Million Dollar RR Lawsuit

A BILLIONAIRE'S bid to seek more than $1 million in damages from a Rolls-Royce car dealer here over an alleged defect in a $1.4 million Phantom began in the High Court yesterday.

Mr Koh Wee Meng, boss of the Fragrance Group, alleges that the high-end luxury car, bought in December 2008, emits noises and vibrates when moving out of a three-point turn.

The 50-year-old said he had complained many times to Trans Eurokars and was assured the problem would be rectified. When no remedy was in sight, he decided to sue the dealer.

"I consider it a defect, I cannot accept it," he said on the stand yesterday.

Trans Eurokars said the noise and vibration is a characteristic of the Phantom and cannot be considered a defect.

Each side has engaged expert witnesses to support its case.

Mr Koh is seeking more than $1 million in damages - the difference between the car's purchase price and its scrap value of more than $300,000.

The property and budget-hotel tycoon was ranked Singapore's 15th-richest man by Forbes last year, with an estimated net worth of US$1.25 billion (S$1.54 billion).

"That price was paid for what Rolls-Royce itself claimed was ultimate luxury, pin-drop silence and near perfection," his lawyer, Senior Counsel Davinder Singh, said in his opening statement.

Instead, Mr Koh got "a Phantom plagued by noises and vibrations" when it moved out of a three-point turn, added the lawyer.

Trans Eurokars' lawyer, Senior Counsel Tan Chee Meng, noted that Mr Koh was claiming damages for a car he had driven for four years and which had clocked some 46,000km to date.

But Mr Koh noted that he had complained within three days of taking delivery.

Mr Tan pointed out that between November 2009 and September 2011, Mr Koh had sent the car to the workshop for servicing and other works no fewer than eight times but did not complain about the noise and vibration, and suggested that the issue was "non-existent" during this period.

Mr Koh disagreed. He replied that since Trans Eurokars was not able to resolve the problem, he saw no point in dragging it up every time he went to the workshop for other issues.

In a statement yesterday, Rolls-Royce Motor Cars said it has supported the dealer over the past four years in its dealings with Mr Koh. "We have not experienced any similar complaint from any other customer anywhere in the world."

A record 39 Rolls-Royce cars were sold here in 2011.

The trial continues today.

[email protected]

should have told him to do a 4 point turn. that way, no sound liao. lol.

iirc though, his is a parallel import RR?

"We have not experienced any similar complaint from any other customer anywhere in the world."

no complain does not mean it dont exist at all.... -_-

law suits are meant for the rich. Peasants suck thumbs [dead]

If a B & B car can do a 3 pt turn without vibration and noise, i can certainly understand Mr Koh's frustration of having to tolerate this imperfection in his RR. I think he is trying to use the Lemon law to claim the damage.

"We have not experienced any similar complaint from any other customer anywhere in the world."

I would assume RR owners are rich and they are not peasants.

If a B & B car can do a 3 pt turn without vibration and noise, i can certainly understand Mr Koh's frustration of having to tolerate this imperfection in his RR. I think he is trying to use the Lemon law to claim the damage.

Got one lah, just that our expectations are not as high so we tend to overlook them..

steering pump noise/vibration when steering in fulllock?

should have bought lexus lah,

hit pple oso can't hear anything...

i tot no complain so most likely this was a lemon? [laugh]

Just to share so that we can put a face to the story.

Optimized-rollsroycesuit.jpg

Wonder also if any tycoon were to sue because the car is too quiet till don't know if engine is working or not [laugh]

Edited by Xefera

One big round for others to admire as well...

eee. i wouldnt admire a RR le ... looks like a beast more than beauty :D

Individual lah, I rather look at RR and Bentley than Supercars, I have an uncles eye [laugh]