KBW hoot EC developer

Mockngbrd

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/...s-khaw-20130107

g8I7w.gif

but this part he abit daft: "Mr Khaw said that he was originally "baffled" that developers were "short-changing" themselves by launching such massive units, as they could have made more money by using the space for two or three normal-sized apartments.

After looking into the matter, he realised that developers were using a loophole in the rules to profit from the super-sized units. Currently, they do not have to pay development charges on outdoor roof terraces, as URA wants to encourage developers to build more communal outdoor space for residents to enjoy. "

i no look into the matter i already know liao....

Edited by Mockngbrd

haha you use this animated pic again. later forumers accused you make them giddy haha.

anyway, kbw seems to like to censure developers over blogs and interviews but stopped short of making changes to rules and legislation.

They really come up with new rules to prevent the developers from abusing the loophole. Otherwise more will follow in the foot step.

from KBW, I understand the statement

talk is cheap

but housing is not

Edited by Enye

Same reason why a lot of condo units built in the last 10 years came with useless planter boxes, raised bay window ledges, and open balconies. No development charge, included into the unit's size, and multiply by the per square foot rates, viola! Inflated selling price!

I believe they have to pay DC. But still cheap compared to land price

but this part he abit daft: "Mr Khaw said that he was originally "baffled" that developers were "short-changing" themselves by launching such massive units, as they could have made more money by using the space for two or three normal-sized apartments.

After looking into the matter, he realised that developers were using a loophole in the rules to profit from the super-sized units. Currently, they do not have to pay development charges on outdoor roof terraces, as URA wants to encourage developers to build more communal outdoor space for residents to enjoy. "

i guess he going to take away the loop hole :D

before he can take away the loop hole, we already in the sink hole.. :mellow: :mellow: :mellow:

only that few carrot head willing to be chopped! :D

knn....any tom dick harry also know it's a loophole exploited by developers....knn, he still need to look into the matter to know the truth??? That means he has been living in mars for the last 10 years.

Over the last 10 plus years, all the developments come with bloody stupid planter, bay windows and super duper large balcony.....you mean MND need to take so long to realise it? Talk is cheap, how about asking developer to retroactively refund all the money earned from these tricks back to the buyers?

i think that few super EC penthouse owners are happy of their purchase, they won't feel disappointed as they made it to the news and moment of fame! :D

Developers' selling off free spaces to make additional profit for themselves is not improper under current URA rules. But as more developers do so, with larger private roof terraces and PES, communal space in the development that benefits all residents will correspondingly shrink. There is a further downstream problem as some buyers may be disappointed later on, when they find out that these outdoor spaces that they have paid for are not allowed to be covered up or enclosed.

I have directed URA to review this policy and have it fixed.

i think that few super EC penthouse owners are happy of their purchase, they won't feel disappointed as they made it to the news and moment of fame! :D

Developers' selling off free spaces to make additional profit for themselves is not improper under current URA rules. But as more developers do so, with larger private roof terraces and PES, communal space in the development that benefits all residents will correspondingly shrink. There is a further downstream problem as some buyers may be disappointed later on, when they find out that these outdoor spaces that they have paid for are not allowed to be covered up or enclosed.

I have directed URA to review this policy and have it fixed.

khawboonwan07e.jpg

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said Monday that he has directed the Urban Redevelopment Agency to tighten the rules on the developers of executive condominium projects to prevent them from launching luxury, super-sized units. -- ST PHOTO: JOYCE FANG

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said Monday that he has directed the Urban Redevelopment Agency (URA) to tighten the rules on the developers of executive condominium (EC) projects to prevent them from launching luxury, super-sized units.

These million-dollar ECs, like a 4,349 sq ft "presidential suite" at the recent CityLife @ Tampines development that cost over $2 million, have created understandable public indignation, wrote Mr Khaw on his blog. This is because they are "deviations" from the EC scheme's original mission of providing housing for the sandwiched class - those over the income limit for an HDB flat, but who cannot afford private property.

Mr Khaw said that he was originally "baffled" that developers were "short-changing" themselves by launching such massive units, as they could have made more money by using the space for two or three normal-sized apartments.

After looking into the matter, he realised that developers were using a loophole in the rules to profit from the super-sized units. Currently, they do not have to pay development charges on outdoor roof terraces, as URA wants to encourage developers to build more communal outdoor space for residents to enjoy.

I am baffled by his reply.... ^_^

knn....any tom dick harry also know it's a loophole exploited by developers....knn, he still need to look into the matter to know the truth??? That means he has been living in mars for the last 10 years.

Over the last 10 plus years, all the developments come with bloody stupid planter, bay windows and super duper large balcony.....you mean MND need to take so long to realise it? Talk is cheap, how about asking developer to retroactively refund all the money earned from these tricks back to the buyers?

because he is minister.. he should speak base on real evident instead of just shooting off base on impression mah.

(not saying all they say is base on concret evident though [lipsrsealed] )

Does it mean that communal space intended like roof top garden for all residents is now being incorporated into someone's premium EC flat because their father can pay for it????

My goodness. :angry:

They really come up with new rules to prevent the developers from abusing the loophole. Otherwise more will follow in the foot step.

Plug new loop and claw back the space for this one!!

Imagine if you just bought the Tampines EC and you already shortchanged a rooftop garden??

Hope the buyers band together.