Apple refuse to honour warranty on Macbook

Leok777

those ah beng in the authorised centre only want to sell, don't like to entertain servicing <_< <_<

Usually the case. No $ coming in mah.

I never buy extended warranty for anything - as wasteful as it is, we live in a disposable society. Your near 3 year old MBP is probably outdated already. Buy a new one and move on.

I have warranty which include coffe spilled, & other stupid things liek screen crack. Its not covered by the manufacturer, but the shop.

I know some of you will be, "Ok wait, by the shop, I have bad news for you..." but its common in Germany for big electronic chain, & normally the shop honoured the deal, but have to be careful as the warranty is auto renew, like XboxLIVE subscription, so yu have to remember to cancel in a few years time when you feel the value of the laptop cannot justifiy the warranty anymore.

Edited by Kiadaw

Hi guys just a warning on buying Apple Care. I bought my Macbook almost 3 years ago(Apple care warranty till March 2013). I just sent my Mac in for repair and they say that there are signs of Water Damage. The proof they say is that some parts are corroded. As such the warranty is void and the repair bill is 1200. Do the think I'm stupid? BTW I never spilled any water on the Mac.

This will be the last time I will EVER buy ANY APPLE product.

Also note that there has been a lot of this claim of water damage by Apple so that they will VOID the warranty.

Where do u send for servicing? I believe they have quote you to replace the main board...

I sent to Eserv in Paya Lebar. I'm going to the US this month so I;m gonna bring it there to try and see what they say. BTW I never spilled any water on it if you guys are wondering. I suspect its our climate so I dunno how they say its my fault.

as i said, go to amk or funan sapura. don't tell them about your Eserv experience if not they may use that against u.

no need to go US one first. Try and give us yr feedback.

I will suggest you to call Apple hotline to escalate further as you still have Applecare, see whether they can replace the parts out of good will.

i juz had my coming-3-year-old iMac repair for free by Eserv leh.... warranty under apple care... also, sign up membership for $32.90 got free collection n delivery service somemore... worth it cos mine is 27"... super heavy to carry it around... free 2 times for one year...

How can they void your warranty? :huh:

I assume you never dis-assemble your MAC book before and if the parts corrode, it is due to our humid Singapore weather...

agreed with your statement. Just wonder any security sticker from dismantling?

Weather may corrode that we have to argue with......unless some spillage that don't fight for it.

If you are not using your laptop and its environment change from aircon to outside air condensation will take place. Sure will corrode after some time. Handphone for those who put in pocket will come in contact with sweat. Ppl with sweaty palm more jialat. You say corrode or not?

as i said, go to amk or funan sapura. don't tell them about your Eserv experience if not they may use that against u.

no need to go US one first. Try and give us yr feedback.

I wonder if they share the a database - whereby they'll be able to easily check if you have had attempted to send in your product for servicing previously,.

How can they void your warranty? :huh:

I assume you never dis-assemble your MAC book before and if the parts corrode, it is due to our humid Singapore weather...

Never disassemble before doesn't mean didn't spill water onto the item, and/or dropped it into the pool, no?

I see water damage and corrosion as two different matter.

Water damage is the item comes into contact with water and *poof*, shorted or burnt i.e. no time to corrode.

Corrosion maybe due to environment or usage. It may not be valid because it is not mentioned in the operating guide i.e. the guide doesn't say you can't bring it from a hot to cold place immediate.

For info, one should ask which part of the warranty statement that points to this area. It must be specific.

i juz had my coming-3-year-old iMac repair for free by Eserv leh.... warranty under apple care... also, sign up membership for $32.90 got free collection n delivery service somemore... worth it cos mine is 27"... super heavy to carry it around... free 2 times for one year...

Dora, for iMac Applecare it comes free pickup and delivery back service but need to call Apple hotline to arrange.

http://www.apple.com/sg/support/products/mac.html

Because Apple designs the computer, the operating system and many applications, the Mac is a truly integrated system. And only the AppleCare Protection Plan gives you one-stop service and support from Apple experts, so most issues can be resolved in a single call.

-Direct access to Apple experts

-Global repair coverage1

-Onsite repair for desktop computers: request that a technician come to your workplace1

-Carry-in repair: take your Mac or Apple display to an Apple Retail Store or other Apple Authorised Service Provider