More MRT Lines Announced

Taipan49

Got blk in JE affected meh?

But did the garment announced those blk got affected?

Boh lah, the line follow pie and bended towards toh guan stn. That's why you have the bend lor....

So you are talking about the bend ah?!  [dizzy]

So you are talking about the bend ah?! [dizzy]

Xi lah, someone asked why there is a bend but not straight line towards toh guan....

maybe some areas the soil not suitable? we are an island after all.

Though they even managed to dig into the marina area which is mostly marine clay.

some other areas use for pipes? (i dunno how deep the underground lines are)

I don't think the planners are stupid. Definitely lot of constraints. Lol real life Sim City.

i dont think soil conditions would be main reason for suitability of site. can always throw in money to overcome the engineering challenges. still think landuse probably the more likely reason.

i dunno cos I'm neither an engineer nor an earthworm  [laugh]

Yes, look at the TEL, towards the whole East Coast section of the line.

ERL%2Balignment.jpg

The whole of the Marine Parade Road on one side is the previous sea wall built during the early days and later land reclaimed to form the area where the HDBs and the ECP now sits.

That apparently is a challenging (read: expensive) tunneling site due to the sea wall as well as the varying soil condition.

They could have routed the whole line along the East Coast Road (which runs parallel to the Marine Parade Road), which will be easier to dig (read: cheaper), but that will mean that the TEL only serves the lower density private housing areas.

Edited by Vratenza

Train left only 25 sec earlier they also issued a formal apology? [thumbsup] In sg, train got countless of train arrived late and breakdown, never see them apologise even once?!

if SMRT wants to apologise then need someone to apologise for every single train at every station :XD:

Because in Singapore, it is always our fault and never the SMRT's

All the time we have been told to have realistic expectations of train efficiency because the train system is aging, cannot repair/replace fast enough because not enough time between operating hours etc etc

Train left only 25 sec earlier they also issued a formal apology?  [thumbsup]  In sg, train got countless of train arrived late and breakdown, never see them apologise even once?!

All the time we have been told to have realistic expectations of train efficiency because the train system is aging, cannot repair/replace fast enough because not enough time between operating hours etc etc

Your are right, confirmed our fault of having high expectation on our train system.

Train left only 25 sec earlier they also issued a formal apology? [thumbsup] In sg, train got countless of train arrived late and breakdown, never see them apologise even once?!

I think there is a big difference in early and late. I think leaving early is inexcusable. Imagine it’s a long distance train once a day..... and u missed the train cuz it left early......

Complain also no use.

Get your own transport and stop being at their mercy of their nonsense and the crazy overcrowdings all the time.

Work to construct 5 MRT stations on Jurong Region Line to start in 2020

SINGAPORE — Construction works to build five MRT stations along the Jurong Region Line (JRL) are expected to start in 2020 and be completed in 2026, said the Land Transport Authority (LTA) on Tuesday (Sept 10).

The five stations are — Choa Chu Kang, Choa Chu Kang West, Tengah, Hong Kah and Corporation.

Two civil contracts worth a total of S$739.5 million were awarded for the projects, announced LTA in a media release.

For the contract covering Choa Chu Kang, Choa Chu Kang West and Tengah stations, it includes the building of a 4.3km viaduct between Choa Chu Kang and Tengah along Choa Chu Kang Avenue 3.

There will also be addition and alteration works to the existing Choa Chu Kang station on the North-South Line, to integrate it with the new JRL station.

This contract was awarded to Shanghai Tunnel Engineering (Singapore), which LTA said has an "established track record" of railway infrastructure projects for the Circle Line, Downtown Line and Tuas West Extension.

It is also involved in the construction of some stations along the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL).

Local construction companies Eng Lee Engineering and Wai Fong Construction will take on work for Hong Kah and Corporation stations. This includes a 3.4km viaduct between them.

The joint venture company is currently involved in the construction of Mount Pleasant station and tunnels along TEL.

The Jurong Region Line is Singapore’s seventh MRT line, which will open in three stages starting from 2026.

The 24km-long line will have 24 stations above ground, and will connect with the North-South Line and East-West Line with interchange stations at Boon Lay, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East MRT stations.

In the initial years, the JRL is expected to serve 200,000 commuters daily, LTA said. This is expected to grow to more than 500,000 commuters daily in the longer term, it added. CNA

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/world/work-construct-5-mrt-stations-jurong-region-line-start-2020

going to dig and dig again