Used Car Dealers Feedback (Part 2)!

Anyone bought cars from Ed automobile or now name change to EDM cars at Carros centre need to be careful of the dealers as they post the cars are in good condition and no repairs needed. I bought a car from them and guess what it is a LEMON!!!! After making a deposit the dealer than inform that the exhaust is an aftermarket and does not come with cert and car key only provide 1 key, upon collecting of cars realised that coolant was totally empty and radiator was dry up thus went to top up coolant from their workshop.After driving the car for 1 week on eve of Hari raya the car overheated and broke down on KJE highway which was then toll to their workshop and the car engine got overhauled, dealer inform that car headgasket was blown and the repairs cost of it parts by dealer and labour by buyer.Dealer also inform that the overhaul of engine warranty only for 1 month which I find it not acceptable and now after one months 2 weeks the car engine oil leaked which I have to bare everything myself. Below are all the rest of the faults:

Car bought is a Mitsubishi Colt version R 10 years renewed COE

Dealer name: Joe

Company: Ed Automobile or EDM cars(now)

Faults of the cars after purchase:

Repairs paid by dealer:

Right headlight bulb

Full leather seat front and back

Front 2 side switch panels respray

Rear left windscreen replaced

Front left windscreen Motor

Engine Head gasket

Repairs that paid by Buyer:

CVT oil Change

After Market exhaust inspection ($95)

Radiator coolant totally dry up($14)

Radiator cap($8)

Charging port repair($10)

Key duplication ($165)

1 tyre worn out till 10% left($45)

Transfer fee($25)

Engine mounting ($610)

2x serpertine belt ($120)

Engine Overhaul labour fee($400)

Timing Belt ($85)

Timing bearing ($65)

Idle bearing ($65)

Timing tensioner ($160)

Timing oil seal ($50)

labour for timing belt replacement ($200)

I would not say the dealer is good or correct, certainly he could have done more and be more honest with you, but at least he didn't cheat your transfer or overcharge you with hidden fees like some others. Moreover, he also did some repair and replaced leather seat etc.

From buyer point of view, my guess is you are inexperience, some of the problems like engine mount, worn out tyre, coolant etc can be easily spotted when you are viewing and testing the car. Those conditions would be a telltale sign how badly a car has been maintained before they are sold. Being inexperience also have made you an easy pray by unscrupulous dealers, next time bring an experience friend along, at least another person around will help you think better before you part with your deposit.

One has to be prepared to do some repair when buying a COE car, your repair cost is not too excessive, so move on. I hope you have no more major repair to do, shocks and rocker arms, brake pads are potentially time to be replaced as well considering maintenance of the car has been so neglected based on the list of items you mentioned.

Thanks for sharing and all the best with your car condition.

Edited by Ct3833

ya. if they still dont response pls lodge SCT against them. dont show mercy as chances already given enough already i believe.

Lodged to SCT. I think I have given too many chances and waited too many months. Thanks Bro.

good luck in the SCT. hope you can recover what you supposed to.

Edited by StreamRSZ

Here is an updated list of used car dealers from the previous thread and up to page 42 of this thread consolidated for everyone's convenience... I have removed all the old entries that have closed down (e.g. Allbest, KS, etc.) and collated responses starting from 2013 onwards.

Hope this helps!

DISCLAIMER: Please note that this list depicts dealers where two or more of our members have had bad experiences with, and do not reflect my own personal experiences with them. I am not a dealer or have any business with the automotive industry in Singapore.

Used Car Dealer Good Experience List

1. Henly Enterprise Co
  2. Cars 88 Pte Ltd
  3. Performance Premium Selection Ltd
  4. D2 Motors
  5. San Hup Bee (S) Pte Ltd
  6. Lake View Credit Pte Ltd
  7. Yong Lee Seng Motor
  8. Rexy Motor Trading Company
  9. Tatco Enterprise

Used Car Dealer Bad Experience List (CASE-Trust dealers in blue)

1. Classic Credit
  2. 88 Motor Trading
  3. VS Motor LLP
  4. Ka-Hup
  5. Advance Auto Trading
  6. Sin Tian He Pte Ltd
  7. Fu Ee Cars
  8. Faster Auto Trading
  9. In-Carz Credit Pte Ltd
  10. GV Credit Pte Ltd
  11. Stark Automobile Pte Ltd
  12. TTS Eurocars
  13. SGCarFinder
  14. Carway
  15. Horizon Motoring
  16. Mayfair Motoring
  17. Hui Hua Credit Pte Ltd
  18. Think One Automobile & Trading
  19. Kruise Auto
  20. Starbright Auto
  21. Fu Yiap Motor Trading
  22. Straits Euro Motors Pte Ltd
  23. Motor Universe Credit Pte Ltd
  24. Wise Auto
  25. Formula Motors
  26. Senbel Automobile
  27. Abwin Trading
  28. Tan Motor Car Enterprise
  29. Vincar
  30. Hoe Beng Auto Trading
  31. Chin Lian Seng Motor Trading
  32. Shuang Hup Credit
  33. Motor East Pte Ltd
  34. Car Lingual

Anyone bought cars from Ed automobile or now name change to EDM cars at Carros centre need to be careful of the dealers as they post the cars are in good condition and no repairs needed. I bought a car from them and guess what it is a LEMON!!!! After making a deposit the dealer than inform that the exhaust is an aftermarket and does not come with cert and car key only provide 1 key, upon collecting of cars realised that coolant was totally empty and radiator was dry up thus went to top up coolant from their workshop.After driving the car for 1 week on eve of Hari raya the car overheated and broke down on KJE highway which was then toll to their workshop and the car engine got overhauled, dealer inform that car headgasket was blown and the repairs cost of it parts by dealer and labour by buyer.Dealer also inform that the overhaul of engine warranty only for 1 month which I find it not acceptable and now after one months 2 weeks the car engine oil leaked which I have to bare everything myself. Below are all the rest of the faults:

Car bought is a Mitsubishi Colt version R 10 years renewed COE

Dealer name: Joe

Company: Ed Automobile or EDM cars(now)

Faults of the cars after purchase:

Repairs paid by dealer:

Right headlight bulb

Full leather seat front and back

Front 2 side switch panels respray

Rear left windscreen replaced

Front left windscreen Motor

Engine Head gasket 

Repairs that paid by Buyer:

CVT oil Change

After Market exhaust inspection ($95)

Radiator coolant totally dry up($14)

Radiator cap($8)

Charging port repair($10)

Key duplication ($165)

1 tyre worn out till 10% left($45)

Transfer fee($25)

Engine mounting ($610)

2x serpertine belt ($120)

Engine Overhaul labour fee($400)

Timing Belt ($85)

Timing bearing ($65)

Idle bearing ($65)

Timing tensioner ($160)

Timing oil seal ($50)

labour for timing belt replacement ($200)

OUch!! somehow Karma will visit these dealers in a million different ways.... and those who allow them to thrive ,worse! 

I would not say the dealer is good or correct, certainly he could have done more and be more honest with you, but at least he didn't cheat your transfer or overcharge you with hidden fees like some others. Moreover, he also did some repair and replaced leather seat etc.

From buyer point of view, my guess is you are inexperience, some of the problems like engine mount, worn out tyre, coolant etc can be easily spotted when you are viewing and testing the car. Those conditions would be a telltale sign how badly a car has been maintained before they are sold. Being inexperience also have made you an easy pray by unscrupulous dealers, next time bring an experience friend along, at least another person around will help you think better before you part with your deposit.

One has to be prepared to do some repair when buying a COE car, your repair cost is not too excessive, so move on. I hope you have no more major repair to do, shocks and rocker arms, brake pads are potentially time to be replaced as well considering maintenance of the car has been so neglected based on the list of items you mentioned.

Thanks for sharing and all the best with your car condition.

Nearly went to buy a Toyota isis from them .....changed my mind.Thanks 

They advertise 100's of positive reviews ...Really? 

COE Specialist With More Than 100 Positive Reviews Offering 100% Immediate Loan Approval Package That Comes With Additional Warranty For You! Superbly Well Maintained By Previous Owner With Weekly Polishing And Upholstery Care! Rare Unit That Comes With…
spacer.gif

OUch!! somehow Karma will visit these dealers in a million different ways.... and those who allow them to thrive ,worse! 

Nearly went to buy a Toyota isis from them .....changed my mind.Thanks 

They advertise 100's of positive reviews ...Really? 

COE Specialist With More Than 100 Positive Reviews Offering 100% Immediate Loan Approval Package That Comes With Additional Warranty For You! Superbly Well Maintained By Previous Owner With Weekly Polishing And Upholstery Care! Rare Unit That Comes With…
spacer.gif

All like that publicise one ma, now I never even bother reading this part liao  [:p]  [:p]

Went to this car dealer at Ubi Carmart, the saleman(car dealer) mislead me into putting $2000 as deposit for a car deal.

He mentioned that it is common practice at Ubi, and also it is based on Lemon Law, unfortunately, without much thought, we kind of believe him and place the deposit only knowing from others dealers that we can place a min of $500 actually.

The saleman also did not explain to us that the loan interest is at 4% p.a., simply write on the paper, which we did not notice. 

Understand from others that we can get a better dealer of 3.25% easily. Very likely that the loan is done by the company itself.

Call up the company  manager, he mentioned that it is the company practice of $2000 and 4% is the company own practice, and only willing to refund a small portion of the money.

Just like to share this so that people who wished to buy car be more careful with such practices which are disadvantage to customers.

Also will CASE be able to negotiate for such a case to get back the refund?? ( Thinking, it is kind of practice which is not fair to the customers ).

1 hour ago, LV123 said:

Went to this car dealer at Ubi Carmart, the saleman(car dealer) mislead me into putting $2000 as deposit for a car deal.

He mentioned that it is common practice at Ubi, and also it is based on Lemon Law, unfortunately, without much thought, we kind of believe him and place the deposit only knowing from others dealers that we can place a min of $500 actually.

The saleman also did not explain to us that the loan interest is at 4% p.a., simply write on the paper, which we did not notice. 

Understand from others that we can get a better dealer of 3.25% easily. Very likely that the loan is done by the company itself.

Call up the company  manager, he mentioned that it is the company practice of $2000 and 4% is the company own practice, and only willing to refund a small portion of the money.

Just like to share this so that people who wished to buy car be more careful with such practices which are disadvantage to customers.

Also will CASE be able to negotiate for such a case to get back the refund?? ( Thinking, it is kind of practice which is not fair to the customers ).

1) Honestly speaking, $2000 for a car deposit is not an unreasonable amount, provided it is 100% refundable if loan is not approved.  End of the day, you're buying a car leh. Those that collect $500 from you are the ones that want you to commit on the spot.
2) For used cars, unless the dealer provides you with warranty, it'll be based on lemon law.
3) It depends on what you intend to use the car for. Based on the interest rate, i can assume you're registering the car under PHV usage. 3.25% is the lowest in the market but you need to down at least 15% of the car price. If you're based on 4% +, high chance you took full loan i assume. Then again, if you're buying a car and the salesman works out a breakdown for you on paper and you didn't go through it?
4) A reputable company will offer 100% refund in 2 working days in event that loan is not approved without charging you admin fees for it. Chances are they need your money to roll.

* Not siding the dealer or the customer
* You might want to provide more details on the car as well as your loan? Etc: New or Used, high or soft loan

1 hour ago, TheCarDealer said:

1) Honestly speaking, $2000 for a car deposit is not an unreasonable amount, provided it is 100% refundable if loan is not approved.  End of the day, you're buying a car leh. Those that collect $500 from you are the ones that want you to commit on the spot.
2) For used cars, unless the dealer provides you with warranty, it'll be based on lemon law.
3) It depends on what you intend to use the car for. Based on the interest rate, i can assume you're registering the car under PHV usage. 3.25% is the lowest in the market but you need to down at least 15% of the car price. If you're based on 4% +, high chance you took full loan i assume. Then again, if you're buying a car and the salesman works out a breakdown for you on paper and you didn't go through it?
4) A reputable company will offer 100% refund in 2 working days in event that loan is not approved without charging you admin fees for it. Chances are they need your money to roll.

* Not siding the dealer or the customer
* You might want to provide more details on the car as well as your loan? Etc: New or Used, high or soft loan

Interesting,  what you have commented is fair too basing on the scenario painted. Ultimately car dealers are out there to make money, as long as there is fair play between the two parties, the deposite amount and interest rate is not unreasonably high. The other thing is buyers have to do their homework before parting with their money, dont try to back out after committing a deal , that is when most dealers would make it difficult.

Edited by Ct3833

7 hours ago, LV123 said:

wah, you just sign blindly on the paper ah ? Dealer say, and you just accept. And you did not even ask about the loan interest rate !??!

Then you go compare AFTER that ..... 

1st time buy car? If yes, you'll get better the next few times :D

2 minutes ago, Othello said:

wah, you just sign blindly on the paper ah ? Dealer say, and you just accept. And you did not even ask about the loan interest rate !??!

Hahaha, be kind lah, at times we make impulsive or even stupid  purchase and regret after the fact also. 

2 minutes ago, Othello said:

Hahaha, be kind lah, at times we make impulsive or even stupid  purchase and regret after the fact also. 

1 hour ago, Ct3833 said:

hee hee .... my first time I also kenna "cheated" 😪

Last time no forum no FB.... Send car to AA for inspection. Dealer (or the SE) faxed the report over. Later then realised they blanko-ed a huge portion away before faxing. Car was a lemon. Broke down several times in 1.5years. Quick hand quick leg sell off

Edited by Othello

On 9/12/2019 at 11:16 AM, LV123 said:

Perhaps like what bros mentioned, should provide more info on type of car, loans and use.

"common practice" varies depending of situations

If one is buying  a 20k used car, 2k may be too much

But if buying a 200k used car, 2k will be more than reasonable

"deposit" is like reserving the car at the agreed price. if not either party can easily break with minimal cost when there is a better price or buyer.

deposits between 500-2k is within usual range, nothing unusual. 

Interest rate for loans also depends on scenarios. But best is to do some homework and knowing the range of interest rate and then at point of signing, negotiate.

Hi all, first time car buyer here. Any reviews or past experience dealing with Hanns Auto? 

The last post I can find is 2015, till now scan through the net no results.Thanks!