Dinosaka 1st Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Education Minister Heng Swee Keat hit back swiftly at opposition Workers' Party claims that residents of Punggol East should vote for them to make the PAP "work hard". "PAP has been working hard to come up with various ways to help Singaporeans even when they was no opposition in Parliament," he told reporters at a community event at Tampines Central Temple. Referring to WP chief Low Thia Kiang's rally message on Saturday that people should vote for WP to keep up the pressure on PAP, Minister Heng turned the tables and said, "People should vote for PAP instead to make the WP work hard. "Voters should look at what the various (PAP) MPs have done and contributed in their constituencies and in Parliament," he said. "And I think they will come to the conclusion that they should vote for the PAP to make the Workers' Party work harder for you". He also took pains to remind voters of Punggol East that it's "not about voting more opposition into Parliament". "It's important to understand what this by-election is about. It's about electing the best candidate who can serve the residents of Punggol East," he said, adding that PAP candidate Koh Poh Koon is a "sincere and hardworking man" who understands the needs of residents and will work hard to improve their lives. Minister Heng said after the last General Election in 2011, Singaporeans had given the PAP the mandate to form the government. And the government has been working hard because "it is our duty and honour". He highlighted the recent changes in education as one example of the PAP listening to ground sentiments. "We have been investing in and improving our education system all these years even when there was no opposition in Parliament," he said. Meanwhile, PAP candidate Koh also addressed WP rival Lee Li Lian's claims that as a female voice, she would bring something different into Parliament if she were elected. "Well, I think selecting an MP really is selecting someone to serve the needs of the wide spectrum of the population, so gender shouldn't really play a role," said Dr Koh at a separate walkabout in Punggol East, where he met church-goers outside St Anne's chuch. "All MPs should take care of different segments of the demographic equally well, so I think the selection shouldn't be about gender per se," said the colorectal surgeon, 40. "And I think even at this present moment, we are all trying our best to also take care of different segments: women, children, elderlies and the youths as well". Dr Koh also said he plans to build a new community centre behind the Rivervale Plaza, on top of a wellness centre for the elderly. "We want to put in place more health screening programmes so we can detect diseases earlier, and to do some preventive kind of management for those diseases in the early stages. What we want to do is to leverage on the building of the new CC to in-build some of these programmes and facilities in place," he said. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Over the years, there are many dumb f@@k comment from MIW stinky mouth but this has to be most stupid comment from a MIW ever! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 they cmi already? asking someone else to speak on behalf of them??? scare to lose dan dun come out for voting la... bunch of losers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 they cmi already? asking someone else to speak on behalf of them??? scare to lose dan dun come out for voting la... bunch of losers... Heng they din ask the same joker who commented PM salary is contribution of a dollar from all citizen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Over the years, there are many dumb f@@k comment from MIW stinky mouth but this has to be most stupid comment from a MIW ever! If I remembered correctly, this Heng guy was at the helm of MAS when the lehman bros aga took place. The in-action of MAS then, contrast with what the Hong Kong Authority had done for its common folks, speaks volume of what kind of heart he has and the colour of his heart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 If I remembered correctly, this Heng guy was at the helm of MAS when the lehman bros aga took place. The in-action of MAS then, contrast with what the Hong Kong Authority had done for its common folks, speaks volume of what kind of heart he has and the colour of his heart. I do agree ty hv been working very hard.....................to make themselves richer n richer n we poorer n poorer. I wud like to hv more OP as a form of check n balance to ensure that e poorer folks r not forgotten when it comes to distribution of e countrys wealth. We dun need multi-million dollar ministers. We need more genuine caring ministers to help all sectors if e population to all move up together. As it is.....e rich r getting richer n e poor r getting poorer. I just hope e WP wil b as good as e p8p when ty 1st came into power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dinosaka 1st Gear January 20, 2013 Author Share January 20, 2013 I do agree ty hv been working very hard.....................to make themselves richer n richer n we poorer n poorer. I wud like to hv more OP as a form of check n balance to ensure that e poorer folks r not forgotten when it comes to distribution of e countrys wealth. We dun need multi-million dollar ministers. We need more genuine caring ministers to help all sectors if e population to all move up together. As it is.....e rich r getting richer n e poor r getting poorer. I just hope e WP wil b as good as e p8p when ty 1st came into power. Try reducing their pay to $250k per annum...most I think will run to work at private sectors... They r all in for the money...pure greed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Try reducing their pay to $250k per annum...most I think will run to work at private sectors... They r all in for the money...pure greed! Ya i think so too. Many r in it just fr e money. Take that away n we can see many disappear already. But then i wil say...Good riddance to bad rubbish. Ty already so blardy rich still not enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Heng they din ask the same joker who commented PM salary is contribution of a dollar from all citizen... I think i wud rather spend my $1 on a can of coke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 (edited) I think i wud rather spend my $1 on a can of coke. thanks to inflation, dun tink you can get one from most vendors in SG for $1 Edited January 20, 2013 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 thanks to inflation, dun tink you can get one from most vendors in SG for $1 I can still get ice-cold coke fm a vending machine fr $0.40 only. Hee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 thanks to inflation, dun tink you can get one from most vendors in SG for $1 Can lah, go supermarket and buy on the shelves, uncold type......less than a dollar..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 I can still get ice-cold coke fm a vending machine fr $0.40 only. Hee. Aiyah, that's in paper cup lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Aiyah, that's in paper cup lah No lah. Its Coke in a can. Some drinks $0.40 n some like pokka carrot juice is $0.50 A CAN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 At first, I was like ok, he have some valid points, until I read the "Duty & Honour" part. That must explain why we need to have million dollar salaries to 'attract' them to join politics right? Oh wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Can lah, go supermarket and buy on the shelves, uncold type......less than a dollar..... this is where i will get my drink if i am in town, instead of paying more from F&B outlets for the same can of drink Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 No lah. Its Coke in a can. Some drinks $0.40 n some like pokka carrot juice is $0.50 A CAN. where are these vending machines which sell canned drinks at such a low price? i do know some vending machines in clubs sell can drinks cheaper than most other public vending machinces but not so low as 40cent, please share the lobang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 20, 2013 Share January 20, 2013 Minister Heng turned the tables and said, "People should vote for PAP instead to make the WP work hard.. Sounds like a little boy would say. Boy 1: "I don't fren you already" Boy 2: "I don't fren you more" MIW running out of ideas and words ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...