Wyfitms Twincharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 MBT should not take part in the tender. Surely invite gossip as he was the former big boss of URA. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 MBT should not take part in the tender. Surely invite gossip as he was the former big boss of URA. might as well say all ex-MP/minister shouldnt work after they are not MP or minister anymore because the company they work for can no longer work with job related to government. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 And to build on this - it's not up to the URA to make sure the winner makes a profit - merely to make sure that they are satisfied that the winner can fulfil the promises they made in their tender submission of course every company did their own sum to come out with the bid, even if it mean losing money where they may have a bigger plan or help in other business prospect [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 MBT should not take part in the tender. Surely invite gossip as he was the former big boss of URA. When did MBT take part of the tender??? He is just in the company to collect his income. U think he chaired a meeting with his ka kia to tender??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 When did MBT take part of the tender??? He is just in the company to collect his income. U think he chaired a meeting with his ka kia to tender??? he was referring to MBT was formally from URA and now a company he chair won the bid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 When did MBT take part of the tender??? He is just in the company to collect his income. U think he chaired a meeting with his ka kia to tender??? on another note. because it is URA.. with MBT in their company as advicer for the tender.. assuming that there is no hanky panky (since not much detail yet.) He will know how the tender system work and hence they will be able to prepare one that fit with the system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 he was referring to MBT was formally from URA and now a company he chair won the bid It's impossible to know how much input he had into the bid - BUT, for such an important bid, given the information that he knows, they would be stupid not to tap on his experience of what will be important to URA. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. If it allowed Yellow Pages to better tailor their bid to what URA was looking for, then all the best to them. It's only if he influenced URA to accept a "lesser" bid purely due to his presence that there is any wrong doing. Any company, the world over, when submitting a tender is always looking for more and better information, for "intelligence" or what the caller is looking for and what they consider important. To have a "resource" such as MBT and not use it would be silly. And if he helped them to tailor the bid IT IS OK. Its only if he stepped beyond that, and made calls to influence the tender committee that there is a problem, and given current information there is no indication at all that this happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 It's impossible to know how much input he had into the bid - BUT, for such an important bid, given the information that he knows, they would be stupid not to tap on his experience of what will be important to URA. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. If it allowed Yellow Pages to better tailor their bid to what URA was looking for, then all the best to them. It's only if he influenced URA to accept a "lesser" bid purely due to his presence that there is any wrong doing. Any company, the world over, when submitting a tender is always looking for more and better information, for "intelligence" or what the caller is looking for and what they consider important. To have a "resource" such as MBT and not use it would be silly. And if he helped them to tailor the bid IT IS OK. Its only if he stepped beyond that, and made calls to influence the tender committee that there is a problem, and given current information there is no indication at all that this happened. yap.. that is why in commericial world. you see supplier like to poach staff from their customer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 And if he helped them to tailor the bid IT IS OK. Its only if he stepped beyond that, and made calls to influence the tender committee that there is a problem, and given current information there is no indication at all that this happened. you think the audit team who evaluate the tender dun look beyond who is behind?? i am fine with guan xi, but i also understand how 'influential' these guan xi can be well i believe this is how the games are played everywhere on earth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 you think the audit team who evaluate the tender dun look beyond who is behind?? i am fine with guan xi, but i also understand how 'influential' these guan xi can be well i believe this is how the games are played everywhere on earth Actually, I'm "mostly" ok with it - everybody I know will go with somebody they know and trust, whose working style they understand. And how do you protect against such a thing? It's only when it goes beyond that and the "known" person is given the contract despite a demonstrably worse product / proposal. You should try and protect against it - one way is with a double blind tender system, or with a two envelope system to protect against such things. We don't know what system was used here either by the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PorkChong Clutched January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 (edited) if bapok is not in the company.anyone can rest assure that the top highest bidder in this tender will win. people who comes in that even without any track record though they may not be the highest bidder but can produce more ideas are just deceiving themselves. if that's the case then SLA should review and not ALWAYS offer the land parcel to the top bidder in their every tender. Edited January 3, 2013 by PorkChong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 if bapok is not in the company.anyone can rest assure that the top highest bidder in this tender will win. people who comes in that even without any track record though they may not be the highest bidder but can produce more ideas are just deceiving themselves. if that's the case then SLA should review and not ALWAYS offer the land parcel to the top bidder in each land parcel tender. If that's the case, how can I win tenders when I am not the cheapest? And I have done this - more than once. Don't anyhow say things. I have not worked with URA, but I have worked on other things with STB - and their procedures struck me as complete and rigorous. Well thought out to select a "good" bidder. I was also had an inside view to a plot of land being rezoned for hotel use - and say how the agencies worked together, again they looked at more than just price and I thought their procedures were "solid". Just because there's a "big-shot" inside, doesn't mean they didn't have a really good proposal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 you think the audit team who evaluate the tender dun look beyond who is behind?? i am fine with guan xi, but i also understand how 'influential' these guan xi can be well i believe this is how the games are played everywhere on earth Pledge ourselves to build a guan xi society? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 which company are you referring to? if bapok is not in the company.anyone can rest assure that the top highest bidder in this tender will win. people who comes in that even without any track record though they may not be the highest bidder but can produce more ideas are just deceiving themselves. if that's the case then SLA should review and not ALWAYS offer the land parcel to the top bidder in their every tender. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 Pledge ourselves to build a guan xi society? society? already all over the world liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 you think the audit team who evaluate the tender dun look beyond who is behind?? i am fine with guan xi, but i also understand how 'influential' these guan xi can be well i believe this is how the games are played everywhere on earth In the ang mo world they just innocently call it networking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 society? already all over the world liao Since guan xi, why call tender? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged January 3, 2013 Share January 3, 2013 if bapok is not in the company.anyone can rest assure that the top highest bidder in this tender will win. people who comes in that even without any track record though they may not be the highest bidder but can produce more ideas are just deceiving themselves. if that's the case then SLA should review and not ALWAYS offer the land parcel to the top bidder in their every tender. have you look throught all the Gebiz to come to that conclusion?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...