Qpik Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 forummers here like to quote "it's the driver and not make of the vehicle" but prata their words when it comes to taxi. we will never remember those who committed the same acts cos what sets them apart are the type of vehicles they are driving. being a public transport provider, their cars are more distinctive thus makes them easier to remember. so before we starts to comment on them, just remember they are just like any other drivers here. and one might never know their next ride might be a taxi instead of a private car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Yes, noticed that too. Some of them may be too tired to maintain lane discipline, some just simply cultivated this bad habit. At least 4 out of 10 taxis straddle the lanes!!! Actually i realised that too... but i believe they do that to give themselves space to switch lanes faster... this kind of actions endanger the motorcyclist the most... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kchew21 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Similar to maid training program....maybe it is HIGH TIME now that they need to go refresher course on yearly basis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvingoh45 Clutched January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Some driver drive abit faster only (95km/h). And want to drive like his grand father road as if everyone is a road hogger except himself and everyone must give way to him. I have encounter many times when driving at 90km/h and an idiot will Hiong Hiong come out from no where And tailgate till nearly touch my bumper. After I filtered left and he over took me, he also drive at 90km/h. Therefore how are we suppose to explain this type of driving attitude. Ego, kiasu, self centred....... Or whatever Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 TAXI DRIVERS ARE MORONS. PERIOD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 We are a developed country...hope our taxi drivers can learn from JaPan Taxi drivers. They are patient, courteous and do not hog roads. But they will first demand Japan taxi rate before they can drive at their leisure time in between fares like Japan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Ytd saw this thread Tdy jus took kpe Lane 1 all jammed up traveling at ard 60 Yup first in the lot Is a yellow color sonata Zzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuhao Neutral Newbie January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) once i encountered a taxi hogging on CTE first lane at around 60km/h. it was peak hour at 8.30am. road ahead of him was clear. i overtook him from second lane and took a peek into the taxi and saw the driver was chatting with his backseat passenger, with lots of gestures and face looking behind to passenger, not looking into front. a bmw following me overtook him too. minutes later, traffic slowing down so i slow down and we came into a standstill. then suddenly i heard a loud bang followed by another bang. my car was almost off the ground. that taxi crashed into the bmw at high speed (60km/h) and the strong force pushed the bmw crashed into mine too. that was my only accident in past 10 years. the bonnet of the taxi is basically gone and water leaking badly. bmw rear and front bumper some scratches (hmm...solid car). my rear bumper needs replace. the taxi driver asked me whether i can help send his passenger to court. she needed to attend court. i realized he must be chatting with his passenger on some exciting court story... Edited January 8, 2013 by Liuhao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpeh23 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 I have seen my fair share of taxi drivers who stop abruptly and recklessly to pick up passengers, cut in and out of lanes dangerously, drive like they are F1 racers, tailgate closely etc. tbh I do not have a good impression of them although I acknowledge there are good taxi drivers out there too. A pity these black sheep are spoiling their image. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 i overtook him from second lane and took a peek into the taxi and saw the driver was chatting with his backseat passenger, with lots of gestures and face looking behind to passenger, not looking into front. I noticed that whenever I pass a slow taxi on the highway, it's either an old driver or the driver is chatting away to his passenger(s) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomsss Neutral Newbie January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 When they are not carrying passengers, they hog. When got passengers, they fly. But sometimes I do notice that hog while carrying passengers as well, and when I overtake them, I would see the uncle yak yak yak with hand gestures and all to the passengers behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andilau78 Neutral Newbie January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 (edited) I think you are a bit bias against taxi drivers in sg. Yes i do agree wit u that there r some taxi drivers who r driving recklessly. But have u ever tot of their stress level if they cant break even their rental and petrol $$$??? I assume u r workin in office management, then u too r back stabber rite? U guys office politic is even much more worse. Can even break some 1 rice bowl to get urself up to a higher position. Overall, don condemn others when u urself are also not so perfect. If u r a 100% perfect human being, u don even haf to take taxi, u shd haf your own employ driver. Since u r so smart in reading ppl minds Oh ya, i myself is a relief taxi driver too. But i do own a toyota vios White belta.. My car is full of stickers with a Big WORD 'LING" in chinese. Try me if u c me on the road. I'm always ready to play wit u no matter wat car u driving. Edited January 8, 2013 by Andilau78 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 80% - UNSPEAKABLE..... balance 20% - not so bad + some good... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormvirus 1st Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 dont be a frog in the well ok, drive taxi dont be a moron & talk about stress , many white collar jobs out there easily much much more stress than driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Dont ASSume white collar jobs stress r way above taxi driver. Learn to accept different jobs different types of stress. Dont act high and mighty else u r no different from another frog. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 ......... Try me if u c me on the road. I'm always ready to play wit u no matter wat car u driving. How do you play when there are other road users around? Or when you have passengers? Roads are for users going from A to B. Do you mean they are your playground? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 Jeepoon taxi uncles damn one kind:- wear white gloves and like to read in the driver's seat when they wait at taxi stand.... Maybe they read a lot of porn paperbacks? Next time I check if they also always lim kopi at kopitiam like sgp taxi uncles When they try to load your luggage into the boot, they handled it with great care. Not sure if they are afraid of your luggage scratching their car or your luggage being scratched. The latter of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear January 8, 2013 Share January 8, 2013 TS so good ah only said 80% of them but to me on the road 90% of the taxi drivers have all sort of stunts they do.. U name it they do it.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...