Maseratigood 5th Gear January 22, 2013 Share January 22, 2013 (edited) I think when developer submitted the bid and designs to URA for approval, possibly the authorities realized no rules were flouted and they have no reasons to reject. Sometimes the written design rules can be too lax / vague that the developers, who are businessmen good at exploiting the gaps or loopholes, simply maximize their profits at the expense non-adherence of what Khawbw calls "the spirit" of EC but break no design rules. I won't really fault these developers who technically have not broken any rules. Edited January 22, 2013 by Maseratigood ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 22, 2013 Share January 22, 2013 No. 4 I think will be allowing car buyers to bid their own instead of dealers bidding. No.6 might be further subsidies 'cos if they let the public know the real cost of building, there might be a big "hoo-ha" about the past pricings... like tat is still favoring the rich lah. in china, its really like lucky draw, gov dun make $$$ out of it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juzzme 3rd Gear January 22, 2013 Share January 22, 2013 Ok.....i am happy that there are indeed improvement in recent policy changes. Can be better. If the current ministers are doing all the right corrections, then, can i say we had been paying those oust ministers million dollar salary for nothing??? No lah... Previous ones did an excellent job. The current ones are doing even better... So ought to be paid even more! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged January 22, 2013 Share January 22, 2013 i tell u wat u will see, 1) Free medical care for senior citizen n children < 18yo 2) raised income tax 3) public transport change back operate by gov agency 4) COE via ballot instead of bidding 5) Increased childcare centres 6) normalise all HDB flats to reasonable price pegged to % of construction cost 7) Civil servant salary reviewed again, salary cap at SGD1Mil for highest paid minister ... ok add whatever u deem fit Except 2 & 4. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear January 22, 2013 Share January 22, 2013 Income tax is already rising... so 2 is coming true. I don't think they will convert COE to ballot... but perhaps can consider limiting no of COE per dealer, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 23, 2013 Share January 23, 2013 They want 50k can...... Make sure that they walk the estate everyday just to ensure that the bangala do not clean only when there are visit by some big shorts, make sure that leaves do not choke the drain, roads leading to car parks are smooth, car parks are well sweep & maintain, no water ponding, make sure that the car park washing bay 'coin operate machine' are in order, ...... etc... Do not delicate works to anyone but only himself .... the rectum specialist was recorded on video he picked up dead leaves from the ground to prevent major flood ley.....i wonder he will station himself every raining days to do that, or just WAYANG!!??!!......anyway, these MPs are just so fake......do they really care???? got election, then come out to be nice and friendly....what about during normal times....??? did they go around and be seen daily to talk to the people on the grounds? only during MPS??? thats not enuff..... i really hated those news reported that candidates serving kopi at kopitiam when campaigning, and then after election over, they only come out during MPS, and worst, some only their lackeys seeing the people and not themselves.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bensonscu Neutral Newbie January 23, 2013 Share January 23, 2013 And you believe in the National Conversation?? yes, and I believe even more in communist. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 23, 2013 Share January 23, 2013 Income tax is already rising... so 2 is coming true. I don't think they will convert COE to ballot... but perhaps can consider limiting no of COE per dealer, etc. If they convert COE to ballot then many people will have to wait long long in order to buy a car. Same like many people now is complaining they couldnt get a house cause their balloting is always not successful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sing February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 tats the problem when there's no competition. ppl don't improve, but get worse. I think so also, second voice is needed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear February 4, 2013 Share February 4, 2013 All these are signs that putting pressure on govt to perform by having more opposition presence is the key. As what was mentioned at the WP rally. Voting in one more WP politician to make the govt work harder. But Heng Swee Keat says it should be the other way round. To vote in more PAP MPs to make WP work harder. I seriously think there is a problem in his mind to say that. Yup, imagaine getting those WP MP who don't even have any Ministry portfolio to work harder.. Then why have Ministers for what?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 5, 2013 Share February 5, 2013 Ok.....i am happy that there are indeed improvement in recent policy changes. Can be better. Hdb admitting that they didnt build enough flats previously, adjusting the income ceiling upward, etc are some positive changes pointing to the right direction. More pro family policies such as the jst announced father paternity leave is also welcome. Now....why didnt the previous ministers, when they were in office, thought these were necessary and for the good of citizen n singapore? What the hell were they doing back then? In particular n i remember vividly, MBT defending the $8,000 ceiling saying that the 90s rule is still relevant in 2011. If the current ministers are doing all the right corrections, then, can i say we had been paying those oust ministers million dollar salary for nothing??? it was all complacency. Last time ruling party thinks they will get all the votes for sure (except HG) and they always feel that the opp did not have any decent candidates, as compared to the scholars and elites they can attract. Since they feel the voting part is of no major concern, why would they think for the individual singaporeans? the key is still to push for national growth, the country to look good, marketing, the esplanade, nicer sky lines etc.. Now, they know. Power comes from below. Not from above. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...