CNA: Outrage Over Hong Kong's 'Shark Fin Rooftop'

Vulcann

I guess they focus on sharks specifically is that sharks are seldom eaten other than for the fin. So it's a bit wasteful.

Shark meat apparently need quite a lot of flavouring and not easy to make it delicious.

Anyway if i can have my soup which tastes exactly the same with one less fin eaten, then i'm fine with it!

Our oceans are really overfished. Next time think only can go aquarium to see fish or corals [:/]

I guess they focus on sharks specifically is that sharks are seldom eaten other than for the fin. So it's a bit wasteful.

Shark meat apparently need quite a lot of flavouring and not easy to make it delicious.

Anyway if i can have my soup which tastes exactly the same with one less fin eaten, then i'm fine with it!

Our oceans are really overfished. Next time think only can go aquarium to see fish or corals [:/]

Doc, know you are an ang mo one but any proof scientifically that the sharksfin has any med value the chinese ones have been claiming?

Edited by Vulcann

i like shark fin soups not because of the FIN but because i like starchy soups made like that.

example, horfun gravy, lor mee gravy are starchy type i like.

my mother can buy such soups without using shark fin, just mushroom and chicken and they taste quite good w vinegar as well.

i guess to certain extent the saving of shark campaign is successful as nowadays we are getting less of it and hotel/restaurants are not serving them too. i can count the number of time i had sharks fin soup in a year, 2 fingers can count, maybe still got change! [laugh]

However, i will not decline an offer to have one.

i like shark fin soups not because of the FIN but because i like starchy soups made like that.

example, horfun gravy, lor mee gravy are starchy type i like.

my mother can buy such soups without using shark fin, just mushroom and chicken and they taste quite good w vinegar as well.

Next time you just order a large serving of hor-fun, .. and drink the 'zhup' lor ...

Then tabao the rest home .. heat it up, .. crack an egg over it ... and present it as 月光何份

i guess to certain extent the saving of shark campaign is successful as nowadays we are getting less of it and hotel/restaurants are not serving them too. i can count the number of time i had sharks fin soup in a year, 2 fingers can count, maybe still got change! [laugh]

However, i will not decline an offer to have one.

But all these conservation campaigns got little effect, because the largest demand for shark fins is still from China. Even if rest of the world stop buying and eating shark fins... I don't think it makes much of a difference.

I think the rarity and high price of shark fins is what makes them attractive, not so much the taste or any cultural reasons. Rich people like to show off their wealth by splurging on such stuff... so maybe one way to lessen the demand on shark fins is, ironically, to make them so common and easily available that the appeal wears off...

Those ang moh activists are all hypocrites. I think they eat too much beef from cows suffering from mad cow diesease. Unless all of us eat grass, we are all brutal & barbaric.

But all these conservation campaigns got little effect, because the largest demand for shark fins is still from China. Even if rest of the world stop buying and eating shark fins... I don't think it makes much of a difference.

I think the rarity and high price of shark fins is what makes them attractive, not so much the taste or any cultural reasons. Rich people like to show off their wealth by splurging on such stuff... so maybe one way to lessen the demand on shark fins is, ironically, to make them so common and easily available that the appeal wears off...

I'm no tree hugger but i do want to at least slow down the destruction of earth and it's wild animals haha [laugh]

You would need shark farms for that. Even wild salmon is pretty expensive and uncommon. Not to mention something like shark

Yup, i think people eat it cos of it's rarity and status. Eating a top predator.

There's no supposed nutritional value in eating it unlike say bird's nest.

Yup, i think people eat it cos of it's rarity and status. Eating a top predator.

There's no supposed nutritional value in eating it unlike say bird's nest.

Exactly the point, the fin itself attribute nothing to nutrition or taste.

And why the need for name calling, a lot of Angmoh also do not give a damn about environmental & such like many other people, & there are non-Angmoh that care for the environmental & ego system.

Of course 2 hard things, one is to convince other that there are alternatives, & other to convince people who catches shark fin for a living to give up their livelihood.

There is no point in attacking other. We are living in a close ego system, whatever happen to other parts of the world will eventually affect us all. We are living in a miniture ego-climate bubble, with narrow climate variation & temperature all year & every year, but in other parts of the worlds, People have experience climate abnormality, & more, or more aggressive natural disasters like flooding & earthquakes. Also need to remind people that Singapore average height above sea level is 15m. If all the ices melt in the polar regions, the sea level will rise by about 60m.

Everything we do will come back in full circle, & the effect of humanity abuse to the environment will come back to haunt us, maybe not our time, but our children, and their children time.

Not to be on ego high ground or anything, but whether you care or not about shark or the ego system, we cannot deny that we need to improve our conservation in whatever limited quality we can, for our next generations.