Joseph22 Turbocharged January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 subcon then the title is technically flaw.. anyway if its sub-con.. then TS you can write to Apple and complain. And i believe Apple will do a full scale investigation and give you a good answer. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Applecare has saved me thousand of dollars in repair in the past. But some subcontractor of apple singapore like to chiu pattern when come to repair - like a lot of substandard local SME. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auto_emocion 2nd Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Hi guys just a warning on buying Apple Care. I bought my Macbook almost 3 years ago(Apple care warranty till March 2013). I just sent my Mac in for repair and they say that there are signs of Water Damage. The proof they say is that some parts are corroded. As such the warranty is void and the repair bill is 1200. Do the think I'm stupid? BTW I never spilled any water on the Mac. This will be the last time I will EVER buy ANY APPLE product. Also note that there has been a lot of this claim of water damage by Apple so that they will VOID the warranty. Apple contractor denied repair of the corroded logicboard, I escalate the case and finally replace the logicboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Hi guys just a warning on buying Apple Care. I bought my Macbook almost 3 years ago(Apple care warranty till March 2013). I just sent my Mac in for repair and they say that there are signs of Water Damage. The proof they say is that some parts are corroded. As such the warranty is void and the repair bill is 1200. Do the think I'm stupid? BTW I never spilled any water on the Mac. This will be the last time I will EVER buy ANY APPLE product. Also note that there has been a lot of this claim of water damage by Apple so that they will VOID the warranty. did you travel to snowing country with your laptop before? the warm and cold effect could cause such corrosion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 LJ lar..... for Imac maybe can still buy warranty..... for iPad, dont waste the $$$..... you bring back.... they say the Ipad got dent here and there...... scratch here and there... warranty void.... NBzz..... Ya, full of sh*t. My iPad cannot charge. Brought it down to them, say my corner got 5mm dent so warranty VOID. I call Apple and f**k them jialat jialat. Told them you REPAIR for me lor, then use back my dented shell can bo?? Eventually they call the repair centre and finally change another set for me. Idiots.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Most laptop warranty states that some type of damages are no covered under warranty, like screen crack is one of them. If a newly bought laptop the screen crack for no reason, warranty confirm won't cover . Maybe it's the same for water seepage. fujitsu got warranty ley....just sent and received my boss notebook Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 go inside cold aircon, then out to hot humid environment, and do that many times, water condensation occurs....sometimes my MBP also felt moist on the cover..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Ya, full of sh*t. My iPad cannot charge. Brought it down to them, say my corner got 5mm dent so warranty VOID. I call Apple and f**k them jialat jialat. Told them you REPAIR for me lor, then use back my dented shell can bo?? Eventually they call the repair centre and finally change another set for me. Idiots.. So they gave you back the dented shell whilst changing the affected component inside? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Hi guys just a warning on buying Apple Care. I bought my Macbook almost 3 years ago(Apple care warranty till March 2013). I just sent my Mac in for repair and they say that there are signs of Water Damage. The proof they say is that some parts are corroded. As such the warranty is void and the repair bill is 1200. Do the think I'm stupid? BTW I never spilled any water on the Mac. This will be the last time I will EVER buy ANY APPLE product. Also note that there has been a lot of this claim of water damage by Apple so that they will VOID the warranty. maybe someone spilled water onto your mac book Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Which apple SVC ctr u went? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Call APPLE and complain bang table. i'm sure they will F the service centre for you. everything is negotiable. no such thing as "fixed policy" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Ya, full of sh*t. My iPad cannot charge. Brought it down to them, say my corner got 5mm dent so warranty VOID. I call Apple and f**k them jialat jialat. Told them you REPAIR for me lor, then use back my dented shell can bo?? Eventually they call the repair centre and finally change another set for me. Idiots.. Their rationale is that your dent is resultant of a drop (ie. mishandling / negligence). Henceforth, not covered under warranty. Not exactly wrong to have such a policy la ..... just that need to be prudent when exercising it. Eg. Should a car be under such warranty (thou unlikely), one can be saying, "I just crashed my car. Engine, pistons and all ... died liaoz. You just repair the engine la ... bodykit, bumper, etc - just use back the damaged one. No charge hor! Cos under warranty!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 last i heard, singapore very easy to trigger off water damage sensor due to our humidity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Go to the reputable apple svc ctr, my warranty experience with Apple has been mixed. Heard the amk n funan sapura r ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 I got a hunch that if a product under warranty is very old already, like coming to three years, then they will be more strict in granting free repair. So in this case, they dont give the benefit of doubt. Anyway if the warranty clauses state clearly the condition, then cannot argue . I have a fren bought a new lenovo laptop, one month later the screen crack for no reason, had to fork out $500 to repair, as the warranty doesnt cover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 So they gave you back the dented shell whilst changing the affected component inside? No, they gave me a new piece after I emailed them the picture. The customer service officer told me this. "its a small dent, no issue. don't understand why our authorized centre rejected you. We will change for you." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 Their rationale is that your dent is resultant of a drop (ie. mishandling / negligence). Henceforth, not covered under warranty. Not exactly wrong to have such a policy la ..... just that need to be prudent when exercising it. Eg. Should a car be under such warranty (thou unlikely), one can be saying, "I just crashed my car. Engine, pistons and all ... died liaoz. You just repair the engine la ... bodykit, bumper, etc - just use back the damaged one. No charge hor! Cos under warranty!" You know whats the best part, the service centre staff said, if its 4mm dent, we will change for you. 5mm warranty void. This is bullsh*t lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 17, 2013 Share January 17, 2013 No, they gave me a new piece after I emailed them the picture. The customer service officer told me this. "its a small dent, no issue. don't understand why our authorized centre rejected you. We will change for you." those ah beng in the authorised centre only want to sell, don't like to entertain servicing <_< ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...