COE Bidding 1st - Jan 2013

Steptronic

I'm one of those who traded in newer car for older used car. I bought an Optima K5 when it was launched and was pretty happy with the car, until i was tasked to take care of our new KL office so i had drive up and down between kl-sgp regularly.

Unfortunately the K5 is underpowered in those conditions (for my tastes) and i was not happy with the high speed stability as well. Since COEs had gone up since i got the car (my COE was 62k), i found out that i could trade it in for a minimal depreciation hit. So i traded it in for a 3 year+ old turbo wagon which suits my requirements better.

Unfortunately for the dealer to took my K5 in, they haven't sold the car since august.

On 1/10/2013 at 8:00 AM, Tohto said:

There are 2 at my place mscp. Own by a couple.

Husband drive 1, wife drive 1. They must be like it so much that buy 2 same car in the family. [idea]

Was it one black one red?

On 1/10/2013 at 3:30 AM, Zogel said:

Yup. i hope GE quickly cme. WP will take away coe n erp n also build another 2000km of roads. Prices of houses will be halved too. Deflation will cme bck, foreigners wil be chased away n i can shop in orchard rd again. Life will be great!

duh.

exactly .. as if opposition can make wonders . c--k la some ppl here .

On 1/10/2013 at 2:45 PM, Xxadidasxx said:

Really mad pay $93 k for a paper Chinese new year coming 1 think 2nd biding will go up maybe $95 k 2013 I think we shall see record high well done LTA [mad]

For those who keep saying COE is a $90-whatever-thousand piece of paper should wake up. The title deed to your million dollar condo/house is also paper.

It's not the piece of paper you are buying but the privilege that the piece of paper gives you (i.e. to own a car).

On 1/10/2013 at 2:45 PM, Xxadidasxx said:

Really mad pay $93 k for a paper Chinese new year coming 1 think 2nd biding will go up maybe $95 k 2013 I think we shall see record high well done LTA [mad]

If you remember credit crunch of 2009 - COE few thousand only but ppl scared to buy car, scared for their jobs, scared for their future. You prefer that?

Ppl can pay $93k for COE cos in the same 10yrs they earn 10 times more.

On 1/10/2013 at 12:02 PM, Battledome64 said:

Did you read the news

Nothing will Be done to curb prices n govt has no intention to change policy

http://m.insing.com/news/news/government-t...ary/id-166a3f00

Such a good revenue for LTA also they think this policy can reduce car population on the road greatly, dont think they will want to curb prices and change policy. [rolleyes]

problem is the sky high coe created by ourselves... gov cut if less people buy coe will still be the same or even lower... now gov cut but people willing to fork 90k for the paper... now i cannot buy car can only blame myself not rich enough or foolish enough to burn my money... i daily jus bus train and cab to everywhere... extra money all in pocket for the family... :wub:

On 1/11/2013 at 12:53 AM, Khimwoon said:

problem is the sky high coe created by ourselves... gov cut if less people buy coe will still be the same or even lower... now gov cut but people willing to fork 90k for the paper... now i cannot buy car can only blame myself not rich enough or foolish enough to burn my money... i daily jus bus train and cab to everywhere... extra money all in pocket for the family... :wub:

But i need the car to fetch my kids to school, to fetch my wife to market, to fetch my aged mother to hospital, to go NTUC etc etc. I also need the car for my job. I cannot blame myself for taking a sales job, for not being rich. COE should be cheap cheap for people like me so that I can buy my new car. Re-sale car is not an option becos they also breakdown and I die die must buy new car. Buy re-sale car, people will laugh at me and during CNY visit, no new car, cannot haolian, no face ....

Got the drift ...

On 1/11/2013 at 1:05 AM, Civic6228 said:

But i need the car to fetch my kids to school, to fetch my wife to market, to fetch my aged mother to hospital, to go NTUC etc etc. I also need the car for my job. I cannot blame myself for taking a sales job, for not being rich. COE should be cheap cheap for people like me so that I can buy my new car. Re-sale car is not an option becos they also breakdown and I die die must buy new car. Buy re-sale car, people will laugh at me and during CNY visit, no new car, cannot haolian, no face ....

Got the drift ...

[thumbsup] [thumbsup] [laugh] [laugh]

On 1/10/2013 at 1:18 AM, Darryn said:

CPI in 1994 was 82.3

CPI as of Sept 2012 was 114.4

If my math is correct that means that at a price of $110,500 for a COE in 1994 translates to $153,600 in today's dollars - it still has some way left to go before it is at a peak [cool][:p]

assuming all else equal. Back then interest rates may have been higher n pple less savings, so if things turn rosy cld go much higher than that

Buy re-sale car, people will laugh at me and during CNY visit, no new car, cannot haolian, no face ....

LOL car salesman love pple like u! ive been driving same car last 3yrs leh... so how lose many face liao!

Got the drift ...

Thought if you are into sales, usually either company will provide you a car or give you quite a substantial transport allowance to cover your car expenses? [:/]

If re-sale car will breakdown then even you buy new car also must change car every 3 year la? Since usually cars after 3 years will surface wera & tear or migt breakdown?! [:p]

On 1/11/2013 at 1:17 AM, 13177 said:

Thought if you are into sales, usually either company will provide you a car or give you quite a substantial transport allowance to cover your car expenses? [:/]

If re-sale car will breakdown then even you buy new car also must change car every 3 year la? Since usually cars after 3 years will surface wera & tear or migt breakdown?! [:p]

dunno lah but last yr alone, i change 3 cars...... [laugh] [laugh]

On 1/10/2013 at 5:39 AM, Aventador said:

the COE quota for Aug 2012 to Jan 2013 is 19,351 split over all 5 category (taken from LTA website). multiply by 2 times means about 38,700 COE a year.

our population is about 5 million. 5% of this population is 250,000 people

so if 250,000 people are wealthy and earn $10,000 or more a month. You already have 250,000 people fighting for 38,700 COE a year.

assume they only change cars every 3 years. Means 83,000 of them fight for 38,700 COE in a particular year. (not even counting those that buy more than 1 car)

These figures don't make pretty reading , but the truth hurts.

I have not even factor in those people earning $5,000 a month, husband and wife combined also is $10,000. How many more % is that....

More importantly then it is ok with 95% of the population which is 750,000? So we are all concentrating on the 5%? Sad...

On 1/10/2013 at 5:56 AM, Aventador said:

by the way, not being able to afford a car in Singapore is not the end of your life

we are no where near a caste system.

and no one is getting gang raped on the bus.

But the hard truth is if you have money, life is better - ANY where in the whole wide world.

Except perhaps those hippie communes where they practise free love :wub:

We don't have to wait till someone to get gang rape... And agree it's not the end but for a piece of paper to be $92k, that's a laughing stock to others