Sp4wn Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Sorry for my language in this post but I'm exasperated ... I went for a run with a buddy, carrying only my iphone and my housekeys. my buddy had nothing. halfway through the run, a stranger comes up to us - his nose is broken, his tshirt is full of blood. he asks for help as he has no money but needs to get to a hospital. he is still bleeding around his face. we are near a bus stop ... my buddy flags down a cab and it goes something like this: me: "uncle, this guy is injured badly ... his whole face is bleeding and he need help .. please take him to hospital" taxi: "no way ... he will bleed all over my taxi" me: "uncle ... im out for a jog, if i have $, i will give you right now. take my mobile no and "test". you come collect the money from me later. to and fro also can. just take him" taxi: "no way... he will dirty my cab. why should i?" me: "uncle how can you like that. i will pay for the cleaning ok? just take him" stranger: "FORGET IT LAH this guy wont help me..." (a bus comes along and the stranger, full of blood on his tshirt, just hops on. bus driver and passengers are shocked.) me to bus uncle: "uncle .. i call for ambulance ... can you wait?" bus driver doesnt understand ... shrugs ... closes the door and drives off. the passengers are looking at me, im looking at them, and i've called the ambulance. ambulance hotline says as he got on the bus ... nothing the emergency service can do ... i even gave them the bus license plate no ... but they cant do anything liao ... i really wish i took down the cab driver's license plate. this stranger had a broken nose and was still bleeding and he is somewhere out there on bus 14 to orchard road ... seriously ... there were other people nearby but they didnt even bother to help, or try to assist us since neither of us had cash handy argH!!! this is just f--king b-------t ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 this is SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 this is SG Actually. Sadly, we are living in a selfish self centered society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 U got car to sent him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ericongy 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Welcome to Singapore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 you think this is bad ? try this in china and you will be amazed w the responses you get Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Well what do you expecting them to do ? You cant expect some one but you can always ASK for help. But since he board the bus why bother so much ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 We have become a society lacking in moral values and compassion. Every man for himself. Ok, time for govt bashing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 you think this is bad ? try this in china and you will be amazed w the responses you get Bro, China is a developing country, while Singapore is a developed, 1st world country & supposedly world class education system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Author Share January 8, 2013 U got car to sent him? out for a run bro. abt 2+km away from home with no $ myself. by the time run home, take keys, wallet and drive back, at least 20min +. if someone is bleeding profusely, doesnt make sense to make him wait so long Well what do you expecting them to do ? You cant expect some one but you can always ASK for help. But since he board the bus why bother so much ? bro, i did ASK for help. i even offered to pay the taxi driver to take him. if taxi driver told me to sms him to pay $200 for cleaning fees i would have done so. do you know why i bother? because no one else did. the few people around JUST EYE POWER. if the taxi driver had taken the guy, i wont even bother to post this story. i dont need credit. but we should all try to help one another. what if he injured himself badly and he doesnt know the extent of the injury? concussion from a fall? maybe you feel indifferent, but i do not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Bro, China is a developing country, while Singapore is a developed, 1st world country & supposedly world class education system. moral values and compassion dun differ in 1st or 3rd world..... just like poor dun warrant u to steal from the rich, or rich warrant u to fraud or cheat from the poor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 1st world hardware 3rd world software Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 You seems to be the odd one here... but good to know there are still such good Samaritan around! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 this is the kind of society our garment has nurtured the citizens into. every man for themselves. don't bother or depend on them is the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) out for a run bro. abt 2+km away from home with no $ myself. by the time run home, take keys, wallet and drive back, at least 20min +. if someone is bleeding profusely, doesnt make sense to make him wait so long bro, i did ASK for help. i even offered to pay the taxi driver to take him. if taxi driver told me to sms him to pay $200 for cleaning fees i would have done so. do you know why i bother? because no one else did. the few people around JUST EYE POWER. if the taxi driver had taken the guy, i wont even bother to post this story. i dont need credit. but we should all try to help one another. what if he injured himself badly and he doesnt know the extent of the injury? concussion from a fall? maybe you feel indifferent, but i do not. I agree , but next time when u go out for a run , bring some cash. I always bring some just in case things like this happen(if not for food just in case i hungry). In fact i have sent people to A&E before paying for the cab fair which probably cost me whatever i had and i had to walk home. Anyway u would have taken the cab along with him and ask him to drive u back to ur place to take money and keys. Sad to say , our garmen has failed to cultivate the willingness to help and the need to help someone in need in our people. Our parents generation has this kampung spirit which has since eluded us. Just look at our ministers , most are self serving , if not why need that high pay? They can even claim the need for millions of dollar in salary but since when have they donated a significant percentage of whatever they have ? Since they claim they are serving the nation as public servants , if they don't need so much money why never donate out? Aiya , to me , don't bother ranting , can help just help , don't care about what others do , it won't improve anything. Edited January 8, 2013 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Actually TS could have just called the ambulance with his iphone on hand. Think about it, taxi uncle busy making a living and cannot afford the mess and time loss for the clean-up, etc. Maybe another perspective is to ask yourself would you do it if it is your own car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 out for a run bro. abt 2+km away from home with no $ myself. by the time run home, take keys, wallet and drive back, at least 20min +. if someone is bleeding profusely, doesnt make sense to make him wait so long bro, i did ASK for help. i even offered to pay the taxi driver to take him. if taxi driver told me to sms him to pay $200 for cleaning fees i would have done so. do you know why i bother? because no one else did. the few people around JUST EYE POWER. if the taxi driver had taken the guy, i wont even bother to post this story. i dont need credit. but we should all try to help one another. what if he injured himself badly and he doesnt know the extent of the injury? concussion from a fall? maybe you feel indifferent, but i do not. I agree , but next time when u go out for a run , bring some cash. I always bring some just in case things like this happen. In fact i have sent people to A&E before paying for the cab fair which probably cost me whatever i had and i had to walk home. Sad to say , our garmen has failed to cultivate the willingness to help and the need to help someone in need in our people. Our parents generation has this kampung spirit which has since eluded us. Just look at our ministers , most are self serving , if not why need that high pay? They can even claim the need for millions of dollar in salary but since when have they donated a significant percentage of whatever they have ? Since they claim they are serving the nation as public servants , if they don't need so much money why never donate out? Aiya , to me , don't bother ranting , can help just help , don't care about what others do , it won't improve anything. Bros, good deeds both of you [thumbsup] Don't let disappointments dampen your desire to help others boleh? Suffice to say I have done what you have done & will continue to do so. Do what you feel is right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 In about 30 years of going "from third world to first", we have become - Every man for himself - Mind our own business - Survival of the fittest etc etc. It stretches from the top down, and is a reflection of what our country has become. I understand that Singapore in a certain way has to be constantly on guard because of circumstances, but we have gone too far that way such that even individuals on the streets exhibit such behaviour. Selfish, self-centered, uncaring and lacking in compassion or moral values. First world? Far from it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...