Mustank Hypersonic January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 Must compete with surrounding HDB flats but near MRT will make it easier to rent to FT working in town with a budget. That's why those renting out their condos hate HDB owners renting out HDB ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 Whilst agreeing that COV is one of the culprits of property price increase, there is nothing govt can do about it as its a willing buyer, willing seller issue. For those guys who keep on harping on this, what's your solution? They want bto for singles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 It's amazing that most ppl still think that prices will move upwards after the latest CM and that the latest absd will be perm for a long long. Have they ignore the fact that 1) government also say that this is only temp. 2) after they buy they are locked in for 4 yrs 3) upside for property will be limited given the latest measure. 4) rental yield of property bought at current level rarely cover the cost i.e. rental < instal + pty tax + agent fee + income tax. Sorry.. but i think these ppl that spend their night at the showflat. maybe walking into a death-trap, if bubble burst within the next 4 yrs. they will be screwed. ** note: most if not all, are buying their 2/3th unit. buy new launch is capital gain cos zero rental for now. whether bubble burst or not depends on govt, who i think won't allow it to burst. US economy is picking so it can benefit our economy. Govt CM is not to burst bubble, but to limit growth. my guess is those who buy are not sudden buyers, but wanted to buy for some time but waiting for price to come down. in property there are 3 possibilities- rise, flat, fall. u bet on fall, u r taking a bet against 66.6%. yr odds of losing are higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 That's why those renting out their condos hate HDB owners renting out HDB tats a good tip. so don't buy condos near HDB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Veryfree Clutched January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 La Fiesta TOP June 2017 & Sengkang General Hospital TOP 2018 (just about 600~700m walk to Sengkang LRT/MRT/Bus Interchange), so rental to FT shouldn't be a problem Those who rush to buy are predicting Singapore is going stronger in economy forever, what a joke. SG is now a developed country, ie, growth rate shall be like USA. Japan, lower than 2% in average. Countries like Malaysia, Indonesia are emerging market with strong potential to develop couple with natural resources, SG with high living cost is moving to the cliff. I would love to see those who jump into the boat, will soon to find it sinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 (edited) Removed Edited January 12, 2013 by Deckbuild Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 Aniway.. the only fear now is that econ really tank... if world econ continue to get worse, i dun see how sg can escape totally. when that happens, interest rate high or low will not be a issue. Now interest rate so low, still housing mkt is weak.. EU pty mkt also.. So just watch for big company to start calling for help.... mkt will correct itself.. Hello, I don't think we are living in a same universe. You must be from another parallel universe somewhere. nice to meet you here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 (edited) buy new launch is capital gain cos zero rental for now. whether bubble burst or not depends on govt, who i think won't allow it to burst. US economy is picking so it can benefit our economy. Govt CM is not to burst bubble, but to limit growth. my guess is those who buy are not sudden buyers, but wanted to buy for some time but waiting for price to come down. in property there are 3 possibilities- rise, flat, fall. u bet on fall, u r taking a bet against 66.6%. yr odds of losing are higher. these are not sudden buyers.. but irrational buyers.... say.. mkt flat, rental at this price hardly cover cost, on top of that you are subjected to 4 yrs lock-in. the odds of gaining ,by rushing in now, is actually 33% only not 66%... i.e. only if prices rise and does not include the scenerio if it is flat. Also not forgetting that if the mkt really fall, the measure may be lifted. Edited January 12, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 Our interest rates are closely tied with that of the US interest rates. As long as the US interest rates are kept low.... Singapore will follow suit. But this may not be the case coming next year 2014, where it is expected to creep up slowly as the US economy recovery gains momentum. Even the FED Reserves has hinted that it will not be introducing any QEIII measures. The current US periodic economic data bear testament that its economy is on the right track (ranging from US consumer data, employment benefits, unemployment rates, housing price) to recover. Coupled with these latest round of cooling measure, the upward price trend in the local property market will be muted in the coming few years, especially when interest rates rise- those mortgages with floating interest rates will be hit hard.. let's wait n c i don't understand when ppl link housing to interest rates as the main factor. while it's not wrong, the main factor is the economy. even for a one mil home, a rise to 3% is just a couple of hundreds, which in good days (likely to be so since US is on the rise), most owners can tahan. but lose job, give u zero percent interest also cannot tahan. cos in a bad economy, rental will also be difficult to get. so bring on the rise of US. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 (edited) Hello, I don't think we are living in a same universe. You must be from another parallel universe somewhere. nice to meet you here! US housing mkt is still weak! i accidently deleted US. Edited January 12, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 these are not sudden buyers.. but irrational buyers.... say.. mkt flat, rental at this price hardly cover cost, on top of that you are subjected to 4 yrs lock-in. the odds of gaining ,by rushing in now, is actually 33% only not 66%... i.e. only if prices rise and does not include the scenerio if it is flat. Also not forgetting that if the mkt really fall, the measure may be lifted. there's no rental for new launch so no point talking about that. for the next 4 years, if u have capital gain, u win. flat, no win or lose. price fall u win. the odds of winning are 33%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 tats a good tip. so don't buy condos near HDB. You know who can buy unlimited number of property no need to pay absd? Hint: AMTK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 SC/SPR household allow to sublet whole flat? They already say no Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 Those who rush to buy are predicting Singapore is going stronger in economy forever, what a joke. SG is now a developed country, ie, growth rate shall be like USA. Japan, lower than 2% in average. Countries like Malaysia, Indonesia are emerging market with strong potential to develop couple with natural resources, SG with high living cost is moving to the cliff. I would love to see those who jump into the boat, will soon to find it sinking. buy when there's blood on the streets, which is happening in USA and Europe. Msia can try cos cheap. SG? i think it will be boring, not much gain or lose. ppl expect crash...quite hard la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 (edited) there's no rental for new launch so no point talking about that. for the next 4 years, if u have capital gain, u win. flat, no win or lose. price fall u win. the odds of winning are 33%. Please think again..remember these are not 1st pty owners since 1pty owner is not affected..... if mkt flat.. what you do with the unit ? sell.. you lose your stamp duty and bank charges and legal charges .. if you rent out.. cost is higher than yield... Edited January 12, 2013 by ShepherdPie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 You know who can buy unlimited number of property no need to pay absd? Hint: AMTK countries that fall under free trade agreement with SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 i don't understand when ppl link housing to interest rates as the main factor. while it's not wrong, the main factor is the economy. even for a one mil home, a rise to 3% is just a couple of hundreds, which in good days (likely to be so since US is on the rise), most owners can tahan. but lose job, give u zero percent interest also cannot tahan. cos in a bad economy, rental will also be difficult to get. so bring on the rise of US. the problem is that Singapore economy now is heavily linked to property industry. Wealth effect from the rising property price help to keep domestic economy intact, amid a lousy export performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear January 12, 2013 Share January 12, 2013 (edited) Please think.. if mkt flat.. what you do with the unit, rent out right ? remember these are not 1 pty since 1pty owner is not affected. btw, i need to add u don't bet for the next 4 yrs. that's not a fundamental in property investment. Raffles came 200 years ago and he certainly didn't think in 4 years, SG will be super rich. the fundamental would be to hold for rental, rise or flat. tats what i would do. Property and inflation go hand in hand. if 10 years later flat, then not too bad la. at least my bowl of noodles will cost the same. but thats very unlikely. & the question i pose to u is if u have 200k now, what u do? Put in bank? If don't believe in property fine, but pls do something with it cos being risk averse gets u nowhere. Edited January 12, 2013 by Felipe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...