises.

Once, i was picking up my ah gong and he was sitting at the back of my ex-rex..i could see him bumping up and down with a sibeh buay song face.

Boh bian, his butt has been merc-ified caise he has been driving mercs E class for 3 decades.

Hahaha..

you will feel worst if you need to fetch her grandparents if any occasion arises.

Once, i was picking up my ah gong and he was sitting at the back of my ex-rex..i could see him bumping up and down with a sibeh buay song face.

Boh bian, his butt has been merc-ified caise he has been driving mercs E class for 3 decades.

neither of us can beat one of my business acquaintance's story ... he bought a ferrari 430 (he himself about 40+) and he took his dad to work the next morning in the ferrari to show him the car. (dad about 70ish) ... after 2 or 3 hard acceleration, the old man told him to stop the car, he got out, scold his son for being an idiot, and waited for a cab by the roadside ...

The 430 so bad meh?? My Grand uncle takes my uncle's Gallardo very often, he's 81 and no problem at all lei ....

Anyway, I feel your pain about a 2-door car. Both my parents own cars so I dun have to fetch them, but when it comes to fetching my gf's friends or relatives, imagine the scene... folks get to the back seat, she gets in.. when we reach the drop off point, its reverse order... Quite a hassle.

I was contemplating the R35 as my next ride, but due to practical reasons of the 2-door concept, RS3 would be the choice for now...

such cars go against Gov's pro-family & increase birthrate policies :D

couple owning or aspire to own such models, will limit to max of 2 children because of the car sitting constraints !

LTA may soon set policy for buyers to pay levy to buy such cars [:p]

Bro bighero, which SUV are you driving now that you feel boring?

its more of a crossover than a suv

XC60 T5

For me, I got tired of the impracticality after a few months with a 4 seat convertible, although I did keep the car for a few years. Never again will I buy a 2-door car if it is my only car. In fact, we have 2 cars, and I still can't bring myself to buy a coupe as the 2nd car.

No issues at all with the legroom. It's just the whole front passenger gotta get out, tilting chair, climbing into the back, tilting the chair again...process that's tedious. Also, it's a lot more troublesome if you just wanna dump something onto your backseat or rear footwells.

For me, at least a convertible has some really tangible enjoyment when the top is down. A coupe feels like a sedan from the driver's seat when driving around with Singapore's traffic situation and speed limits, except the space is a lot smaller and people gotta climb in and out to get to the back.

However, it really depends on your lifestyle. If most of the time it's just you and your wife, then I guess it's worth the "style" factor. But if you often have to bring people around or like to put stuff on your backseat, it gets old real fast.

At least for me...

Let me offer you my side of the story.

While having a family of 4 I have had a 6er and am currently on a 911.

Suits my family fine [:)]

I have always looked for a coupe to fit my family of 4.

My next car is is also likely to be a coupe.

Could be a 911 turbo or maybe a MaserGT or a 640i cab?

I think it is very suitable if you can accept the slight bit of inconvenience.

And if your family is not too big sized

I don't bring people around except my own family so suits us fine.

Moreover Singapore is small, most journeys for me don't exceed 30mins.

My kids fit perfectly behind and it's really fun driving a coupe. (Kia koup not counted hor..haha)

If want to ferry people around, better go get an MPV or something.

There are quite a few coupes which have very reasonable space at the back.

Eg. The BMWs and the Mercys as well as Maser and Bentley and GTR

911 only if your kids are under 10 and your wife is supermodel slim like mine.

Hee

Edited by Throttle2

Hi bros,

The answer for me is a big YES.

And I don't just say it. I live it.