KBW hoot EC developer

Mockngbrd

dont expect him to read through all the policy lah.

I do expect him to read thru ALL his ministry's policies. Else how are you going to maker the changes is you don't even know what is the currect policy?

And it does not take 2 years to understand it all. It only takes you a month.

You have civil servants and Perm Secs to explain the intent of each policy.

The root cause of it is basically cluelessness on what needs to be done. Past occurences are evidence of the fact. Heard of Cooling Measures that don't cool?

Lets call a spade, a spade. :angry:

Another loophole which definitely can be fixed for EC sales, is to cap the sale price based on a multiplier factor based on the income ceiling limit. This will prevent $2m units from being marketed, which in turn will limit the amount which the developer will tender for the land. And if the developer tries to play punk by coming up with mickey mouse units which cannot be sold, they will get bitten if the units cannot sell.

Limiting the amount developer can tender i.e. revenue collected is lesser... hmmm a bit unlikely I feel. But if the policy of developer cannot include such space into liveable space calculation then I think is good for most buyer cos Singapore too hot and wet to use such space la... in the end all will become laundry area and storeroom for bicycle and miscellaneous.

But 羊毛生在羊身上 I am sure those smart people in developer guise will find ways to claw back the land / dev cost.

Edited by Dice

you think he super man meh? dont expect him to read through all the policy lah.

at least he do one better than MBT. know that there is a loophole. acknowledge and close it.

better than fake innocent. and dont care.

I disagree, you're not talking about some normal civil servant or perm sec or minister of state leh, you are talking about the minister in charge. Ordinary SGeans actually wondered about it first, how pathetic is that?

There is no pleasing you Singaporeans

Give Khaw Boon Wan credit. There was an abuse of the EC scheme, it was made public and he acted to stop it in a matter of weeks.

previous ministers would have given you guys beautiful strategic excuses and just said "we should leave it to market forces to decide"

Instead of saying well done, at least you finally listen to us citizens, many of you still have so much criticisms

We as citizens have to be fair, time to f--k , please do so. But also at times be gracious and say good job .

Give Khaw Boon Wan credit. There was an abuse of the EC scheme, it was made public and he acted to stop it in a matter of weeks.

previous ministers would have given you guys beautiful strategic excuses and just said "we should leave it to market forces to decide"

Instead of saying well done, at least you finally listen to us citizens, many of you still have so much criticisms

We as citizens have to be fair, time to f--k , please do so. But also at times be gracious and say good job .

So you think is good job, others like me may think otherwise. Don't try to take the moral high ground by saying those who say good job are gracious lah. [shakehead]

亡羊补牢!

Is better late than never...but I believe more need to be done...I am those that cannot apply HDB or EC and cannot afford private..in the middle of nowhere....

the government is testing water, on one hand many people say housing expensive cannot afford....

on the other hand, more are able to upgrade to EC, pay million for HDB, $250K of COV, then super penthouse exceed $2 million [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

now they know they can justify the next batch of BTO can fetch above $500K for 4 room flat liao [laugh] [laugh]

Is better late than never...but I believe more need to be done...I am those that cannot apply HDB or EC and cannot afford private..in the middle of nowhere....

You local or not? :(

Well Said! [thumbsup]

I would rather he wake up now and do something about the situation than just sit back and do nothing.

So you think is good job, others like me may think otherwise. Don't try to take the moral high ground by saying those who say good job are gracious lah. [shakehead]

don't be blinded by hate too

see... so much hate...

much as i dislike PAP and everything they stand for, i do think at least this guy is (slightly) better den MBT... that fella will just say, suck it up, no $$$ dun buy...

I feel Khaw is not setting his priorities right.

The issue about roof top terrace, aircon ledges and balconies has been in existence for years. But it is now played up becos the project in question is an EC. The question everyone is asking is why an EC should have a penthouse and is priced at 2.05 mio. Or to be more exact, why are developers selling large-sized units and in the process, give a price tag which is obviously beyond the means of a family within the 12k income limit.

People are not happy that subsidies are given to buyers who can afford to pay 2 mio.

Edited by Altivo

I disagree, you're not talking about some normal civil servant or perm sec or minister of state leh, you are talking about the minister in charge. Ordinary SGeans actually wondered about it first, how pathetic is that?

he in charge of URA, HDB, bla bla bla.. each got thousand of Policy. and you expect him to know all the policy??? i dont think Steve job know all of apple company policy too.

Anyway, why was it called a loop hole?? not because it was intentionally create to have loop (assuming all done clean) its because from policy maker point of view, its clearly fit it purpose. but human are able to find way to avoid it.

The issue about roof top terrace, aircon ledges and balconies has been in existence for years. But it is now played up becos the project in question is an EC. The question everyone is asking is why an EC should have a penthouse and is priced at 2.05 mio. Or to be more exact, why are developers selling large-sized units and in the process, give a price tag which is obviously beyond the means of a family within the 12k income limit.

People are not happy that subsidies are given to buyers who can afford to pay 2 mio.

can sell large-size unit lah, i dont want to live in small size unit.

but must price properly and size it properly. cannot be too large that cannot afford for people who fall within the 12K range lah.

he in charge of URA, HDB, bla bla bla.. each got thousand of Policy. and you expect him to know all the policy??? i dont think Steve job know all of apple company policy too.

Anyway, why was it called a loop hole?? not because it was intentionally create to have loop (assuming all done clean) its because from policy maker point of view, its clearly fit it purpose. but human are able to find way to avoid it.

actually not that i want to blow trumpet. when heron bay was launched with news of the cheap penthouse, i was the first in MCF (and definitely earlier than khaw)to say it is a loophole.

khaw, with such mammoth resources at his disposal, is still one-ec-launch slower than me at coming to conclusion there is a loophole. [cool]

see... so much hate...

much as i dislike PAP and everything they stand for, i do think at least this guy is (slightly) better den MBT... that fella will just say, suck it up, no $$$ dun buy...

Where on earth is there hate? I just said he fell short, then MBT is brought up to show he didn't fall short. Why can't it be that both MBT fell short and Khaw fell short in this instance too?

i also think the same. the issue about the ec is "rich people encroaching into middle income's space", not about roof terrace issues. they wanna fix roof terrace issues, hoping that it would also address the original issue of "rich people encroaching into middle income's space"?

i aint know how it would address this original issue [:/]

i think there are 2 possible outcome to roof terrace issues:

1) cap 50% of those free roof terrace for sale to individual owners (but all 100% roof terrace areas still free to developer

2) developer decides how much open roof terrace space to sell to individual vs for commnual. but those that sell to individual, govt start to charge money

either way, all owners will lose out because:

once more of these free roof terrace space cannot be sold at a good profit (as compared to currently) to individual owners but have to be used as free commnual space, developer will up the psf of everybody to cover his "loss of profit" from the sale of roof terrace to individual owners