Linzw00 Neutral Newbie January 16, 2013 Share January 16, 2013 i think this matter would escalate to the highest priority if any of the minister or their family members are using the network ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 16, 2013 Share January 16, 2013 Most likely the engineer decided to take a smoke break in the equipment room thereby triggering the sprinkler system. Quite probable! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 "M1 will be offering all postpaid customers 3 days of free local mobile calls, SMS, MMS and data services as compensation for its latest service breakdown." Is it enough? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 "M1 will be offering all postpaid customers 3 days of free local mobile calls, SMS, MMS and data services as compensation for its latest service breakdown." Is it enough? 3 days service down, give you 3 days free lor.. simpur.. :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 (edited) xia suan...give 3 days free call. somemore, during CNY period. Many will be overseas. not many will call in/out during these period. at least give 2-3months free subscription. Lucky, i chop off my M1 line 5yrs ago. Edited January 18, 2013 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 3 days service down, give you 3 days free lor.. simpur.. :D I believe most people use within their plan limits. This is in effect useless Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 (edited) I believe most people use within their plan limits. This is in effect useless yalor .. if really sincere, knock off 10% of the monthly bill lah...after all 3 days/month ~10% ah ... wat crap about 'free' when my bill will show the same, with and without those 3 'free' days ....duh :angry: Edited January 18, 2013 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 power fault? cannot switch ON again to resume meh? haha There are rumours out there that says a false fire alarm triggered the water sprinklers in their server room, damaging the equipments. That can reasonably explain why it took so long to recover. And it leads one to wonder why was there no redundancy or warm DR site when telecommunications is listed as one of the critical infrastructure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XWD Neutral Newbie January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 If I recall correctly, this must be the longest outage a telco suffered in recent times. Wonder if they'll get fined? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 There are rumours out there that says a false fire alarm triggered the water sprinklers in their server room, damaging the equipments. That can reasonably explain why it took so long to recover. And it leads one to wonder why was there no redundancy or warm DR site when telecommunications is listed as one of the critical infrastructure. where got water sprinklers in datacenter 1 ... the planner, SI and the PM, manager-in-charge shall be sack immediately!!!! if u run water sprinklers in datacenter..it will not be able to recover or partial service cos all equipments are down !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 My family also stressed up without the network. Its clearly human error. If they need to perform work at sensitive area protected area, some safe guards or isolations must be engaged before allowing any works to be performed. Certain types of data room total flooding extinguishing agents can kill occupants when activated. If they said water sprinkler system for data centre, it is not the normal type we saw at office or shopping centre. It is the latest hydramist (watermist) fire suppression system. Many companies still cnnot accept putting water based system to protect electronics. The most popular choice is FM200. Hope there will be some good will compensation to users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 There are rumours out there that says a false fire alarm triggered the water sprinklers in their server room, damaging the equipments. That can reasonably explain why it took so long to recover. And it leads one to wonder why was there no redundancy or warm DR site when telecommunications is listed as one of the critical infrastructure. i can tell u the reason y there is not DR... to them, having a DR tat is slping and asymetric to their pri/sec DC is a waste of $$$... thus, the design of sec DC will be their DR... even though w/o a real DR meant for DR alone, by having a sec DC the outage should not be so huge and long... so my conclusion of their mobile DC is tat they do not hav a sec DC or a half f*** standard DC to save cost... juz my 2c worth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 yalor .. if really sincere, knock off 10% of the monthly bill lah...after all 3 days/month ~10% ah ... wat crap about 'free' when my bill will show the same, with and without those 3 'free' days ....duh :angry: My plans the data are unlimited, then how huh??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 where got water sprinklers in datacenter 1 ... the planner, SI and the PM, manager-in-charge shall be sack immediately!!!! if u run water sprinklers in datacenter..it will not be able to recover or partial service cos all equipments are down !!!! Their press release mentioned about water and gas discharge. Normal datacenters would be using FM200 gas supressors to extinguish any flames. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 My family also stressed up without the network. Its clearly human error. If they need to perform work at sensitive area protected area, some safe guards or isolations must be engaged before allowing any works to be performed. Certain types of data room total flooding extinguishing agents can kill occupants when activated. If they said water sprinkler system for data centre, it is not the normal type we saw at office or shopping centre. It is the latest hydramist (watermist) fire suppression system. Many companies still cnnot accept putting water based system to protect electronics. The most popular choice is FM200. Hope there will be some good will compensation to users. Finally M1 says it is giving 3 days of free services. http://sg.news.yahoo.com/m1-network-down-d...-031723311.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 i can tell u the reason y there is not DR... to them, having a DR tat is slping and asymetric to their pri/sec DC is a waste of $$$... thus, the design of sec DC will be their DR... even though w/o a real DR meant for DR alone, by having a sec DC the outage should not be so huge and long... so my conclusion of their mobile DC is tat they do not hav a sec DC or a half f*** standard DC to save cost... juz my 2c worth... Assuming their DC is at their HQ at Jurong, if the building collapses or is consumed by a major fire, it would take months to restore the services. Having a primary/secondary standby within the same DC doesn't help much if the primary site is down. Either their Contingency Planning or consultant did a bad job or there wasn't even one in the first place. They probably did not read the report on the study did on companies where those that had Contingency Planning and Disaster Recovery at remote sites managed to survive despite the WTC came crashing down after the terrorist attacks. Having redundancy on the systems and a remote DR site are 2 different things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 18, 2013 Share January 18, 2013 (edited) Actually I feel that there should not be any restriction to switch between local telco network ( M1, Starhub, Singtel ) when one network is down or no reception. I mean it is kinda stupid when my colleague receive reception on M1 network but not on my starhub network and I could not select M1 or Singtel network selection. Wonder why there is such restrictions, when main network has no reception, it may switch to malaysia or indo network if it detects network but not switch between local telco. Edited January 18, 2013 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear January 19, 2013 Share January 19, 2013 My plans the data are unlimited, then how huh??? Still 10% off lor After all, your unlimited plan was limited by loss of 3 days out of a month ... fair? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...