Cost of parquet flooring and laminate flooring

Baphomet

If bto flat I would still get the hdb STD flooring n it's under warranty n price cheaper rite

Pls correct me if I'm wrong

wrong...it is more expensive, same for the doors

and to make it worse, you need to pay interest becos it add to cost price of the flat.

but some couples may not have enough cash, so they may take the HDB flooring & doors

Woah.. thanks guys for the great advices. Really gave me some insights on what I should choose. [thumbsup]

BTO OCS (4 room) :

a) $5000 for flooring(homogenous tiles) (living/dining room and 3 bedrooms)

b) $3790 for internal doors and sanitary fittings (wash basin, water tap and shower mixer)

Thus was thinking if I were to do the flooring my own, no point taking up the OCS. For b), totally out, not going to take..fugly and grossly overpriced..

Initial plan was to have a "zen theme" whereby the whole house will have this woody relax environment... but then after much discussion.. taking into consideration what's discussed here..we came up with this :

take a) but overlay the bedrooms with laminate flooring (will try to find the flooring bro Jman888 mentioned). I reckon the cost for this should be ard 3-4k range.

What do you guys think?

Edited by Baphomet

Is it????????

Oh s--t I took the flooring but op out for the doors

Omg

Hahaha

Nvm in a way less work for me to do ba

actually it depends on how you look at it la.. the flooring can be paid using CPF.. I dont consider CPF as "my money" so if can use better use.. it will be a good 30+ years before I can smell it(provided the government don't further push the withdrawal limit...which is highly possible)

More importantly is if you like the design or not..

Edited by Baphomet

Initial plan was to have a "zen theme" whereby the whole house will have this woody relax environment... but then after much discussion.. taking into consideration what's discussed here..we came up with this :

take a) but overlay the bedrooms with laminate flooring (will try to find the flooring bro Jman888 mentioned). I reckon the cost for this should be ard 3-4k range.

What do you guys think?

I went to expo home exhibition after learning from bro mentioned here, there are 4-5 company selling laminated flooring, price differ. I spend some time talking and experiencing the 'feel' and sound, found one which is slightly ex by 20% compare with the rest, absorb sound better and half the thickness.

I am also sourcing for my house (3 bedroom + living), if you are doing only 3 bedroom, should be within your budget (for the better quality one).

pm me if you are interested or go down and explore, i was there also to find out about wallpaper and windows, exhibition end this weekend.

I was contemplating between laminate and parquet last year when I was moving to a new place. I decided to choose laminate in the end as it's easier to maintain and much cheaper. I am using Supreme AC3 laminate. Can't remember the pricing liao..... The other thing nobody has mentioned yet is that when you do laminate, skirting comes at no extra charge whereas for parquet, you will need to pay for it. The bigger size per-piece is, the more expensive it is. The other thing is the amount of time needed to install. If I'm not mistaken, from beginning to the end, it will take about 1 1/2 weeks to install. Laminate will be just in a day or 2 max.

I went to expo home exhibition after learning from bro mentioned here, there are 4-5 company selling laminated flooring, price differ. I spend some time talking and experiencing the 'feel' and sound, found one which is slightly ex by 20% compare with the rest, absorb sound better and half the thickness.

I am also sourcing for my house (3 bedroom + living), if you are doing only 3 bedroom, should be within your budget (for the better quality one).

pm me if you are interested or go down and explore, i was there also to find out about wallpaper and windows, exhibition end this weekend.

PM sent [:p]

but half the thickness? pardon my ignorance, but i thought laminate flooring thicker better?

I was contemplating between laminate and parquet last year when I was moving to a new place. I decided to choose laminate in the end as it's easier to maintain and much cheaper. I am using Supreme AC3 laminate. Can't remember the pricing liao..... The other thing nobody has mentioned yet is that when you do laminate, skirting comes at no extra charge whereas for parquet, you will need to pay for it. The bigger size per-piece is, the more expensive it is. The other thing is the amount of time needed to install. If I'm not mistaken, from beginning to the end, it will take about 1 1/2 weeks to install. Laminate will be just in a day or 2 max.

and if you have existing doors, it will probably have to be cut a bit to accomodate to the higher ground.

Yup.... On top of that, as we were buying resale, the existing flooring is marble which was not maintained at all. To knock off all the marble will cost a bomb also.

Woah.. thanks guys for the great advices. Really gave me some insights on what I should choose. [thumbsup]

BTO OCS (4 room) :

b) $3790 for internal doors and sanitary fittings (wash basin, water tap and shower mixer)

Thus was thinking if I were to do the flooring my own, no point taking up the OCS. For b), totally out, not going to take..fugly and grossly overpriced..

What do you guys think?

Besides the $$, i heard of horrible HDB workmanship.......... titles popping out, the titles grooves are not even.

i still prefer to get own contractor and own tiles to do it. i can supervise it properly.

Yup.... On top of that, as we were buying resale, the existing flooring is marble which was not maintained at all. To knock off all the marble will cost a bomb also.

wah..lay laminate on top marble..very sayang leh.. why not consider polishing the marble?

Laminates has its own set of problem and I do agree it makes maintenace hassle free...jus got to take extra care...I wont encourage the whole house if u hv kid/s. room is good enuff but must set some house rules for the kids... do check the joint to make sure they are ok...i installed mine n end up some w joint issues and they hv to come back to settle those...if it is immediately spotted good...if u waited for 1 yr....u will see the difference as overtime the wood will bloat a little....

Laminates are less boring compared with Parquet and u can play around with different theme w different design n colors...Parquet...I tot it was either lighter or darker n yes scratches can be quite unsightly....

Whatever market says water resistant, do note it is resist not proof..so if u didnt clean away the water...gone liao...ask the company come over...another few hundred bucks to get it replace..

u may look at berry floor laminate...they hv quite a number of choices...avoid those china made bah...

The laminate coy i chose so far quite good..even after 1 year+..the skirting came off..i told them, they come down to fix it FOC..

unless damage due to your own fault, u need to pay la..

My whole house laminate..except kitchen, toilets..hehe..so far ok..but got to look out esp when kids with water..

This the flooring tile i used..maintenace free and not easy to scratch

Wall paper find wall story can liao service good

the tile can layover another tile? or need to hack?

was talking to a salesgirl from wall story yesterday [laugh] [laugh]

also found another feature wall seller (made of fiber glass :o !) 4x the price of the wallpaper [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

BTO OCS (4 room) :

What do you guys think?

U can choose HERF/vinyl flooring. Better than laminate. Water resistant as well. Same concept.

Only concern would be the issue that it's plastic.

Your OCS so expensive?

My OCS is the crappy tiles for whole flat + doors. 4.2 - 4.5 k.

wrong...it is more expensive, same for the doors

and to make it worse, you need to pay interest becos it add to cost price of the flat.

but some couples may not have enough cash, so they may take the HDB flooring & doors

HDB is still cheaper. but of course can choose yourself better.