Do we need another Workers

Dinosaka

frankly, i disagree. a sheer waste of taxpayers money.

imo, the views they express, if any, are not much better than those in these forums.

i'm not sure how much they are paid.....

frankly, i disagree. a sheer waste of taxpayers money.

imo, the views they express, if any, are not much better than those in these forums.

Some times it is even worse here , some school kids here don't even use their brains and just puck out data without reading it in depth and understanding it before debating , everytime self pawned and roti prata. I also see less of the korean budget supporters as well , haha guess they are classed out by the high coe and it really keeps this forum cool once again.

But that said , i see one ton of chim english , what is he trying to say? Cannot speak in simple and understandable English? That fellow lacks the ability to relate his concerns and views to the present scenario. More like stirring sh1t.

Edited by CH_CO

Some times it is even worse here , some school kids here don't even use their brains and just puck out data without reading it in depth and understanding it before debating , everytime self pawned and roti prata.

eh, j22 not kid leh, old cow that one [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Later get yellow card , i better keep low profile.

no lah fren, if you responsible and your points are valuable far outweigh what some clowns give.....

btw, u long time no see, now back....QE finished reporting aldy ah [laugh] [laugh]

no lah fren, if you responsible and your points are valuable far outweigh what some clowns give.....

btw, u long time no see, now back....QE finished reporting aldy ah [laugh] [laugh]

Yes , sh1t gonna happen , just a matter of when.

i'm not sure how much they are paid.....

An NCMP/NMP's annual allowance will be $28,900. pretty good deal for doing basically nothing

Source : Asiaone

What did Calvin Cheng do in parliament previously? Sekali he also do nothing. LOL

A little history... ^_^

Written by Ng E-Jay

14 July 2009

New Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) Calvin Cheng has written an atrocious letter to TODAY newspaper betraying not only his absence of a sense of accountability, but also his complete lack of political acumen. I am truly shocked by his letter.

In his online letter entitled

A Nominated Member of Parliament (NMP) is a Member of the Parliament of Singapore who is appointed by the President. They are not affiliated to any political party and do not represent any constituency. There are currently nine NMPs in Parliament. The introduction of NMPs in September 1990, effected to bring more independent voices into Parliament, was an important modification of the traditional Westminster parliamentary system that Singapore had.

NMPs are appointed for a term of two and a half years on the recommendation of a Special Select Committee chaired by the Speaker of Parliament. The Committee may nominate persons who have rendered distinguished public service or who have brought honour to Singapore, and also invites proposals of candidates from community groups in the fields of arts and letters, culture, the sciences, business, industry, the professions, social or community service, and the labour movement. In 2009, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong proposed in Parliament that the Committee should also invite nominations from the civil society such as candidates from the environmental movement, young activists, new citizens, and community and grassroots leaders. In addition, the Committee must have regard to the need for NMPs to reflect as wide a range of independent and nonpartisan views as possible.

In Parliament, NMPs can participate in debates and vote on all issues except amendments to the Constitution, motions relating to public funds, votes of no confidence in the Government, and removing the President from office.

The NMP scheme has been criticized on the grounds that it is undemocratic, and that unelected NMPs have no incentive to express the electorate's views in Parliament. It has also been claimed that the scheme reinforces the ruling People's Action Party's technocratic and elitist view of politics. On the other hand, it is said that NMPs have placed pressure on PAP MPs to be more competent in Parliament.

NMPs have made contributions to Singapore's political landscape. In 1996, the Maintenance of Parents Act (Cap. 167B, 1996 Rev. Ed.) became the first public Act originating from a private member's bill initiated by an NMP, Walter Woon. During parliamentary debates, NMPs have also offered critical views on Government policies. The scheme was declared a success by the Prime Minister in 2009, and NMPs were made a permanent feature of Parliament

i suspected the NMP had to be approved by president. no prize for guessing why they prefer to install presidents with particular background.

and the special committee invites certain organisations to nominate. i will be interested to see who nominated calvin.

How did this CoCk get to be NMP in the first place? somemore a YPAP member at that time? Sometimes these people never chut mouth better, now chut kenna shoot.

Edited by Christan

An NCMP/NMP's annual allowance will be $28,900. pretty good deal for doing basically nothing

Source : Asiaone

Staying awake is not something I call easy.. Try it in front of your boss and you'll know.