Extortion by JB Traffic Police/Customs

Calvinus

so even if the polis challenge you with 'you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too.'

you will still insist on not paying kopi $?

ya.. been there done that.. not once, but a few times.. almost always kena stopped at road block for "speeding at 124km/h" (124 seems like their favourite quoted speed).. The moment they tell me that, i know they're smoking me liao.. If i'm speeding, min is 140 and up, otherwise, i'll guai guai stick with 110km/h..

Everytime i asked for the summon.. never once did they issue it to me.. just tell me "give you chance this time, don't do it again"..

but of course, your tone don't be guai lan with them.. be apologetic.. and knowing abit of conversational malay will do no harm.. [:)]

Edited by Shull

Let me make this clear, the traffic was clear that day and there were no cars ahead of me. I was definitely not cutting queue... I probably have a car cam footage to prove it...

If I had committed an offence I wouldn't have been so peeved.

And what makes you think it isn't an offence to drive in the wrong lane at the Customs Checkpoint? If you did this in some other garang country like US, I wonder if you would be able to get off with just kopi money [laugh]

Last nite about 11pm coming back to Sg, JB CIQ moderate traffic, was following behind a yaris and ahead there were other vehicles not far away and yet this dumb ass can go into the BUS/LORRY lane. [shakehead] Immediately theres a group 3 of I think not custom officer but rather their JB cisco, slacking/smoking at one corner immediately wave the yaris to stop even he was already backing up to the correct lane. I think he tio kopi $$$ liao.

Wonder with all the big big signs above and repeated few times still can go wrong. Infact theres a my passenger van just filter into that lane.

Malaysian vans can take bus lane or car lane. Don't blur blur follow them.

Why were you in the wrong lane???

Typical Singaporean or never been to JB before.

I think we should be told.

Typical Singaporean lor. In the wrong but die die don't admit and don't accept when caught.

First u were in a foriegn land second u were in the wrong according the law n third remember juz follow law

actually i beg to differ... if frequent goers to jb via woodlands and you will noe the going in direction tat particular right lane is meant for lorries and lorries only... buses travel tat lane too and cut in front the Q as well, how come buses nv kana? by following the signboard, buses should not be allowed to travel tat lorry lane too...

same like sg, double standards...

actually i beg to differ... if frequent goers to jb via woodlands and you will noe the going in direction tat particular right lane is meant for lorries and lorries only... buses travel tat lane too and cut in front the Q as well, how come buses nv kana? by following the signboard, buses should not be allowed to travel tat lorry lane too...

same like sg, double standards...

TS enter the wrong lane coming back to sg, not leaving sg.

What if they don't give you summon and don't release you?

As long as they returne u yr ic and licence, then u can leave. Unless they keep yr documents

then LL wait for them to give u summons. They wont waste too much time on u cos they r busy

to invite other drivers to lim kopi.

On the way back to Singapore from JB, we drove into the wrong lane, into a lane intended for buses and coaches.

Traffic Police/Custom Officer came by and said that he has to issue us a fine, compounded at RM 300.

While I doubt that there is any real offence, we didn't want trouble and decided to ask him to issue a fine. He said can give chance and only fine us RM 150... told him no money and he said you don't make trouble for us or we will make trouble for you too. As I really didn't have money to give, he eventually settled for whatever loose change I had which amounted to about RM 70...

Feel damn buay song after I left but not choice since I had mother in law and wife with me and didn't want them to be further tramatized (don't want to fall in their hands with some fake charges) but if this had happened to you, what would you do?

if this happens to me..............I pay and move on...............but will keep quiet............because I try my luck and kena.............want blame who...........

Edited by Tianmo