Spurman Supercharged April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Say your car scrap value is 20k. U get back 20k lor. But if u still have outstanding loan say 15k. U need to settle the loan. So u get only 5k cash effective. Layman explainatipn ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YishunTampines Neutral Newbie April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Do not send your car to griffin auto services for servicing and repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Do not send your car to griffin auto services for servicing and repair. care to elaborate.... cannot no head no tail. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ren2 1st Gear April 11, 2013 Share April 11, 2013 Dear bros n sis, want to find out what documents shld we get when we buy 2nd hand car fully paid? Just reserve a car and sta report looks okay so when the agent hand over what to look out for ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cocoleak Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 (edited) hi friends. i have been reading this thread with interest, ever since from part 1. and really i can only say buying a used car is luck+feel+skill. as long you have a good overall feeling, go ahead with it. of course it is always hard to do all 3. i bought a 2006 car in 2009. back then i was a noob. looked at the car, did the surface checks eg. engine, aircon, test drive, look see look see. done. and i have very glad, and lucky, to say, the car has given me ZERO problems. i only send it for the routine 10000km servicing and annual inspection. i am not one to even check the engine oil or tyres every now and then (my dad does them). fast forward to 2013, i am buying a used car again. and this time, i would like to say i have become wiser. beyond surface checks, i look at suspension, any structural compromise, salesman service etc. this time, not so lucky. the car i targeted, the A-frame seems compromised. there seems to have some touching up work done (like spreading of butter). beneath the car, more "spreading like butter" works (is this normal?) this spreading of butter work is almost throughout the centre of the car, as if to give extra support or the car has been split into half, if you get what i mean. the whole chassis looks very new. it is a 2009 car. the headlights portion, the screws did not align with the paint job. it seems like it has been removed and screwed back. i asked for servicing receipt (the sticker showed it was done in april 2013) don't have. i asked for car log don't have. i asked who was the previous owner's insurer don't know. although i liked the car alot, even putting down a deposit, i decided to give it up. the salesman was very receptive. he remained contactable, and he offered warranty, but in the end, i think there are too many suspicions to carry on with the transaction. another point. i actually applied for bank loan (with cpf, IC documents submitted) and the bank called me to verify. the dealer also called me to say it's been approved, ask me get insurance can settle liao. but now i have decided not to buy, the bank loan cannot proceed right? I have not signed any "final" documents and of course i did not drive the car away. he has to cancel right. i also like to add that not every MCFers here buy 2nd hand because they cannot afford. some because it is important to have cash at hand. regardless of how much i earn/have (excluding 1million) i always do not feel it is wise to one shot pay $40000 for a car. you never know when you need the emergency money. and the govt's policy of not applying the loan restrictions to the disabled. my neighbour has a disabled sticker, packs at the handicapped lot, drives a bmw x3. so not all disabled are poor, not all abled are rich. any comments? Edited April 13, 2013 by Cocoleak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cocoleak Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 (edited) care to elaborate.... cannot no head no tail. post wrongly. Edited April 13, 2013 by Cocoleak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cocoleak Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Dear bros n sis, want to find out what documents shld we get when we buy 2nd hand car fully paid? Just reserve a car and sta report looks okay so when the agent hand over what to look out for ? u managed to get the car to STA to inspect first before you buy? how do you do that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Halth Neutral Newbie April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Hi all, I'm buying a new ride and agreed to trade-in my car to the dealer. But realized I was badly low-balled. Wanted to void the trade-in but salesman say that it is signed already. Wondering if anyone has any experience on how to void it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Dear all bros and sis, I would like to rise your awareness to Advance Auto Trading @ Turf City Lot B41/B57. This afternoon, I accompanied with my friend to Turf City to look for Jap used cars. When we were there, we heard the two ah beng salesmen shouting their heads off with hokkien vulgarities and pointing middle fingers and pushing a young couple (we assume they are customers) . We overheard something like "Cannot afford car then get lost, don't waste our time",F***ers". We do not know what happened earlier on, but both of us were shocked. No matter how rude customers are, they are always right ? Our first thought was salesmen look down on the young couple, thinking they are not sincere buyers. One of the salesman even used his mobile to call the police, complaining of harassment to their business. To be fair on both sides, as we the third parties we do not wish to give any comment or conclusion. The poor young couple couldnt do anything but leave the scene, but both salesmen continue harass the young couple with vulgarities . The dispute ended when a lady approached them. (We think she should be the lady boss bcoz both salesmen started to shut their mouth). My intention of writing here is just to bring awareness to customers who intend to patronise this dealer shop. We personally think that no matter what did the customer do, salesmen shouldnt shout with vulgarities, pointing middle fingers and show sign of violence. We suggest bros and sis to consider visiting this dealer shop because you might not know what actions and words they will use to you. Good luck, hope this sharing is beneficial to all. There mst be some story before this. But again, you already say ah bengs liao. What you expect? Vulgarities in queen's english? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ren2 1st Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 yes paid a deposit and then sent for STA check, if got 'c' then deposit is refunded no questions asked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Statr22 1st Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Need bros advice, is Hua Yang Credit at Turf club okay to deal with? Interested in getting a used car from them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kk13 2nd Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Hi all, I'm buying a new ride and agreed to trade-in my car to the dealer. But realized I was badly low-balled. Wanted to void the trade-in but salesman say that it is signed already. Wondering if anyone has any experience on how to void it? Sad To hear that... So much as to we dont want the dealer to 'chut pattern' on us, but since you have already come to an agreement, just got to go ahead with it. Be more cautious next time... Dont want to be blacklisted like them right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Statr22 1st Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 none of the bro bought from hua yang b4? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HenlyETP Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Need bros advice, is Hua Yang Credit at Turf club okay to deal with? Interested in getting a used car from them If deal with Vincent Lim, should be okay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cocoleak Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 yes paid a deposit and then sent for STA check, if got 'c' then deposit is refunded no questions asked. Ic.. But of cos not every dealers allow u to do that huh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cocoleak Clutched April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 Hi all, I'm buying a new ride and agreed to trade-in my car to the dealer. But realized I was badly low-balled. Wanted to void the trade-in but salesman say that it is signed already. Wondering if anyone has any experience on how to void it? What's low-balled? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowman 2nd Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 none of the bro bought from hua yang b4? Expensive and rude. Just 3 words to describe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ezfaun 3rd Gear April 13, 2013 Share April 13, 2013 none of the bro bought from hua yang b4? Two words, Con men. I wanted to sell my 07 Rex 2.0 last time. You know what they quote? $40K. At that time the prices on SGCM were at $50-60K for my model. I got to sell my car at $53K to a private buyer. Which is at least better than all the other dealers that quoted me. Of cos you put your ad must use DSLR take all the chio bu angle. Car must be shiny shiny. It's like ants on a picnic.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...