Cost of parquet flooring and laminate flooring

Baphomet

Not sure leh coz i do hacking

Iirc u nid to see ur existing tile first..hdb got requirement for overlay iirc

This tile is about 0.8 cm at least..

Fibre glass is like tat,that time my sis put a small pcs nia 1k plus

Feature wall laminate got many pattern liao also..use good plywood can liao..

the tile can layover another tile? or need to hack?

was talking to a salesgirl from wall story yesterday [laugh] [laugh]

also found another feature wall seller (made of fiber glass :o !) 4x the price of the wallpaper [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

how many walls you doing?

last time when i was doing reno for my current house though of using wallpaper for one wall... but then find not worth it as you need to buy whole roll just for that wall..will have alot of balance.

so in the end decided to play with different paints color. [:)]

U can choose HERF/vinyl flooring. Better than laminate. Water resistant as well. Same concept.

Only concern would be the issue that it's plastic.

Your OCS so expensive?

My OCS is the crappy tiles for whole flat + doors. 4.2 - 4.5 k.

plastic?? how's the texture? anyway will go down expo to check out this HERF.

Yah...mine is the new scheme..they take out the doors and combine with some sanitary fittings and break down into 2 components...meaning i have to pay 8K+ iso your 4.5K...

Haha.. u saw that booth 2..make from fibreglass..pretty cool..

I saw it at the previous exhibition..thot it look nice can use it to cover my balcony walls..till i hear the price..

1 panel is near $1k..& 1 panel oso not dat big..my balcony need at least 2 panels. :wacko:

plastic?? how's the texture? anyway will go down expo to check out this HERF.

Yah...mine is the new scheme..they take out the doors and combine with some sanitary fittings and break down into 2 components...meaning i have to pay 8K+ iso your 4.5K...

evorich flooring.

But its about 5 to 6+/psf

All the advantages of laminate but much more water resistant. My BTO is coming this year as well.

But i opted for the OCS already in 2010, so cant change -_-

evorich flooring.

But its about 5 to 6+/psf

All the advantages of laminate but much more water resistant. My BTO is coming this year as well.

But i opted for the OCS already in 2010, so cant change -_-

thats why i so concern now...going to make decision soon... so don't want regret later after collection..

at that pricing rough estimate will be ard 3k for 3 bedrooms bah..even if overlay whole house (exclude kitchen & service bay) should not be more then 5K(still cheaper then my OCS option)... i think still quite acceptable if it performs as promised.

Edited by Baphomet

Parquet flooring should cost around 1500-2000$ for 3 bedroom from what I remember.

Havent seen anyone do parquet in living room. Would look a bit odd for my taste.

Actually we did parquet the 3 bedrooms, living and dinning.

Haha.. u saw that booth 2..make from fibreglass..pretty cool..

I saw it at the previous exhibition..thot it look nice can use it to cover my balcony walls..till i hear the price..

1 panel is near $1k..& 1 panel oso not dat big..my balcony need at least 2 panels. :wacko:

ok if it can last 20-50 years, good thing is it is easy to install and recycle, when you move house can take it along. So better to choose a classic pattern that can last looking at it for 50 years [laugh] [laugh]

how many walls you doing?

last time when i was doing reno for my current house though of using wallpaper for one wall... but then find not worth it as you need to buy whole roll just for that wall..will have alot of balance.

so in the end decided to play with different paints color. [:)]

just exploring, wanted to 3D but since budget constraint, go for 2D lor [laugh]

actually it depends on how you look at it la.. the flooring can be paid using CPF.. I dont consider CPF as "my money" so if can use better use.. it will be a good 30+ years before I can smell it(provided the government don't further push the withdrawal limit...which is highly possible)

More importantly is if you like the design or not..

unless u have enough CPF in your OA to paid the house and monthly installment fully without topping up with cash...else u are still paying the floor/door with your own cash...of cos divided by 30 years + interest is not a lot of $$...but i will rather use the cash to get something i like and more value for $$

for my BTO, if i opt for flooring, it will be tiles which is rather slippery when wet

unless u have enough CPF in your OA to paid the house and monthly installment fully without topping up with cash...else u are still paying the floor/door with your own cash...of cos divided by 30 years + interest is not a lot of $$...but i will rather use the cash to get something i like and more value for $$

for my BTO, if i opt for flooring, it will be tiles which is rather slippery when wet

your wife not working? If 2 person shouldn't have problem paying..

my current flat is only me paying as during the time of purchase my wife not working.. so i pay everything. But for this new bto, probably will get my wife to share abit of the loan..

Edited by Baphomet

http://www.asiaone.com/A1Business/Property...027-380010.html

Melody Zaccheus

The Straits Times

Monday, Oct 29, 2012

The Housing Board has introduced a doors-and-sanitary fittings package for Build-To-Order (BTO) flats launched from September.

The package costs between $3,190 and $4,330, depending on the flat type.

Home owners say this scheme goes some way to address concerns about the cost of the HDB's doors-only package, which costs about $3,000 on average for four- and five-room flats.

Under HDB's Optional Component Scheme (OCS), buyers can opt to pay for extra finishes such as flooring and internal doors.

They pick their options when selecting their flat at HDB Hub, and can use their Central Provident Fund or mortgage loan for this.

The OCS includes an internal doors package that ranges from $600 to $3,080, depending on how big the flat is.

A set of five laminated semi-solid timber doors, for instance, costs $2,830 for BTO projects launched in March this year such as Fajar Hills and Clementi Ridges. At Punggol Opal, a project launched in July, the set costs $3,080.

This works out to $566 to $616 per door for four- and five-room flats.

However, suppliers say that similar quality doors can be got for about $230 each, including installation.

Best Industrial in Kaki Bukit Crescent, a specialist in timber doors, charges $230 for a laminated semi-solid door with a timber frame. A full timber door - solid with no coat - costs $200.

This package, which includes installation, works out to $1,150 for home owners, including HDB home buyers.

Yong Fang Doors in Upper Bukit Timah Road sells and installs timber doors at $330 each. UHome Interior Design in Upper Paya Lebar Road charges a similar rate and its doors come with a 15-month warranty.

Last month, the HDB offered a new package offering doors and sanitary fittings including wash basins, taps and shower mixers costing between $3,190 and $4,330.

Sanitary fittings have never featured in the OCS before.

An HDB spokesman said sanitary fittings were introduced to provide greater flexibility and to minimise wastage when buyers choose to customise their own fittings during renovation.

The market rate for taps ranges from $20 to $300. Sinks cost between $40 and $300 and shower mixers start below $100 and can go up to $500.

Some home buyers, like Miss L. P. Lim, 37, who is unemployed, said the doors-plus-sanitary-fittings deal makes the package more attractive.

She added that she was generally pleased with what HDB has on offer. "One is really paying for convenience. You don't have to worry about the basics because those are taken care of and it's hassle free for owners. All in all it works out to be quite a good deal."

An HDB spokesman said the doors are sourced from suppliers and it requires its suppliers to ensure good workmanship and finishes. The agency sets out detailed specifications for the installation, ironmongery and locksets of its doors. Its doors also go through a series of tests to ensure their durability.

"Installation works are carried out by professional contractors and supervised by a team of consultants. HDB also provides a one-year Defects Liability Period, during which all defective items, if any, will be rectified," he said.

He added: "As these standards are good practices and not regulations, it is likely the doors supplied by renovation contractors may not meet similar standards."

Mr Poh Chin Tiong, 54, the boss of Best Industrial in Kaki Bukit, said HDB owners typically buy doors that cost around $200 each.

"The doors installed at such a price add value to the house. But those on a tighter budget can opt for cheaper doors such as classic doors with hollow cores that we sell for about $100," he said.

Driving instructor Muhammad Suhaimi, 29, who bought a four-room flat in Yishun last year, said he is perplexed by the price disparity, a view echoed by most home owners The Straits Times spoke to.

"Why are private contractor rates cheaper? HDB is buying and installing in bulk. It doesn't make sense to me," said Mr Muhammad.

Ms Ivy Tang, 31, an executive in the container industry, said that HDB should flag and explain to home buyers the pros and cons of opting in or out of the doors scheme.

"HDB should pre-empt buyers who might opt in out of convenience, to do their own research and calculations, be it for flooring, doors or sanitary fittings," she said.

The HDB spokesman said optional components are generally popular among home buyers.

About 70 per cent of those who selected a flat in this year's January and March BTO sales exercises, for instance, opted for at least one item under the scheme - for either doors or flooring, or both.

He said: "Many buyers continue to select them as they do not then have to engage their own contractors to do the works later on."

Others such as Mr Musbah Hashim, 52, who is unemployed, said they have little choice but to opt in.

He bought a four-room flat in Choa Chu Kang two weeks ago. "We cannot pay private contractors cash up front, so we have to to opt in as the money can be deducted from our CPF," he said.

Self-sourced doors differ from what HDB has to offer, said Mr Toh Chee Boon, 40, the deputy director of China Construction, which is handling four HDB projects.

"HDB doors are firmer internally and more durable. Stringent checks are also in place to ensure that the doors installed are of good quality," he said.

Ultimately, consumers have a right to exercise their choice, said Mr Seah Seng Choon, the executive director of the Consumers Association of Singapore.

"Buyers need to determine if they are comparing apple to apple. If quality seems the same, they can always get their own private contractors at lower cost."

[email protected]

buy flat very headache one.. my BTO the lay out not very good for feng shui.. main door open 50% face kitchen entrance, which direct face service balcony door which directly faces the window.... so needs to extend/hack walls... I not pan tang one...but wife paranoid... so have to obey.

first house do so nice for what [confused] consperm you stay there 5 years, you itcy backside wanna upgrade liao [grin]

just do the normal normal reno, sit out 5 years, buy condo, rent out hdb, tan tua lui [grin]

cm7 aint a permanent thing you know [grin]

you do until so nice, wait rent to ah tiong and company, also no use :ph34r:

haha..if you mean owning only 1 house then yeah first house. Im selling off current house and buying this bto. But can buy condo and rent out HDB meh? Thought only the other way round?

what is cm7 argh? :huh:

House do nice, stay also happier mah. [:)]