Google Maps latest version

Shor

On 12/29/2012 at 9:33 AM, Vid said:

Eh... can use without data meh? I using iOS. No data cannot use leh. How to download map to use offline? [:p]

I using IOS too. Latest iOS 6.0.1 . I off the Data and navigate, no problem leh, sound and turn by turn too.

I also not sure how to DL map offline, perhaps this can be advise by Bro ngck.

Edited by Shor

On 12/29/2012 at 9:09 AM, Ngck said:

its your phone.... haha

do a restart maybe?

guess its really the phone .... coz on my tablet, i can still pan the map, but when i touch the screen on my Note, it will just roughly tell me where i am and the map cannot be panned, just stuck at my location.

On 12/29/2012 at 9:41 AM, Shor said:

I using IOS too. Latest iOS 6.0.1 . I off the Data and navigate, no problem leh, sound and turn by turn too.

I also not sure how to DL map offline, perhaps this can be advise by Bro ngck.

I'm using the latest iOS also leh but cannot navigate without data [:(]

On 12/29/2012 at 10:51 AM, Vid said:

I'm using the latest iOS also leh but cannot navigate without data [:(]

Then you need to call Apple already. Mine no problem.

On 12/29/2012 at 1:43 PM, Ngck said:

bro, no data how your phone download the maps?

if you not using android then no offline maps mah

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/12/goo...ios-vs-android/

First I think the Bro confused. You said, offline can download map.

Second, I said I don't know how to download map without Data or Wifi.

Thirdly, I try turning off my 3G to navigate with the Google maps, it worked. With sound guidance and turn by turn. [:)]

On 12/29/2012 at 1:48 PM, Shor said:

First I think the Bro confused. You said, offline can download map.

Second, I said I don't know how to download map without Data or Wifi.

Thirdly, I try turning off my 3G to navigate with the Google maps, it worked. With sound guidance and turn by turn. [:)]

he not confuse lah..... he know need to download maps to be able to use offline.

just that he dunno how to do it for IOS.

IOS can download map offline liao?

Edited by Ngck

On 12/29/2012 at 2:13 PM, Ngck said:

he not confuse lah..... he know need to download maps to be able to use offline.

just that he dunno how to do it for IOS.

IOS can download map offline liao?

google map can be downloaded ? :huh:

On 12/29/2012 at 11:54 PM, Jman888 said:

yup ... just get online, mark out an area on the displayed map and then download it into your android device.

Edited by Ysc3

there is size restriction on the offline map.

I wanted to download whole of sg and my, but the biggest i can pull the downloading area is up to kluang. Is it possible to download a couple of areas seperately and it will automatically stitch them together during voice navigation?

On 12/29/2012 at 11:54 PM, Jman888 said:

available since 2011 under Google labs (under development then)

Fully functional since june 2012

even before then, there are other ways to download. but more painfully

On 12/30/2012 at 5:43 AM, Friedpiggy said:

there is size restriction on the offline map.

I wanted to download whole of sg and my, but the biggest i can pull the downloading area is up to kluang. Is it possible to download a couple of areas seperately and it will automatically stitch them together during voice navigation?

i dun think offline map can navigate. Its just a map. with your saved POI

And it doesn't auto switch. (i think)

got time will try out these 2. or if anyone knows if it works or not?

On 12/30/2012 at 7:51 AM, Jman888 said:

without data network (turn off mobile network), google map cannot connect to the network leh [:(]

I turned off my mobile Data, Disabled the 3G

The Navigation still working leh. With turn by turn and sound too.

Think this will work only if you set your destination first before switching off 3G/network connection.

Trouble is if you somehow get lost, the software might not be able to calculate a re-route to your destination.

Or if you wish to zoom into details on attractions along the route, an active connection is required.